Switch to full style
Data recovery and disk repair questions and discussions related to old-fashioned SATA, SAS, SCSI, IDE, MFM hard drives - any type of storage device that has moving parts
Post a reply

Please help with Barracuda 7200.11 500 Gb

April 15th, 2017, 12:26

Hello, this is HFact and I'm new to this great forum ...

As my title says I need help with this hard drive, I have to mention that I have lost it for a year, but reading and reading I think my data is recoverable, at least some.

First of all this is the Hard Disk Drive info:

Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500 Gb
S/N: 9QM...
ST3500620AS
P/N: 9BX144-505
Firmware: SD25
Date Code: 08396
CSO: 1106-5
WWN: 5000C50009F4F280
Site Code: KRATSG
PCB: 100466725 REV A DLAJ-4

The problem with this hard drive was that the BIOS recognized it but indicated 0mb, I tried to recover it with the "0 LBA" method, however the BIOS no longer recognizes it, I do not know what happened or what I did wrong. The point is that I want to try again but this time changing the PCB, I found on AliExpress a very similar PCB, but my doubt and/or question is the following:

Thinking to replacing the corrupt PCB by the "new one"... Will I have problems with the firmware? And if so ... How could I fix it?

I apologize but I'm not a very advanced user in the world of hard disks.

Thank you for your response and have a great day.

Best regards.

Re: Please help with Barracuda 7200.11 500 Gb

April 15th, 2017, 14:10

First of all, you could destroy all your data following hints from this forum.
How is your drive behaving: Spins up, clicking, keeps spinning ?

If you replace your pcb you also need to move ROM or ROM data to new pcb.

April 15th, 2017, 17:27

@HFact, what messages are you getting via terminal?

April 17th, 2017, 14:05

digisupport wrote:First of all, you could destroy all your data following hints from this forum.
How is your drive behaving: Spins up, clicking, keeps spinning ?