All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 18th, 2017, 17:38 
Offline

Joined: March 18th, 2017, 12:42
Posts: 11
Location: Germany
Hi :)

Im new to this board and already read a few threads about swapping PCBs etc.

I have a WD Elements 1.0TB (proprietary USB Micro B connector) with slow response problems it seems.

The symptoms are:

- disk connected to USB / windows recognition sound comes up but the disk won't show up in device manager / disk management or diskpart
- the LED is lighring continuously and not flashing like it should ?!
- after 30-60 seconds you can hear a high pitched beep and the disks spinning up again (no clicking)
- then the disk is recognized by disk management and device manager but as '!not initialized' and with 0bytes size.

I already tried many different USB micro cables / used a Y-cable and used an external power supply (thought it could be a power problem)

I managed it one time that the disk was recognized with it's correct size (even with disk letter assigned) but no partition found but it wasn't possible to start a recovery.. the disk still had this high beep noise after some time and it seemed that it'll take forever to read anything from the drive.

Now I tried to convert the disk from USB to SATA. I removed the capacitors C13, C18, C31, C37 and soldered a SATA cable to E71, E72, E73, E75 and the ground to the disk screws.

But even after removing the capacitors the disk is still recognized via USB so the USB bridge is still active?! Do you guys maybe know if WD changed their design and if it's even possible to do a SATA mod on these disks?

It also has a U12 chip on the PCB and it's model number is -> 2060-771961-001 REV B with a JMS579 chip (if this is important)

I don't know what exactly are my options except sending it in or swapping the PCB with transfer the ICs.. but I'm new to SMD soldering and of course I'd first take the 'easier' method to access the disk.

Thank you so much in advance and have a nice day.

Greetings,

DukeOfDrum

P.S:

What's this silver sticker in a HDD (PCB side) where a Torx screw is under it next to the PCB?


Attachments:
File comment: Removed the capacitors
IMG_1788.JPG
IMG_1788.JPG [ 1.82 MiB | Viewed 2622 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 18th, 2017, 22:27 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3083
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Not a PCB problem. Likely firmware and mechanical.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 5:08 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 8th, 2013, 4:48
Posts: 641
Location: Pakistan
+1
likely a FW or mechanical problem, PCB is fine.

_________________
Data Recovery Pakistan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 5:27 
Offline

Joined: March 18th, 2017, 12:42
Posts: 11
Location: Germany
Okay. That's not a good thing :( What can cause the FW issue and how can it be solved? By the way. If I'm connecting the disk now it's always spinning and no beep occurs. After a few minutes the continuously lighting LED starts to flash in a 2 seconds interval. So I'm hoping it's not a mechanical issue.

Thanks a lot for your help!

Greetings,

DukeOfDrum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 5:34 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 8th, 2013, 4:48
Posts: 641
Location: Pakistan
for FW, you can apply a slow-fix, search the forum.
But applying something without proper diagnosis can make it worse so if data is important i would suggest to contact a DR company.

_________________
Data Recovery Pakistan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 6:45 
Offline

Joined: March 18th, 2017, 12:42
Posts: 11
Location: Germany
So this slow-fix could make the disk initialize again? Or is it necessary that the disk will be recognized with disk size / type / etc? Because this is not the case. It's not getting initialized and I can't scan for partitions or anything else. I'd like to check this FW method even if this means that I could make it worse..

Thanks again for your effort and your help :)

Greetings


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 7:03 
Offline

Joined: May 21st, 2007, 16:10
Posts: 1434
Location: Gothenburg/ Sweden
That "small beep" you hear is a head related problem.
You can probably with the right tools and knowledge read out 3 of 4 head info, but to get 100% of the data a head swap is necessary.

_________________
Rescue IT Datarecovery service Sweden
Rescue IT Dataräddning Göteborg AB
http://www.rescue-it.se


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 7:54 
Offline

Joined: March 18th, 2017, 12:42
Posts: 11
Location: Germany
Okay. So it could be worse now? Because the 'beep' isn't present anymore. Is there a way to access the disk? First I need the slow-fix as MindMergepk mentioned and then I need to disable one head? It sounds like it's not the easiest thing to do with my equipment and knowledge. Or how is this going to work? I don't want 100% back from the disk. It would be sufficient if I'd be able to read some files from the disk.

I'm in a learning phase and it would just be awesome if there's a way to have just a glimpse of success with this disk.

Of course I'd pay / donate for these informations. Just let me know how I can compensate for your help =]

Greetings


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 8:42 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2015, 15:01
Posts: 1285
Location: isreal
Recovering 3heads out of 4, "doesn't" mean you gonna have 75% of the data back, not even close
Only small files "Might" be intact


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 8:42 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2015, 15:01
Posts: 1285
Location: isreal
Double post


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 9:19 
Offline

Joined: March 18th, 2017, 12:42
Posts: 11
Location: Germany
Okay I understand this. But the chances are still there that it's not a head issue am I right? Because now there isn't a beep or click or anything. Just spinning up, recognizing in device manager but no informations about the disk type and size.

How is it possible to access the drive to fix the FW? Are there trial software to test if it's even possible to read data? What can you suggest now except to contact a DR company?

Sorry for those many questions.. I just don't have the money to let a professional company check this issue especially if this issue can be fixed from home with some external help (I would gladly pay for).

Thanks again for you time!

Greetings,

DukeOfDrum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 17:26 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3083
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Start with searching for the forum for PCB adaptation and slow-fix. But it would be a lot of effort invested to likely have a little to no gain at all. More than likely it will be a mechanical problem. Why? Because the mechanics don't read the firmware (drive ID, etc).

By the way, money is not always necessary. Do you have other valuables? Gold, silver, gift cards, bitcoin, big social following, etc. You can get creative in finding somebody to help you by offering something valuable.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 19th, 2017, 17:49 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8156
Location: Portugal
Does the drive ID by SATA ? If you adapt the drive to SATA can you access SA with something like WDMarvel ?

Also newer version of WDMarvel works by USB as well ...

So in your sittuation the first thing that i would have done would be to check if i could retrieve the modules by USB using WDMarvel. If so you can apply the slow fix ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 20th, 2017, 12:42 
Offline

Joined: March 18th, 2017, 12:42
Posts: 11
Location: Germany
@labtech:

I got to manage it that size and type (GPT) was recognized with some USB port swaps and on/off cycle but that time I had the problem that I couldn't access the disk with data recovery software and it seemed that it will last forever to access.

Now it seems that the disk isn't even recognized correct. LED on continuously. Maybe I already made it worse with all my attempts.

I've something about 0.1-0.2 BTC left in my wallet but nothing else of big value. Working as a Network Technician

@Spildit:

I can't get it to work via SATA. As I mentioned in the first post I already removed the capacitors for the USB bridge but it's still recognized via USB. But I'll try to access the service area with WDMarvel via USB.

Thanks a lot for the tips, guys

I'll update you if I manage to access the disk somehow!

Greetings


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 20th, 2017, 18:23 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 222
Location: Brazil
And to add to what Spildit said, please post pictures of the soldering job you did in the board.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 21st, 2017, 1:55 
Offline

Joined: March 18th, 2017, 12:42
Posts: 11
Location: Germany
Hi. So it seems I had a little success.. With WDMarvel I couldn't access the SA and it showed some strange characters and after scanning modules it resulted with '0 modules' BUT as I connected the SATA cable and the USB to an external power source it was recognized by device manager with type MBR instead of GPT and 160TB size?! I attached a picture of R-Studio (recognized the disk with 931GB size and FW number) and my soldering job. I also got the chance to scan a few sectors and it showed me 24 files (JPG, TXT, RAW photos) but all were corrupt.

Then the beep (shown in the video at 02:39 min) came back:

https://youtu.be/NsnS6N9veFg

After that 'scan try' the disk wasn't recognized anymore and the disconnect sound from windows came up.

Maybe I should use another SATA -> USB adapter? If I'm connecting the disk direct with a SATA port on my mainboard it won't get recognized.

Between the connections from the capacitors shouldn't be a electrical passage, right? Because if I measure for example C13 with a continuity tester it makes a beep. But I carefully removed the capacitors and checked if there are any bridges..

This disk is from a good friend of mine and she's a photograph. She is in training and all her data is on this disk from the last 4 years for the exams and her shootings she need for her final. She doesn't have the money to spend for a professional but I would pay a few hundred bucks if it's sufficient to help her out. But this is all I can do for her except try the things I can do without sending the disk in.

I work for an IT company and we offer solutions for CDNs and other companies to e.g. maintain their hardware (IT system technician) but this kind of work is new for me.

Greetings


Attachments:
IMG_1842.JPG
IMG_1842.JPG [ 1.99 MiB | Viewed 2380 times ]
WD Elements.jpg
WD Elements.jpg [ 162.95 KiB | Viewed 2380 times ]
IMG_1841.JPG
IMG_1841.JPG [ 2.43 MiB | Viewed 2380 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 21st, 2017, 2:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 6th, 2010, 3:46
Posts: 266
Location: Kolding | Denmark
How i hear your story, you have a head issue (in your drive)
Every second your drive is connected the situation gets worse. You are @ high risks to kill your data.

_________________
Digitalsupport Data Recovery
https://digitalsupport.dk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 21st, 2017, 2:56 
Offline

Joined: March 18th, 2017, 12:42
Posts: 11
Location: Germany
Okay so I'll stop my attempts immediately and won't connect the disk anymore.

Let's say I could have access to a clean air enclosure and have a donor disk how big are the chances that a head swap would result in a success?

What if it's a firmware issue and / or PCB, too?

Can you give me tips for a good donor disk and what additional equipment I'll need?

I'd first try it on another disk for trial and error of course. I know this isn't an easy thing but I want to learn this kind of work because it's so interesting how complex the whole recovery thing is.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 21st, 2017, 19:09 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 222
Location: Brazil
The idea was to connect the disk directly to the computer, not through a usb-sata adapter.

If the disk is not yours, I would also recommend against messing more with it. It is risky to try your first headswap in a disk with other person data. If she needs it for important things, then it is wiser to get the money and have it professionaly recovered.

You can get other drives later to learn, without worrying about the drive or the time it takes .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Elements 1.0TB | WD10JMVW-11AJGS4
PostPosted: March 22nd, 2017, 2:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 6th, 2010, 3:46
Posts: 266
Location: Kolding | Denmark
I its not your drive but if your friend will risk data you can try. But try it first minimum 5 times on your test drive. Minimum you need a laminar flow bench to archive right clean environment.
Even if you manage to change heads drive will most probably have developed some firmware trouble that needs to be taken case off.
Also hardware assisted cloning via SATA is needed for best result, that will not work via USB. (your SATA conversion will not work, you need very shot leads)

_________________
Digitalsupport Data Recovery
https://digitalsupport.dk


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group