All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 25th, 2017, 14:17 
Offline

Joined: September 25th, 2017, 14:12
Posts: 1
Location: Tirupati
Seagate st2000dm001-1er164 cc43 firmware 2tb hdd shows 128gb
Any solution to recover data. Suddenly my HDD stops working
Not recognized in BIOS but shows in Windows as 128gb not initialized


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 25th, 2017, 15:41 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2011, 0:19
Posts: 1856
Location: Providence, RI
I think we already discussed this topic here: https://www.data-medics.com/forum/seaga ... t1845.html

Not likely a DIY case.

_________________
Data Medics - Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Service Company


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 26th, 2017, 16:09 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 8th, 2006, 19:44
Posts: 2936
Location: Atlanta, GA
Most likely bad heads. Is the drive still spinning?

_________________
http://www.datasaversllc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 26th, 2017, 17:48 
Offline

Joined: December 6th, 2012, 8:49
Posts: 203
Location: españa
jono-ats wrote:
Most likely bad heads. Is the drive still spinning?

According to the post in the forum of data-medics

"No clicking sounds but it's spins continuously"

I would say a head problem is unlikely


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 26th, 2017, 18:08 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 8th, 2006, 19:44
Posts: 2936
Location: Atlanta, GA
colanco wrote:
jono-ats wrote:
Most likely bad heads. Is the drive still spinning?

According to the post in the forum of data-medics

"No clicking sounds but it's spins continuously"

I would say a head problem is unlikely



You are right -- I thought the original problem was the 3.86 GB message -- but this poster is describing a different problem (shows 128 GB). Assuming it is still spinning.

_________________
http://www.datasaversllc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 26th, 2017, 19:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10767
Location: Australia
I carved out the following Identify Device block from a Brinks ROM. I don't understand how Windows arrives at a capacity of 128GiB.

Code:
Offset(d) 00   01   02   03   04   05   06   07   08   09

00000000  0C5A 3FFF C837 0010 0000 0000 003F 0000 0000 0000  .Z?ÿÈ7.......?......
00000010  2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 514E 525F 4246 5720              QNR_BFW
00000020  0000 1000 0004 2E2E 3031 2020 2020 5354 5F4D 3133  ........01    ST_M13
00000030  4651 424C 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020  FQBL               
00000040  2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 8010 0000 2F00                €.../.
00000050  4000 0200 0200 0007 3FFF 0010 003F FC10 00FB 0110  @.......?ÿ...?ü..û..
00000060  715E 007B 0000 0007 0003 0078 0078 00F0 0078 0000  q^.{.......x.x.ð.x..
00000070  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 001F 0102 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000080  007E 001B 346B 7D01 4003 3469 3C01 4003 407F 0000  .~..4k}.@.4i<.@.@...
00000090  0000 FEFE FFFE 0000 FE00 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ..þþÿþ..þ...........
00000100  715E 007B 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  q^.{................
00000110  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000120  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0001 715E  ..................q^
00000130  007B 715E 007B 2020 0002 42B6 0100 008A 3C06 3C0A  .{q^.{  ..B¶...Š<.<.
00000140  0000 07C6 0100 0800 0F78 0500 0002 0280 0000 0000  ...Æ.....x.....€....
00000150  0008 0002 0000 FE03 0050 0000 0000 0000 00A9 000B  ......þ..P.......©..
00000160  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000170  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000180  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000190  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000200  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000210  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000220  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000230  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000240  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ....................
00000250  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000                      ............

    word 57 -> 0xfbfc10 x 512 bytes = 8.46 GiB
    word 60 -> 0x7b715e x 512 bytes = 3.86 GiB
    word 100 -> 0x7b715e x 512 bytes = 3.86 GiB

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 27th, 2017, 16:18 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10767
Location: Australia
jono-ats wrote:
You are right -- I thought the original problem was the 3.86 GB message -- but this poster is describing a different problem (shows 128 GB).

Google seems to suggest that the two different symptoms actually reflect the same problem.

Here is one example:

http://community.covecube.com/index.php?/topic/1767-anyone-having-problems-with-seagate-8tb-archive-drive/

Quote:
I run both StableBit Scanner and Drivepool on my home server. It already has two 4TB Seagate drives, but when I tried adding one of Seagate's new 8TB "archive" drives, I get nothing but problems initializing it. I've tried connecting to drive both directly to the ASUS E35M-1M Pro motherboard and also to the SYBA SYBA SI-PEX40064 controller that the 4TB drives use -- Windows Disk Management and Stablebit Scanner both report the former configuration is a 3.86 GB drive while the latter configuration is reported as 128 GB, instead of 8TB.

I suspect that the two scenarios use different drivers.

The only odd thing I can see in the Identify Device block is the absence of a checksum at the end. Technically this makes it invalid. A capacity of 128GiB would correlate with a value of 0xFFFFFFF in word 60.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 29th, 2017, 5:33 
Offline

Joined: December 5th, 2011, 5:38
Posts: 1154
Location: Italy
3.86 GB issue can be solved as shown in this video if is not due to mechanical problem
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0hTEu9bx5A


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 29th, 2017, 11:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 2060
Location: Ontario, Canada
michael chiklis wrote:
3.86 GB issue can be solved as shown in this video if is not due to mechanical problem
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0hTEu9bx5A

Has anyone ever seen this issue, as shown in the video?

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 29th, 2017, 14:54 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7171
Location: UK
Can't say I have.

As I recall, only times I've seen the 3.86gb issue is when either the heads are bad or the PCB is non-native.

But no doubt I'll get flamed :roll: :roll:

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST2000MD001 2tb hdd shows 3.86gb
PostPosted: September 29th, 2017, 17:10 
Offline

Joined: December 5th, 2011, 5:38
Posts: 1154
Location: Italy
I have seen 3.86gb issue with not knocking heads only once, but i've solved the case by cleaning heads.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], labtech and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group