All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H cannot boot in AHCI if HDD initialized
PostPosted: March 21st, 2020, 18:31 
Offline

Joined: March 21st, 2020, 18:30
Posts: 3
Location: Rivne, Ukraine
Hi. :)

I have Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H motherboard and I purchased a WD HC310 (0B35948 HUS726T4TALN6L4) HDD.

If I initialize disk in GPT or MBR, I cannot get through POST in AHCI mode. IDE and RAID mode let the POST pass, but not the AHCI mode.

What can I do to fix this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H cannot boot in AHCI if HDD initial
PostPosted: March 23rd, 2020, 20:22 
Offline

Joined: March 21st, 2020, 18:30
Posts: 3
Location: Rivne, Ukraine
Solved (but needs some clarification)

DON'T TRY THAT IF YOU HAVE ANY CRITICAL DATA ON THE HDD! ALWAYS MAKE A COPY OF THE DATA!

After initialization (and any further creation of volumes, copying files etc), but BEFORE the reboot, open a hex editor, in the editor - disk and delete (fill with "00") from offset 0x1000 to 0x1060. Save, reboot.

After reboot this data is recreated, but it doesn't make the POST of Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H freeze.

DON'T TRY THAT IF YOU HAVE ANY CRITICAL DATA ON THE HDD! ALWAYS MAKE A COPY OF THE DATA!

P.S. Can anyone, please, explain, what is this at offset 0x1000-0x1060? How could it freeze POST in "BEFORE" state? What happens after I delete it and reboot? Why is it recreated differently (and doesn't freeze POST)?

Attachment:
hex.png
hex.png [ 54.17 KiB | Viewed 486 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H cannot boot in AHCI if HDD initial
PostPosted: March 24th, 2020, 0:18 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 12228
Location: Australia
An Examination of The Microsoft Windows 7 and 8 GPT 'Protective' MBR and EFI Partitions:
https://thestarman.pcministry.com/asm/mbr/GPT.htm

Your drive appears to be a 4Kn model. I wonder if that is responsible for the strange BIOS behaviour.

https://documents.westerndigital.com/content/dam/doc-library/en_us/assets/public/western-digital/product/data-center-drives/ultrastar-dc-hc300-series/product-manual-ultrastar-dc-hc310-sata-oem-spec.pdf

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H cannot boot in AHCI if HDD initial
PostPosted: March 24th, 2020, 4:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2791
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
fzabkar wrote:
An Examination of The Microsoft Windows 7 and 8 GPT 'Protective' MBR and EFI Partitions:
https://thestarman.pcministry.com/asm/mbr/GPT.htm

Your drive appears to be a 4Kn model. I wonder if that is responsible for the strange BIOS behaviour.

https://documents.westerndigital.com/content/dam/doc-library/en_us/assets/public/western-digital/product/data-center-drives/ultrastar-dc-hc300-series/product-manual-ultrastar-dc-hc310-sata-oem-spec.pdf


Frank ,
You mean 4k native and no emulation for 512 sector size .

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H cannot boot in AHCI if HDD initial
PostPosted: March 24th, 2020, 18:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 12228
Location: Australia
Yes, it's 4K native. Note that the offset of EFI PART is 0x1000 whereas it would be 0x200 for a 512e drive.

The OP has edited the EFI PART structure so that instead of pointing to LBA 2 as the starting LBA of the array of GUID Partition entries, it now points to LBA 0x3A3817D6. The capacity of the drive is 976,754,646 physical sectors, which is 0x3A3817D6 in hexadecimal, so the BIOS is being told that the partitioning info is in the first sector beyond the limits of the drive. Obviously there is nothing to be found at LBA 0x3A3817D6, so BIOS doesn't attempt to boot the drive. I can't see how this helps the OP, though. One would still need to partition and format the drive, and I would expect that an invalid EFI PART structure would prevent this.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H cannot boot in AHCI if HDD initial
PostPosted: March 26th, 2020, 10:26 
Offline

Joined: March 21st, 2020, 18:30
Posts: 3
Location: Rivne, Ukraine
fzabkar wrote:
I can't see how this helps the OP, though. One would still need to partition and format the drive, and I would expect that an invalid EFI PART structure would prevent this.


1. Init HDD as GPT.
2. Create 4 TB full-size NTFS partition (see "BEFORE" on the screenshot), copy some data (few folders and files).
3. Fill 0x1000-0x1060 with zeroes.
4. Reboot
5. Everything is OK (see "AFTER" on the screenshot), data is intact.

Windows 10 1909.

The only question is: will it be OK for long, or will it someday/somehow corrupt the data?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group