All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: June 21st, 2017, 3:58 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2011, 5:40
Posts: 101
Location: Serbia
Please, does anybody have FW ROM version 5002J for WD2500AAJS-07B4A0 ?

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: June 21st, 2017, 9:46 
Offline

Joined: January 31st, 2014, 8:46
Posts: 230
Location: India
CHECK THIS LINK
http://firmware.hddsurgery.com/login


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: June 21st, 2017, 13:03 
Offline

Joined: October 24th, 2005, 17:04
Posts: 218
http://files.hddguru.com/download/PC-30 ... nacle/ROM/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: June 21st, 2017, 17:50 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2011, 5:40
Posts: 101
Location: Serbia
Many thanks for answers and links to galaxy and Moltke. Unfortunately, I'm not a member of hddsurgery. Also, on hddguru's FW file section there is only ROM file and MOD11. I need complete FW version 5002J, or just SMART mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: June 21st, 2017, 18:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9781
Location: Australia
Nesa wrote:
Many thanks for answers and links to galaxy and Moltke. Unfortunately, I'm not a member of hddsurgery. Also, on hddguru's FW file section there is only ROM file and MOD11. I need complete FW version 5002J, or just SMART mods.

Perhaps you could reconstruct the required SMART modules from your resource dump? Could you upload what you have?

You might also find that you could adapt SMART modules from other firmware by editing the header information. I say this because SMART modules would not be targeted by firmware updates.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2017, 13:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8161
Location: Portugal
Or clear S.M.A.R.T. ?

At any rate what is the problem with the drive ?

Does it show bad modules when reading SA ? What tools are you using ? What modules can be read and what modules have errors ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2017, 15:50 
Offline

Joined: May 30th, 2005, 17:07
Posts: 445
Hi,
SMART modules

Mikippp


Attachments:
File comment: 0005002J
21.zip [14.4 KiB]
Downloaded 42 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: July 1st, 2017, 3:51 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2011, 5:40
Posts: 101
Location: Serbia
Thanks guys for your help. As usually I'm experimenting with drives, so this is just no more than that. Thanks to fzabkar and Spildit for posts and to Mikippp for file. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: July 1st, 2017, 10:02 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2011, 5:40
Posts: 101
Location: Serbia
Here is the story. There is brand new (just unpacked) WD2500AAJS-07B4A0 with all SMART on zero except SMART 196 parameter Reallocation Event Count = 1! I did a surface scan, there is no problem. It's perfect. So I tried to reset SMART and guess what, Reallocation Event Count is still 1. I have copied Mikippp's SMART mods 21-24 on hdd and Reallocation Event Count again is 1. How is this possible!?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: July 1st, 2017, 15:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9781
Location: Australia
The SMART data would be buffered in RAM. Perhaps the SMART modules are being updated from the RAM buffer?

It's a different firmware architecture, but the OP in the following thread had a similar problem and resolved it by manipulating the modules' SA addresses.

WD Scripts for CLEAR SMART in older wdc caviar:
http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=91&t=1939

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need FW for WD2500AAJS - ROM 5002J
PostPosted: July 1st, 2017, 15:55 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8161
Location: Portugal
- As soon as you write the new modules just power off/on the drive ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group