All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: April 20th, 2016, 16:31 
Offline

Joined: April 20th, 2016, 16:25
Posts: 1
Location: Dominican Republic
Hi, so i got these 2 hdd's that were taken out of a DVR from sagemcom, they are locked.
i tried before with some tools but no success...

Model: MQ01ABD050VS

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: April 25th, 2016, 9:21 
Offline

Joined: March 7th, 2009, 12:43
Posts: 791
Location: World wide remote RAID help
What is terminal log?

_________________
http://www.angeldatarecovery.com/contact-us/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: April 27th, 2016, 14:26 
Offline

Joined: October 24th, 2005, 17:04
Posts: 218
DR-Kiev wrote:
What is terminal log?

and what should be in the terminal ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: May 2nd, 2016, 3:57 
Offline

Joined: April 14th, 2014, 17:19
Posts: 45
Location: new zealand
There are a few master passwords on drives, there is also a few tools around on xbmc4xbox forums for this as the hdd in the original xbox had a similar setup to avoid tampering.
but I have never seen any Toshiba specific drives mentioned.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 8th, 2016, 4:58 
Offline

Joined: September 8th, 2016, 4:39
Posts: 16
Location: Israel
Hi,

I have some of this model as well, anyone managed to get this unlocked?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 8th, 2016, 5:00 
Offline

Banned User

Joined: August 12th, 2016, 12:54
Posts: 55
Location: US
jarogill wrote:
Hi, so i got these 2 hdd's that were taken out of a DVR from sagemcom, they are locked.
i tried before with some tools but no success...

Model: MQ01ABD050VS

Thanks!

Can you need to use the toolkit PC3K, DFL, MRT
To break the hard drive password

_________________
I am from cuudulieuocung.org and I am currently banned from this forum for creating multiple accounts to promote my crappy website.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 8th, 2016, 5:03 
Offline

Joined: September 8th, 2016, 4:39
Posts: 16
Location: Israel
I have MRT but it can't handle this lock. it's not conventional password, it's more than that!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 8th, 2016, 5:11 
Offline

Banned User

Joined: August 12th, 2016, 12:54
Posts: 55
Location: US
eyal wrote:
I have MRT but it can't handle this lock. it's not conventional password, it's more than that!

Can you update New Version 160528

_________________
I am from cuudulieuocung.org and I am currently banned from this forum for creating multiple accounts to promote my crappy website.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 8th, 2016, 7:50 
Offline

Joined: September 8th, 2016, 4:39
Posts: 16
Location: Israel
tonny wrote:
eyal wrote:
I have MRT but it can't handle this lock. it's not conventional password, it's more than that!

Can you update New Version 160528


Update MRT software? I'm on last version, updated 2 days ago.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 8th, 2016, 14:18 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 7796
Location: Portugal
Maybe you should start by dumping the CPs of your drive and compare with CPs of the same unlocked drive ?

Does the drive report as ATA locked or you can't just scan the user area ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 14th, 2016, 4:48 
Offline

Joined: September 8th, 2016, 4:39
Posts: 16
Location: Israel
Spildit wrote:
Maybe you should start by dumping the CPs of your drive and compare with CPs of the same unlocked drive ?

Does the drive report as ATA locked or you can't just scan the user area ?


This is what I get:

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 14th, 2016, 13:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 7796
Location: Portugal
Can you READ/DUMP CPs to a file ?
Can you READ ROM and dump it to a file ?

If so post here.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 14th, 2016, 13:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 7796
Location: Portugal
Can you SCAN the User Area ( LBAs ) with MRT or the sectors can't be read ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 14th, 2016, 15:34 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2015, 15:01
Posts: 1248
Location: isreal
eyal wrote:
Spildit wrote:
Maybe you should start by dumping the CPs of your drive and compare with CPs of the same unlocked drive ?

Does the drive report as ATA locked or you can't just scan the user area ?


This is what I get:
Why do you think its locked and not a head(s) problem ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 14th, 2016, 16:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 7796
Location: Portugal
jermy wrote:
eyal wrote:
Spildit wrote:
Maybe you should start by dumping the CPs of your drive and compare with CPs of the same unlocked drive ?

Does the drive report as ATA locked or you can't just scan the user area ?


This is what I get:
Why do you think its locked and not a head(s) problem ?


My guess is that the drives do work on the DVR and they do not work on a regular PC.

Maybe they can be scanned with MRT meaning a filesystem problem (pluging to windows a drive with a propriatary FS) or maybe they are locked by means of custom CPs / Firmware.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 18th, 2016, 5:52 
Offline

Joined: September 8th, 2016, 4:39
Posts: 16
Location: Israel
I can't scan surface, sectors can't be read, also CP and ROM are not accessible. I have 6 different drives, all are showing in HDSetninel as 100% health, it's not head problem, it's some sort of lock made by sagemcom Set top boxes, there are also HGST and WD drives locked by this same technique.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 18th, 2016, 10:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 7796
Location: Portugal
eyal wrote:
I can't scan surface, sectors can't be read, also CP and ROM are not accessible. I have 6 different drives, all are showing in HDSetninel as 100% health, it's not head problem, it's some sort of lock made by sagemcom Set top boxes, there are also HGST and WD drives locked by this same technique.


WD should be easy to unlock by editing mod 02.
Can you dump the ROM chip using external programmer ?
I would start by dumping the ROM image and then extract the CPs out of it (if there is a module directory on ROM). Then you can compare with one unlocked drive of the same model.
If you can't get to the ROM then you can't edit a thing. I don't think it will be as easy to unlock as the WD drive.
HGST you will need to dump the NVRam but i don't think that the MRT Pro/PC3K will allow for you to do so as the drive will prevent access to it (locked). You can use "other methods" like external programmer as well.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 18th, 2016, 12:57 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2283
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Spildit wrote:
eyal wrote:
I can't scan surface, sectors can't be read, also CP and ROM are not accessible. I have 6 different drives, all are showing in HDSetninel as 100% health, it's not head problem, it's some sort of lock made by sagemcom Set top boxes, there are also HGST and WD drives locked by this same technique.


WD should be easy to unlock by editing mod 02.
Can you dump the ROM chip using external programmer ?
I would start by dumping the ROM image and then extract the CPs out of it (if there is a module directory on ROM). Then you can compare with one unlocked drive of the same model.
If you can't get to the ROM then you can't edit a thing. I don't think it will be as easy to unlock as the WD drive.
HGST you will need to dump the NVRam but i don't think that the MRT Pro/PC3K will allow for you to do so as the drive will prevent access to it (locked). You can use "other methods" like external programmer as well.


Well,
Only Few Mods Are There on Platter in toshiba ,Like G List Etc .So Reading ROM Using a Tool And Then Extracting CP Should Be Good Enough If Other Working HDD and Its CP Are available For comparison .What i cannot digest is that why CP's cannot be read .Hopefully a Better Tool Like PC3k might work then mrt and dfl

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon
CDRLabs Data Recovery - [ Chandigarh ,India ]
My Data Recovery Experiments - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 18th, 2016, 16:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9517
Location: Australia
IIUC, Toshiba's firmware code is entirely on the PCB. The drive only needs to access the SA for certain data modules (SMART, G-list, P-list, etc). Also, the CPs seem to be data modules rather than code. Shouldn't it then be possible to transfer the patient's CPs to a donor ROM, even if the firmware isn't exactly the same version? I mean, it's not like WD or Seagate drives where you need to match ROM code with SA overlays, or is it? Assuming that the lock is activated by the code in the patient but ignored by the code in the donor, then a CP transfer to a regular non-Sagem ROM should unlock the drive.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba 500GB out of DVR Locked
PostPosted: September 18th, 2016, 16:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 7796
Location: Portugal
fzabkar wrote:
IIUC, Toshiba's firmware code is entirely on the PCB. The drive only needs to access the SA for certain data modules (SMART, G-list, P-list, etc). Also, the CPs seem to be data modules rather than code. Shouldn't it then be possible to transfer the patient's CPs to a donor ROM, even if the firmware isn't exactly the same version? I mean, it's not like WD or Seagate drives where you need to match ROM code with SA overlays, or is it? Assuming that the lock is activated by the code in the patient but ignored by the code in the donor, then a CP transfer to a regular non-Sagem ROM should unlock the drive.


Unless the lock is activated by some setting/code on the data CPs and used by the main code to lock the drive. If so we would have to figure out what "activates" the lock, same way that you set one byte on the 02 WD ROYL module to "enable" or "disable" the password. If there is a data module / CP with information that is used by the main code to activate the lock then it might not be that easy. Also that "flag" might as well be stored on the platter...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 48 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group