All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Lost Partition on Hitachi 1GB HDT721010SLA360
PostPosted: May 4th, 2011, 15:22 
Offline

Joined: May 4th, 2011, 15:19
Posts: 2
Location: netherlands
hi i have the same problem with my wd green 2TB ears harddisk
its now shows as an empty 1TB raw disk wich can be formated.

i have used getdatabackforntfs to recoves about 1TB but now i am still missing a lot of data

how to proceed, can i just run HDD Capacity Restore or is that not wise?

i also have a gigabyte motherboard, maybe it is a bug wich activated today?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost Partition on Hitachi 1GB HDT721010SLA360
PostPosted: May 5th, 2011, 6:27 
Offline

Joined: May 4th, 2011, 15:19
Posts: 2
Location: netherlands
i used hdd capacity restore and after a reboot (turnoff of the pc) the harddrive was recognised as a full 2TB disk and all my files were back. so if anyone else has the same problem this programm is super!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost Partition on Hitachi 1GB HDT721010SLA360
PostPosted: January 25th, 2012, 17:38 
Offline

Joined: January 25th, 2012, 17:14
Posts: 1
Location: England
Hi All.

Not much of a forum poster but had the same trouble as mentioned with my Seagate 1TB drive where the size suddenly shrank to 32MB, I also have a Gigabyte motherboard and was extremely glad to have found this post where other people had suffered the same problem but more importantly been able to repair it. The trouble was while being fine at plugging in HDD's, formatting them and putting software on them the 'fix' was not that simple to achieve but eventually I am glad to say I managed to stumble through it.

HDD capacity restore for some reason would not see the HDD, it didn't even see my C drive so this route was out. I eventually managed to download 'Ultimate boot CD' as an .iso file which then needed putting onto a CD. Now this is not just a case of burning the data onto the CD it required some iso burning software which is freely available but needs to be used in order for the disk to then be used as a boot disk when powering up the PC.

After looking here...

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/245 ... hard-drive

I found some more info on a program called MHDD32 which runs from the boot disk and sorted my issue, this site helped me so I can only hope that this post may help others.

Johnce


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group