All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 19th, 2017, 11:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 5th, 2017, 17:35
Posts: 29
Location: Santiago de Cuba
This is my everyday HDD
Image
Image
Image
Image
Here it works at his normal Speed 5400rpm. Sector 0 MBR it's fine so i can do a partition
Image
This is SMART with Victoria
Image

Toshiba MK7559GSXP 750GB im using it on a USB3.0 external case.
Image
ATTENTION WHEN I TRY TO REMAP OR REALOCATE OR ANY OPERATION, I PLUG THE HDD DIRECTLY ON THE COMPUTER (SATA) I DO NOT USE THE USB3.0 ADAPTOR
The problem: I'm using only 100GB (A partition of 100GB) of it's space because the other usable space is too unstable;When i copy a big file copyspeed get under the normal level (Normaly HDD FilewriteSpeed is 60-80/mbs on the first 100GB)

The 100GB Partition. Start at 11566800SECTOR. Ends 210756734SECTOR
Image

I first tried a low level format so that way HDD Could realocate most bad sectors, (I don need a Cosmetic fix, this is my personal HDD, i don't care if SMART say there is reallocated sectors)
. I scanned again the HDD to find the most continue space on the HDD without bad sectors
Image
This whas the SPEED TEST
Image
Ugly isen't? SO i tryed anoter low level format to fix all thouse slow sector with MHDD ERASE
It toke several hours.After the low level format. Used HDD Regenerator, on REGENERATE ALL MODE. but the drive stays the SAME no Sector Recovered and slows sectors the same.

I tryed REMAP with several tools First MHDD, No result, VICTORIA says REMAP Failed!!!
WHY??
AT THE MOMENT i'm using the first partition it works REALY FINE, i have to do it some fixes with CHKDSK to deal with the bad sectors, and thanks to the magic of the NTFS, now i'm using it.
Image
The only problem is, sometimes apears some slow sectors who looks like bad sectors, and i have to use CHKDSK to correct that on the Partitiom i'm using.

I will like to know 2 things.
1- Why my HDD doasen't REMAP;REALOCATE; Security Erase?
2- How can i fix the others slow sectors on the drive to gain more usable Space?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 19th, 2017, 17:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8118
Location: Portugal
Well ....

You have a big amount of re-located sectors so most likely you are out of spares.

Meaning that G-List most likely is full and you can't re-locate any more sectors as the spares to swap with the bad ones are already in use, all of them ...

Just buy a new drive. You aren't going to fix this one. Moreover Toshiba doesn't allow for SS ... You could try to cut zones or edit defect lists with expensive firmware tools but most likely for your drive it wouldn't make any diference and you would get more bad sectors ....

Drive is dying and can't be fixed.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 19th, 2017, 18:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 5th, 2017, 17:35
Posts: 29
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Spildit wrote:
Well ....

You have a big amount of re-located sectors so most likely you are out of spares.

Meaning that G-List most likely is full and you can't re-locate any more sectors as the spares to swap with the bad ones are already in use, all of them ...

Just buy a new drive. You aren't going to fix this one. Moreover Toshiba doesn't allow for SS ... You could try to cut zones or edit defect lists with expensive firmware tools but most likely for your drive it wouldn't make any diference and you would get more bad sectors ....

Drive is dying and can't be fixed.


What you says it's the most logical. But Any idea about how to fix slow sectors on this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 19th, 2017, 19:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8118
Location: Portugal
I would say it's impossible to fix the slow sectors on your drive as :

1 - Heads/surface might be damaged/contaminated and there is nothing that you can do.

2 - You can't run calibration of heads/media and re-calc adaptives like you would on ST-10 (N2,AA,22) or WD (ARCO) so you will have to live with defect list editing ....

3 - Even if you move G to P or add zones to P you would still have "slow" reading as this would not calibrate heads and would not do the impossible - fix surface that is worn out and heads that aren't properly working ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 20th, 2017, 11:15 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2914
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I believe people think that "sectors" are these small units on a drive that are "fixable" or "turned off", and totally disregard the fact that something caused this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 20th, 2017, 15:01 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3068
Location: Massachusetts, USA
HaQue wrote:
I believe people think that "sectors" are these small units on a drive that are "fixable" or "turned off", and totally disregard the fact that something caused this.
Truth.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 20th, 2017, 15:22 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 6893
Location: UK
HaQue wrote:
I believe people think that "sectors" are these small units on a drive that are "fixable" or "turned off", and totally disregard the fact that something caused this.


There's always underlying issues, so any "fix" is gonna be temporary and cosmetic

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 22nd, 2017, 15:02 
Offline

Joined: November 7th, 2015, 13:04
Posts: 107
Location: Austin metro area TX USA
Does anyone know how to install Victoria? I downloaded from their web site, clicked on the EXE, and got the install box -- nothing but question marks, no English text at all to guide me.

_________________
"Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin
http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forums/4 ... hnologies/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 28th, 2017, 13:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8118
Location: Portugal
Here :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=36#p1218

Extract that rar archive to a folder and run the executable from there.

No instalation needed....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 29th, 2017, 0:12 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2914
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Is Victoria still ok for newest hard drives? It is quite legacy isn't it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 29th, 2017, 14:11 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8118
Location: Portugal
HaQue wrote:
Is Victoria still ok for newest hard drives? It is quite legacy isn't it?


I never tested this with bigger drives but it should be ok as it uses standard ATA commands so at least to check S.M.A.R.T. and ID the drive and do stuff like PWD locking if should pose no problem at all.

The only problem that i can see is if the drive is huge and Victoria can't "scan" past a LBA value. But you should still be able to scan the start of the drive.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 29th, 2017, 19:07 
Online

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 209
Location: Brazil
What could we consider as bigger drives in this case ? I will have some 1TB / 2TB /3TB that can be used for tests after I finish working with them.

Or the chance of Victoria not working is just with drives like 5 TB + ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My HDD Doasen't Realocate or REMAP Why? it's Fixeable?
PostPosted: May 29th, 2017, 19:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8118
Location: Portugal
I don't know. You will have to test it out !

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blue7512, rogfanther, Yahoo [Bot] and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group