All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Possble TVS diode shortage - looking for guidance
PostPosted: February 11th, 2016, 19:31 

Hey,

I had a 3TB WD Red (model WD30EFRX) die on me a few months ago. I believe it is a TVS short, but I have very little electronics knowledge, and would like to be sure before continuing.

I would like to get data off the drive; after that I'm not concerned with its long-time viability.

Here's what happened:

At the time it died, I turned on my PC, heard a small click, and it turned off again after about a second. I couldn't turn the PC on again for about a day... after which time, I was able to turn it on; and everything was working, except this hard drive.

It wasn't detected in the BIOS and I don't believe I could hear it spinning up (it certainly doesn't spin up now). So it seems like there was a surge, and the TVS diode was shorted as a result.

So recently I bought a cheap multimeter, removed the PCB and tested some diodes I could see near the power connector: D1, D2, D3 and D4 (see images).

D2 and D4 seem to be working. They both show ".116" (which I guess is 116 mV? the meter has no unit display) with probes connected forwards, and "1." with the probes connected in reverse (the manual assures me this is what I should see in the reverse direction, on functioning diodes).

D1 and D3, however show around 0 in both directions (flickering from 0 to ~0.03; may be down to the quality of the meter...), which I think means they're basically an open wire now; busted.

Can anyone please evaluate/correct my diagnosis?

If I just want to get this drive working long enough to extract the data, can I simply remove the diodes?

Thanks. :)

Attachments:
File comment: Close-up (power pins are to the left of diodes from this orientation)
close-up.jpg
close-up.jpg [ 406.7 KiB | Viewed 6114 times ]
File comment: Whole PCB; 4 diodes near power pins labelled
whole-pcb-labels.jpg
whole-pcb-labels.jpg [ 2.76 MiB | Viewed 6114 times ]