All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Seagate Data Recovery
PostPosted: February 19th, 2015, 9:33 

Hello,

I have a Seagate Barracuda LP 2.0 TB hard drive that clicks (ST32000542AS). The drive was never dropped but was sent abroad for recovery. It was sent back untouched and promptly as they didn't have enough donor drives.

I replaced the board with one that had the same model number, firmware and revision but it has the same problem.

I opened the drive in a clean environment and it seems the head gets stuck at the center shaft. I returned the head to the rest stop but the same thing would happen at power on.

When I rotate the center shaft with the head at the rest stop, it moves normally (both clockwise and counterclockwise) all the way towards the shaft. However it gets stuck when it reaches the shaft and refuses to move away from the shaft by spinning the shaft alone and has to be forced with a little bit of pressure.

Since this is my first attempt at hard drive recovery, I was hoping for some feedback on what is most likely the cause and if replacing the heads is absolutely necessary since I'm finding it hard to find a donor drive.

I should point out that I have long since replaced almost all of the lost data and am doing this only for learning purposes. It does not matter if I lose the data on the drive although it wouldn't hurt to have it back either. Any help at all would be appreciated!

Post subject: Re: Seagate Data Recovery
PostPosted: February 19th, 2015, 16:03 

You are straight asking for a head replacement without any tool, knowledge, and experience!

WOW! I want to do a heart transplant, please tell me how to do it though it's my first time experience! :)

SHAHI
shahi.mahbub@gmail.com

PostPosted: February 19th, 2015, 16:09 

I did not ask "how do I replace a hard drive head".

I asked "what needs to be fixed in your opinion/experience?".

I cant really help it if you skimmed through the post.