All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not spin
PostPosted: November 15th, 2017, 16:36 
Offline

Joined: March 28th, 2011, 17:45
Posts: 433
Location: italy
This is a issue i never faced and also ace support can't answer ...

ST2000DM001 1CH164-510 fw cc27 , when i modify head map in rom , than the drive do not spin anymore.

than i took another donor - same model same date same fw - and same issue - once i modify head map in rom, ddrive do not spin.


Attachments:
442.jpg
442.jpg [ 246.82 KiB | Viewed 1795 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 15th, 2017, 16:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9787
Location: Australia
Could you upload the before-and-after ROM images?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 15th, 2017, 17:17 
Offline

Joined: March 28th, 2011, 17:45
Posts: 433
Location: italy
here it is


Attachments:
rom.zip [1.33 MiB]
Downloaded 78 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 15th, 2017, 18:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 9th, 2007, 8:40
Posts: 734
Location: United Kingdom
And terminal output.

_________________
<itch>
скратчи
If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs, you probably don't fully understand the situation. ... Mr Kipling


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 15th, 2017, 19:19 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 29th, 2011, 2:11
Posts: 165
Location: egypt
are you CALC CRC in SAP Block After Modification Done ?
if So i think Head Stuck . not other issue
i face such Error in DM and VM Series During My intial Research For Cut head in These Familes and new F3 Structure
So better be sure that you calc CRC and head not Stuck on platter

_________________
http://www.hpwlab.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 15th, 2017, 19:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9787
Location: Australia
hpw333 wrote:
are you CALC CRC in SAP Block After Modification Done ?

It looks correct to me.

Code:
ST_CRC16 SAP_original.bin
SAP_original.bin:  CRC16 = 0x0000

ST_CRC16 SAP_modified.bin
SAP_modified.bin:  CRC16 = 0x0000


Attachments:
SAP.rar [10.7 KiB]
Downloaded 78 times

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 16th, 2017, 2:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9787
Location: Australia
The original ROM consists of 2 identical halves, 0 - 0x7FFFF and 0x80000 - 0xFFFFF. PC3K has confined its edits to the first half. Would it make any difference if these changes were repeated in the second half of the ROM?

I don't understand the reason, but the "RAM load point" (?) has been changed. The header checksum is 0x0000 in both the original and modified ROM.

The other thing I don't understand is the "active flag". AIUI, this flag should differ in each half of the ROM, with the largest value taking boot precedence. However, in both the original and modified ROMs, these flags are the same (0x00) in each half.

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

00000000  A7 0C 00 00 60 07 00 00 00 00 00 00 EF BB 04 00
                               RAM load point ^^^^^^^^^^^

00000010  63 73 69 44 00 00 D3 E9 48 8F 00 00 20 FF FF FF  csiD
          active flag ^^    ^^^^^checksum


00000000  A7 0C 00 00 60 07 00 00 00 00 00 00 86 B7 04 00
                               RAM load point ^^^^^^^^^^^

00000010  63 73 69 44 00 00 3C EE 48 8F 00 00 20 FF FF FF  csiD
          active flag ^^    ^^^^^checksum

The head map has been changed from "00 10 20 30" to "10 10 10 10" in the first copy of the SAP (0x70000 - 0x74FFFF), but not in the second.

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

00071090  01 00 00 02 02 02 02 02 02 02 04 00 04 10 04 20
                                           ^^    **    ^^
000710A0  04 30 04 40 04 50 04 60 04 70 04 80 04 90 04 00
             ^^                                        ^^
000710B0  04 10 04 20 04 30 04 40 04 50 04 60 04 70 04 80
             **    ^^    ^^   
000710C0  04 90 04 00 04 10 04 20 04 30 04 40 04 50 04 60
                   ^^    **    ^^    ^^     

00071090  01 00 00 02 02 02 02 02 02 02 04 10 04 10 04 10
                                           ^^    **    ^^
000710A0  04 10 04 40 04 50 04 60 04 70 04 80 04 90 04 10
             ^^                                        ^^
000710B0  04 10 04 10 04 10 04 40 04 50 04 60 04 70 04 80
             **    ^^    ^^   
000710C0  04 90 04 10 04 10 04 10 04 10 04 40 04 50 04 60
                   ^^    **    ^^    ^^

The 16-bit CRC for the SAP segment has been recalculated so that the checksum is 0x0000. However, there is a lonely word (0xA4AB) just prior to the CRC. Is this a second checksum, possibly calculated over the SAP contents (0x70008 - 0x74FFF7)? If so, could this be the problem?

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

00074FF0  00 00 00 00 00 00 AB A4 66 8B 00 00 00 00 00 00  <- end of original SAP segment
                            ^^^^^ ^^^^^
00074FF0  00 00 00 00 00 00 AB A4 9B AD 00 00 00 00 00 00  <- end of modified SAP segment
                            ^^^^^ ^^^^^
                SAP checksum ??     CRC for SAP segment

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 16th, 2017, 3:56 
Offline

Joined: March 28th, 2011, 17:45
Posts: 433
Location: italy
i detail better:

1) the drive spin up normally with original head map

2) any kind of modification in rom in patient but also in DONOR (same model,fw,date,P/N) make them NOT SPIN
and terminal like this:
"Boot 0x40M"

3) there is no calc of CRC in SAP pop-up , i think the CRC it is auto calculated from utility.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 16th, 2017, 4:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9787
Location: Australia
AISI, the SAP segment consists of two parts, each part with its own 16-bit checksum (?). There is a 16-bit CRC at the very end, making for 3 checksums in total.

8-byte header for SAP part #1

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

00000000  42 00 70 00 00 D4 01 00
                ^^^^^ size = 0x70 x 0x40 = 0x1C00 bytes

0x1C00 data bytes for SAP part #1, including 16-bit checksum at end

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

00000000                          14 2B 01 05 00 D4 01 00
00000010  00 1C 00 00 00 D4 01 00 36 7B D2 94 00 00 00 00
          ^^^^^^^^^^ size = 0x1C00 bytes
........
00001BF0  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00001C00  00 00 00 00 00 00 7C 99
                            ^^^^^ checksum

8-byte header for SAP part #2

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

00001C00                          80 A0 CF 00 00 20 00 40
                                        ^^^^^ size = 0xCF x 0x40 = 0x33C0 bytes

0x33E8 data bytes for SAP part #2, including 16-bit checksum at end

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

00001C10  00 00 01 05 00 20 00 40 E8 33 00 00 00 20 00 40
                                  ^^^^^^^^^^^ size = 0x33C0 bytes

00001C20  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00
........
00004FE0  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00004FF0  00 00 00 00 00 00 AB A4
                            ^^^^^ checksum

8-byte CRC-16

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

00004FF0                          66 8B 00 00 00 00 00 00
                                  ^^^^^ 16-bit CRC

If I sum the 16-bit data words of SAP part #1, I get 0x0000. However, if I do the same for SAP part #2, I get a non-zero result. This is for the original SAP.

I don't know why the second checksum doesn't add up, but ISTM that the no-spin problem might be solved by recalculating the part #1 checksum at offset 0x71C06, and then recalculating the 16-bit CRC for the entire SAP segment.

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

00071C00  00 00 00 00 00 00 7C 99 80 A0 CF 00 00 20 00 40

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 16th, 2017, 4:32 
Offline

Joined: March 28th, 2011, 17:45
Posts: 433
Location: italy
if you can make an image corrected i can try in real and give feedback


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 16th, 2017, 4:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9787
Location: Australia
I would try changing the checksum word from 0x997C to 0xF97C:

    00071C00 00 00 00 00 00 00 7C F9 80 A0 CF 00 00 20 00 40

Then recalculate the overall SAP CRC, if necessary.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 16th, 2017, 5:09 
Offline

Joined: March 28th, 2011, 17:45
Posts: 433
Location: italy
i have tryed another donor - same FW (CC27) and same issue.
i think it is a fw incompatibility and ace didn't even know about it..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 16th, 2017, 5:37 
Offline

Joined: March 28th, 2011, 17:45
Posts: 433
Location: italy
ok - case solved
used at the end grenada utility instead of F3 general utility and the crc is correct auto and it works.
hope can help other people

very good fzabkar to notice the crc issue!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 16th, 2017, 11:20 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2376
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
positivebit wrote:
ok - case solved
used at the end grenada utility instead of F3 general utility and the crc is correct auto and it works.
hope can help other people

very good fzabkar to notice the crc issue!


+1 ,
No One Can Beat Frank in ROM Analysis .Also Frank That Seagate Case You Once Helped Me Worked But Then It Had Further Firmware Issues And i Returned It ,Too Much Firmware Tempering Was Done In That Drive .

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon
CDRLabs Data Recovery - [ Chandigarh ,India ]
My Data Recovery Experiments - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 27th, 2017, 2:59 
Offline

Joined: April 16th, 2008, 4:50
Posts: 253
Quote:
ok - case solved
used at the end grenada utility instead of F3 general utility and the crc is correct auto and it works.
hope can help other people


+1 You need to select proper family. Else ROM mod does not work properly. Even i have struggled ones with same issue :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 27th, 2017, 7:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: July 12th, 2010, 4:38
Posts: 1031
Location: Portugal
Got a similar problem on a Bacall drive.
After changing headmap, it stopped spinning.
Ace team checked it and told me that it's a specific ROM situation and still no solution...

_________________
http://www.facebook.com/PCLAB.Assistencia.Tecnica
ACELab partner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 27th, 2017, 11:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2376
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Well,
Are you guys aware that even the common f3 utility should function properly .I recently encountered a situation that acelab ver 6.3.16 was reading 512kb roms as 1024k .To this acelab points to me in their forums that in the common utility its fixed these days to 1024 size and if i need tool to autoetect it i should set to 0x0000000 ,This is Wrong totally ,It should auto detect the rom to proper size and the if the user wants he should be able to select a size .Very wrong approach ,What sense does it make that a function is working in specific utility and not in common utility .We should all email acelab and tell them that they should fix this in the common utility

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon
CDRLabs Data Recovery - [ Chandigarh ,India ]
My Data Recovery Experiments - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 27th, 2017, 11:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 6th, 2010, 3:46
Posts: 277
Location: Kolding | Denmark
+1 just select the right family or set auto or specific size in F3 common.

_________________
Digitalsupport Data Recovery
https://digitalsupport.dk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 27th, 2017, 11:57 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2376
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
digisupport wrote:
+1 just select the right family or set auto or specific size in F3 common.


Well,
Utility should be able to figure this out ,Even lousy softwares do ,this is PC 3000 we are talking about

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon
CDRLabs Data Recovery - [ Chandigarh ,India ]
My Data Recovery Experiments - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: funny issue on Seagate F3: once i modify HM , drive not
PostPosted: November 27th, 2017, 15:31 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9787
Location: Australia
pclab wrote:
Got a similar problem on a Bacall drive.
After changing headmap, it stopped spinning.
Ace team checked it and told me that it's a specific ROM situation and still no solution...

That's what they told positivebit, but they were wrong. Perhaps you should upload your before-and-after ROM images and let others examine them.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], michael chiklis and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group