All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2016, 8:17 
Offline

Joined: March 30th, 2016, 12:29
Posts: 124
Location: Germany
Spildit wrote:
Do you want me to CLONE the drive to a spare one that you provided or should i create an IMAGE FILE on one of the drives ?

I would prefer the cloned drive (seagate) instead of one of the spares.
Please clone to this drive.
I have no "trust" to the spare drives. I think they are not 100% OK.

Spildit wrote:
Finaly i will retry on the bad sectors several times and then this might kill the heads.

I think it's worth if we get some extra data.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 23rd, 2016, 2:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Ok then.
I will be waiting to recieve those drives.
I will also test out the other drives and will post a report.
Have a nice weekend.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 23rd, 2016, 5:32 
Offline

Joined: March 30th, 2016, 12:29
Posts: 124
Location: Germany
Spildit wrote:
Ok then.
I will be waiting to recieve those drives.
I will also test out the other drives and will post a report.
Have a nice weekend.

Thank you very much, I wish you also a nice weekend and a good time.

Maybe I'll be offline till 02.05.2016 because I want to celebrate Passover.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 23rd, 2016, 9:34 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Ok, i will update here when i recieve the drives.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 28th, 2016, 16:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Just a very quick reply,

I've just recieved your 4 drives,

I will test them all during the weekend and will mail them back to you on monday. I need to be sure that the drives are working or not in proper state.

Now for the drive with important data ...

DID YOU CLONE THE DRIVE IN THAT STATE ????

OH MY GOD, only by luck you didn't kill it for good !!!!

When powering it up and leaving it that way for some sec, even without doing any reading the drive would power down the spindle and up again and re-calibrate !!!! Cloning the drive in that state is asking for ...... KILLING IT FOR GOOD ..... Only for luck it survived.


Also you couldn't access those LBA under the user space because the TRANSLATOR (that translates LBA to internal CHS) was DAMAGED !!! I've used HRT to issue the command to regen the translator on the drive. Now it doesn't re-power any longer and the user space is ALL accessible with exception of some bad blocks at the start of the drive (by a quick verify test test).

I will clone it now. I will IMAGE the drive first for a local image file and will report when it's done. I will have to test all the other drives that you send me in as we don't want to clone the drive to another bad one. I have to make sure that the drives are in working order but it can take a while.

I will post more info later. I will start working on your case now.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 28th, 2016, 18:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Sorry for the delay.
I had some other stuff to do and only now i started to image your drive.
Here is the status :

I'm doing a very fast pass to read all that it can on the GOOD SURFACE first.

I've configured the HRT card to skip 400 sectors if 2 bad sectors are found consecutively and i've also set a timeout to 300 ms so it will not take many time on the bad spots. This will get all the GOOD data first.

Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 104.99 KiB | Viewed 5811 times ]


Then i will go for the SKIPPED sectors and try to copy one by one without skipping.

Then i will go for a larget timeout and read several times the bad sectors instead of just one.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 28th, 2016, 18:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
I've also tested the 4 drives with HRT.

Drive 1 that you aquired on Ebay with good looking PCB have several bad sectors, entries on G-List and pending sectors and surface/head quality is very poor/bad meaning the drive have media/heads degradation and shouldn't be used to store important data.

Drive 2 with PCB that looks "repaired" is fully working and in good condition. No bad sectors, no relocated sectors, no pending sectors. Surface and heads look ok and apart from a bad looking pcb (cosmetic) all is working as it should. Maybe the drive was refurbished because of that sticker that is on the PCB (maybe they swapped PCB and used compatible one with native ROM code) in any case is properly working.

Seagate is working without any issue. No bad sectors, no slow sectors and S.M.A.R.T. is ok as well. Only issue that the Seagate drive have is that it's SMALLER then the WD one. It have less LBA then the WD that you want to recover so a copy from sector by sector will make you loose some sectors as it will not fit on the Seagate.

I'm doing an image to my PC and when it's finished (with HRT-DRE card) i will clone from the image on my pc to both seagate and drive 2.

Also i will do an HRT card Defectoscope test of the drives and will post here as well as the S.M.A.R.T. status. But for now let's clone your drive.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 28th, 2016, 19:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
By the way, because the translator was "destroyed" you coldn't clone part of the drive as the drive couldn't translate it's LBA (Logic Block Adressing) to the internal place on the drive where those LBAs were.

To understand more about LBA/translator read here :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=1402

And the drive was dropping off and on and re-calibrating even whithout reading a thing every couple of sec.

Of course i did have to fix that first otherwise it would be crazy to attempt to clone a drive that was shutting down and powering up the spindle and going BSY, etc .... I didn't even attempt to do the clone on that stage to compare with yours as i didn't want to risk killing the drive ....

Bercause of translator damage the drive would report "IDNF" - ID Not Found and the LBA would be imidiatly "skipped" that is why you notice that place that was very fast to report as bad by your software tool, that was because the software couldn't link the LBA to the real place on the drive and the sector would not be found at all, so it couldn't even by "tryed" out on a read attempt to see if it was good or not. That LBA simply didn't exist.

example :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php? ... =100#p8487

(of course the drive on the example it's NOT YOUR DRIVE !!!)

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 29th, 2016, 15:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
STATUS UPDATE :

I've just arrived home and checked the first stage of the imaging process.

Imaging for the drive took about 7 hours in PIO with 75 BAD sectors and 794 skipped ones.

The space on the 30-35 GB range is acessible and imaged !!!

Attachment:
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 153.86 KiB | Viewed 5763 times ]


Now i'm going to set a 2nd pass to get the SKIPPED sectors !!!

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 29th, 2016, 15:49 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Ok !

This was very fast !!!

Attachment:
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 98.41 KiB | Viewed 5762 times ]


Attachment:
4.jpg
4.jpg [ 89.53 KiB | Viewed 5762 times ]


All the skipped sectors were checked and either copied or marked as "Bad".

I will now attempt to get the data out of the 180 "BAD sectors" (mainly at the start of the drive).

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 29th, 2016, 17:45 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Ok ...

Check this out :

Attachment:
a.jpg
a.jpg [ 64.92 KiB | Viewed 5750 times ]


I've done a "statistical read" on the BAD SECTORS of the drive set it to consider the sector as "BAD" when failing 3 normal READ attempts, try to read it 5 times and compare the 5 reads consider "valid" the ones that are repeated the most.

Attachment:
b.jpg
b.jpg [ 130.46 KiB | Viewed 5750 times ]


As you can see the sectors copyed out using this method at least on the last portions of the drive (partition that you want to recover) apears to be valid. In any case they are just a very few amount of sectors, even if they weren't read at all the damage would be minimal, but i think i have done all that i could to get as many data possible whithout clearing the G-List.

I can clear the G-List but that would loose the data that was stored on the SPARE sectors so i don't think i should do that.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 29th, 2016, 18:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Ok, this is the FINAL RESULT :

Attachment:
c.jpg
c.jpg [ 36.79 KiB | Viewed 5747 times ]


For the ENTIRE DRIVE - LBA SPACE i was able to clone all sectors of the drive without any BAD with exception of 134 sectors/LBA that were read by statistical read and from those they might (or might not) be entirely correct. Some of those 134 sectors might be partial damaged, currupted, etc or might be perfectly fine. only 134 sectors/LBA from the drive were cloned/imaged this way. All the rest - 78165226 are just ok, even if on some cases it required up until 3 reads to get a correct reading.

This is the partition layout. 3 PARTITIONS AND NOT 2 as you stated on the letter :

Attachment:
d.jpg
d.jpg [ 12.95 KiB | Viewed 5747 times ]


Tested 3 partitions. ALL OK. Can read data, open photos, etc on the 3 partitions. If you want i can provide screen captures.

Partition 1 it'sa 2GB partition most likely created by the system or installation of OS or something like that.

Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 16.93 KiB | Viewed 5747 times ]


Partition 2 is OS :

Attachment:
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 29.46 KiB | Viewed 5747 times ]



All looks ok !!!

PLEASE LET ME KNOW if you want me to extract some data and send you by e-mail if you need them right now.

I will now test the drives that you have send me in and will copy the image to the seagate and WD one.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 29th, 2016, 18:20 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
This is the S.M.A.R.T. status of your drive with important data.

You shouldn't re-use this drive any longer :

Attachment:
aa.jpg
aa.jpg [ 93.68 KiB | Viewed 5744 times ]


I could attempt to read the bad sectors and re-locate the read data to spares with HRT but at this point there are too many bad sectors and i don't even know if the drive would survive as the drive already have translator issues, etc ...

Best thing to do is not to do any further work with this drive as all the data that could be retrieved is off now. I will send you the drive just like this with fixed translator. No point of restoring original translator as you will not be able to clone the drive from 30 to 35 GB.

If you want to test your software now you can attempt to clone the drive by software and compare against my hardware version of the clone when you recieve the drives. No point in damaging the translator again as you will not be able to fix it. This way you can compare my clone (with fixed drive) with your clones that you can attempt to do with software on the fixed drive.

Will erase the WD and Seagate now and clone from the image file to the 2 drives. You will have 2 clones one on the WD and another on the seagate.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 29th, 2016, 19:41 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
This is the WD spare drive with "repaired looking pcb" :

Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 78.55 KiB | Viewed 5733 times ]


Attachment:
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 87.41 KiB | Viewed 5733 times ]


Looks to me that the drive is in a very nice shape (best of all the ones that you send me) so i'm using the image file from HRT-DRE to create a "clone" of the drive with important data :

Attachment:
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 31.37 KiB | Viewed 5733 times ]


PLEASE DO NOTE that i'm NOT copying the image file to a formated drive. I'm using the image file to create a CLONE or a DRIVE that is sector by sector identical to the other drive (maybe with the exception of those sectors copied out with statistic reading of possible bad sectors).

If you want an IMAGE FILE (like for example to open with tools like r-studio or getdataback) please let me know.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 29th, 2016, 21:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Ok, and here we have the data for the SEAGATE drive :

Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 79.54 KiB | Viewed 5724 times ]


Attachment:
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 80.87 KiB | Viewed 5724 times ]


Please ignore what i've stated about the drive size to have less LBA then the WD drive. It was a silly mistake/bad observation from my part. Seagate drive and WD drives have the same LBA number.

I'm CLONING now from the image file to the Seagate drive :

Attachment:
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 31.4 KiB | Viewed 5724 times ]


Also i've tested to connect the WD clone using USB to IDE adaptor and the clone is properly detected by windows with the 3 partitions and all of them open and works ok even without the need to use extra data recovery software like r-studio on them.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 30th, 2016, 6:48 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3433
Location: Massachusetts, USA
The power of hardware imaging and know-how are undisputed.

_________________
Hard Disk Drive, SSD, USB Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 30th, 2016, 7:25 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7681
Location: UK
Very thorough work, well done :-)

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
http://www.pcimage.co.uk

New!! HDD-PCB.COM for all your PCB and donor HDD requirements!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 30th, 2016, 15:11 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
labtech wrote:
The power of hardware imaging and know-how are undisputed.


pcimage wrote:
Very thorough work, well done :-)


Thanks you both !!!

While i tend to agree that Hardware Imaging/Cloning is very powerfull and did help to retrieve the data from the initial 180 bad blocks on this case i think that the "key" to manage to image/retrieve the data from the 30-35 GB (and to safely image the drive at all to start with) was this VSC :

Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 54.42 KiB | Viewed 5665 times ]


:D :D :D :D

Very happy with the end result.

It would be nice to compare my image with one DDI4 and PC3K-DE and MRT-Pro image and see if those tools would get at least the same results or if they wouldn't read the bad blocks at all.

I bet that both DDI4 and PC3K would get the data, at least in PIO mode and i bet that MRT-PRO would fail.

As a matter of fact i think that MRT-PRO can't handle cyl32 at all (I might be wrong) and if so it wouldn't regen the translator to start with and there would be no data from 30-35 GB. Same as with DDI4, unless i'm wrong. PC3K wouldn't have any problem to work with this drive.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 30th, 2016, 15:45 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3433
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Imaging results would be pretty much the same across all, give or take few LBAs. It is not so much about the tool per se, but the condition of the block. Special parameter reading does not always give better results.

P.S. Don't know anything about MRT, but given past discussions, I guess it is self explanatory.

_________________
Hard Disk Drive, SSD, USB Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD400JB cannot read sectors from 30GB to 35GB
PostPosted: April 30th, 2016, 16:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
labtech wrote:
Imaging results would be pretty much the same across all, give or take few LBAs. It is not so much about the tool per se, but the condition of the block. Special parameter reading does not always give better results.

P.S. Don't know anything about MRT, but given past discussions, I guess it is self explanatory.


MRT DOES NOT supporrt WDC Cyl 32 and 16. It only works with Marvel MCU.

Attachment:
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.png
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.png [ 210.32 KiB | Viewed 5654 times ]


It would be impossible to regen translator with MRT as there is no ATA terminal on it as well :)

Also there are huge problems cloning/imaging with it :

https://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=31026

Well ....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: diybit and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group