All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: My hard drive died on me :( Please help
PostPosted: May 9th, 2009, 11:57 

Hi all,

This is my first time posting a topic here. A friend through youtube ERIK referred me here..

I have a 1 TB Western Digital SATA 8 MB Cache // model WD10EAVS 00DB1 Firmware issue. I believe it started when it hit SLIGHTLY not hard the side of my desk. I am a musicians and this thing holds all my music work. I contacted several places / professionals to fix but they charge an arm and a leg... meanwhile, I am kinda broke at this point.. I am in the belief that the head is bad... Please advice me. The following is the video of my HD.

Thanks
Hamsaya

here is the video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oP_znNbx-hU

Post subject: Re: My hard drive died on me :( Please help
PostPosted: May 9th, 2009, 12:14 

By the way when it hit the desk it was NOT turned on.

PostPosted: May 9th, 2009, 13:17 

That is what I thought, I have ordered the same external drive type in the hopes that I will be getting the same hard drive in that as well. It has only been 40 days since I got this HD.

I am trying to swap the heads myself. I have experimenting on other HDS before I even attempt something on this one. I have ruined 3 of them so far ... 1500 is too expensive for me. I only bought this drive for 100 bucks..

I noticed while experimenting with other HDs that the hardest part is when you are pulling the heads from the platter ... you can only put the spacer between the two softer parts of the head where it kinda leans both ways...

When I opened couple of hard drives, the HEAD was almost in the middle of platter, should I just pull it towards outside holding the END or is there another way.. I am experimenting until I get this right I will be doing the same.. Once I figure that then I can move forward with doing the same with my main HD.

Please advice anything any useful information will be greatly appreciated.

Hamsaya