All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: May 31st, 2017, 19:09 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 230
Location: Brazil
@bunty, can you create an image ( not clone to other disk ) with ddrescue and compare the beginning of this image to the beginning of the disk you cloned to ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: May 31st, 2017, 19:22 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 308
Location: United States
bunty wrote:
Congratulations maximus for developing best cloning tool. I tried gui version on CF card today. I have selected reverse clone . Almost 99.16% cloning was successful . Unfortunately cloned disk does not show any data (though it shows NTFS file system )

I think that the first many sectors are not readable from the memory card. They would therefore not be copied to the destination, and any data that already existed on the destination in those areas would still exist. That would allow it so show a partition that did not really exist on the source memory card. When using a physical destination, it is best to write all zeros to it before cloning. Hddsuperclone has an option to zero fill all areas that were not recovered. But you must save the project (progress) file and keep using it, because it keeps track of the progress and makes the recovery able to be resumed. Your project file was saved to the desktop of the live CD, and unless you copied it to a more permanent location, it will be gone when shut down.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: May 31st, 2017, 19:54 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 308
Location: United States
I would also like to say that if you can post the progress (project) file from the hddsuperclone recovery, I can provide some analysis. With conventional hard drives it can usually be determined if there is just a bad spot, a weak head, or a dead head. I have no idea what to expect from a memory card failure, but it will show what sectors were recovered and which were not.

You may have to do a raw data recovery on the cloned drive using a tool such as rstudio or getdataback. But since you are trying to clone to a drive that is larger than the source, you really need to write zeros to the entire destination before cloning. That will assure that no data other than what is on the memory card will end up on the clone.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: May 31st, 2017, 23:14 
Offline

Joined: March 9th, 2017, 6:16
Posts: 67
Location: trinidad
Hi maximus and rogfanther
Thank you so much.

Yes I have zero filled SSD before cloning so no remanant data was present. I have tried raw recover using winhex but nothing was found.
Fortunately I have copied log file. Pls.check whether cloning was successful and what could be actual issue.
here is download link - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8JKI5 ... sp=sharing


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 1st, 2017, 17:55 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 308
Location: United States
From examining the log file provided, my assessment is that you have the best clone possible with a software only tool. The data at the beginning that has not been read shows no signs of having any readable data. Reads up to sector 0x0fffff (1048575 sectors, or 536870400 bytes) all failed.

FYI You could possibly get another 128 sectors right at the cutoff of good reads and bad, but I doubt that is worth much considering the situation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 1st, 2017, 18:25 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 308
Location: United States
I would like to point out that since the very first part of the memory card is not readable, it would be impossible for it to show any partitions. For that to happen, the clone must either have been initialized by Windows, or the clone was not zero filled. I would suggest cloning to an image file instead of another drive, and then use software recovery tools to scan the image file for raw files. If the file system was at the beginning, then the only option is raw file recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 1st, 2017, 20:34 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 230
Location: Brazil
@maximus, I will ask here because it is somehow related to this thread.

Would it be possible and maybe not too complex to add an options to hddsuperclone ( or hddsupertool ) to zero the full drive ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2017, 1:40 
Offline

Joined: March 9th, 2017, 6:16
Posts: 67
Location: trinidad
Hi maximus
Yes I will try to image card instead of direct cloning. Even if some starting part will not get imaged ,at least raw recovery will work.
I am sure I have zero filled ssd before cloning. Lets see results of imaging.
I will report results.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2017, 1:41 
Offline

Joined: March 9th, 2017, 6:16
Posts: 67
Location: trinidad
rogfanther wrote:
@maximus, I will ask here because it is somehow related to this thread.

Would it be possible and maybe not too complex to add an options to hddsuperclone ( or hddsupertool ) to zero the full drive ?

Hi rogfanther
I think software is already having zero filling option though I have not used it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2017, 4:54 
Offline

Joined: March 9th, 2017, 6:16
Posts: 67
Location: trinidad
Hi maximus

Unfortunately there is bad news. As you have suggested ,I tried to image disk instead of cloning . But process ended abruptly giving error.
I am fearful card may fail due to multiple imaging as it is already in bad condition.


Attachments:
P_20170602_133057.jpg
P_20170602_133057.jpg [ 1.59 MiB | Viewed 1664 times ]
P_20170602_135553.jpg
P_20170602_135553.jpg [ 1.61 MiB | Viewed 1664 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2017, 17:33 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 308
Location: United States
That is not a good sign for sure. But hddsuperclone can be resumed with project file. You might be able to remove and reinsert the memory card to get it recognized again, then resume the recovery. You should choose to disconnect and then connect again, and if there is an issue you may need to choose the source again. If you have closed hddsuperclone you can reload (open) the project file, but you must choose both source and destination again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2017, 17:41 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 308
Location: United States
If the card does die, hopefully you still have clone on the 120GB SSD. You could still do a raw recovery on that. You could use the zero fill option in hddsuperclone to write zeros to all the unrecovered sectors, using the project file that you saved from the cloning process. But I would suspect that it was initialized in windows, which could have affected a small portion of original data. Plus the zero fill will not fill past the original size of 64GB, so if there is any residual data past that, it would remain on the clone.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2017, 19:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9778
Location: Australia
maximus wrote:
I would like to point out that since the very first part of the memory card is not readable, it would be impossible for it to show any partitions. For that to happen, the clone must either have been initialized by Windows, or the clone was not zero filled.

The MBR code does not look like any Windows MBR that I have seen.

http://thestarman.pcministry.com/asm/mbr/index.html

In fact it appears that the MBR was created by GParted.

https://superuser.com/questions/941411/why-does-gparted-make-my-flash-disk-bootable-if-not-malware-then-what

https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=5115

Maybe that will jog the OP's memory.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2017, 19:32 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 308
Location: United States
rogfanther wrote:
@maximus, I will ask here because it is somehow related to this thread.
Would it be possible and maybe not too complex to add an options to hddsuperclone ( or hddsupertool ) to zero the full drive ?

It could be something that I add in the future. But it is not high on the priority list since there are many other tools that can do this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2017, 19:44 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 308
Location: United States
I know this is in the conventional hard drive section, but I have a question to ask of those more familiar with flash recovery. In this case I can see from a screen shot that when trying to read the bad area in the memory card, the failed reads were taking about 5 seconds. I know this could be caused by the following reasons:

1) The memory card was performing internal read attempts to get a good read just like a conventional hard drive.
2) The card reader was performing multiple read attempts to get a good read.
3) Linux was being annoyingly stupid and performing multiple read attempts trying to get a good read even though you don't want it to.

I would like to know if case #1 happens. Will a memory card make internal read attempts to the extent that a conventional hard drive will?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2017, 19:59 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9778
Location: Australia
A HDD would have a rotational latency of ~10msec for each read attempt whereas a solid state device would not. Therefore ISTM that 5 seconds is a very long time.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2017, 20:06 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 308
Location: United States
fzabkar wrote:
A HDD would have a rotational latency of ~10msec for each read attempt whereas a solid state device would not. Therefore ISTM that 5 seconds is a very long time.

I would think that too, that a solid state device should be quick to return a read error. I am just asking to be sure.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 3rd, 2017, 5:16 
Offline

Joined: March 9th, 2017, 6:16
Posts: 67
Location: trinidad
Hi maximus & fzabkar

Sorry for mistake from my end .
Initially while cloning I have used Transcend USB 2.0 Card reader on USB 2.0 Port. But while imaging I have used Transcend USB 3.0 card reader on USB 3.0 port.
I think it has something to do with abrupt error.
I have now created a NTFS partition on SSD & created card Image in reverse. I have been successfully and only After 99.18% read errors stated apprearing.
So now we have captured card in most efficient manner. Attached is log file of the process ,which may give you some hint whether imaging was right.

Download File- https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8JKI5 ... sp=sharing


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 3rd, 2017, 8:50 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 308
Location: United States
The recovery looks the same as the previous recovery. There is something additional you can try, it should recover 127 more sectors.

Open the project file again in hddsuperclone.
Select the same source and destination.
In the tools menu, select "Reset Log".
In the clone settings, uncheck Phase1, Phase2, and Phase3.
In the clone settings, make sure Reverse is checked.
In the clone settings, change the Clustersize to a value of 1.
Connect and start.

You should see the finished value jump from 124010368 to about 124010495.

There is always the slight possibility of reading even more since this is reading one sector at a time instead of 128 sector blocks. You can let it run for a little bit (at least 10 minutes) and see if the finished count climbs any more. If it does not climb any more, then you can stop the recovery. If it does keep climbing, let it run for awhile and then post a copy of the project file again so the pattern can be examined.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning Tool
PostPosted: June 3rd, 2017, 9:39 
Offline

Joined: March 9th, 2017, 6:16
Posts: 67
Location: trinidad
%Hi Guys there is an unfortunate end to this case & sadly I will have to return card to customer as "unrecoverable"
also it is painful that I haven't understood what is technical reason for this failure.
As reported earlier I have been successful to image card to 99.18% , I tried all softwares in normal /raw mode but nothing was found on this 62GB image.
Out of frustration I gave card to ne of my friend for imaging and he managed to clone in in windows this time.
Unfortunately no known file system / Data was found.
Now since nothing is left to be tried , I am giving up.
Those who are curious to investigate , I can give remote access .
Thank you all contributors.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group