All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 19th, 2018, 15:13 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2017, 15:42
Posts: 60
Location: Sweden
Hi!
I have this M.2 drive from Kingston that is not showing any sign of life..
Could someone please help showing me where to do some measurements, trying to troubleshoot what’s wrong.

Thanks


Attachments:
6767D6F1-12CB-427C-AE46-9C7A4D392961.jpeg
6767D6F1-12CB-427C-AE46-9C7A4D392961.jpeg [ 1.65 MiB | Viewed 2527 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 19th, 2018, 16:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10586
Location: Australia
Check the zero-ohm resistor and TVS diode. Then measure voltages V1, V2, and Vnand.

RT8010GQW, Richtek, 1.5MHz, 1A, High Efficiency PWM Step-Down DC/DC Converter, 2.5V to 5.5V input, marking ET, adjustable:
http://www.richtek.com/assets/product_file/RT8010=RT8010A/DS8010A-10.pdf


Attachments:
Vnand.jpg
Vnand.jpg [ 59.72 KiB | Viewed 2513 times ]
Vcore_Vio.jpg
Vcore_Vio.jpg [ 258.63 KiB | Viewed 2513 times ]
TVS.jpg
TVS.jpg [ 117 KiB | Viewed 2513 times ]

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 21st, 2018, 8:38 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2017, 15:42
Posts: 60
Location: Sweden
Many thanks @fzabkar !
I will check this tonight and see what I can find.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 21st, 2018, 16:17 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2017, 15:42
Posts: 60
Location: Sweden
fzabkar wrote:
Check the zero-ohm resistor and TVS diode. Then measure voltages V1, V2, and Vnand.

RT8010GQW, Richtek, 1.5MHz, 1A, High Efficiency PWM Step-Down DC/DC Converter, 2.5V to 5.5V input, marking ET, adjustable:
http://www.richtek.com/assets/product_file/RT8010=RT8010A/DS8010A-10.pdf


The TVS diod shows 0.85Vdc (+ to -) and 0.38Vdc (- to +), thats not right, is it?
All the other voltages is 0.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 21st, 2018, 16:41 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2017, 15:42
Posts: 60
Location: Sweden
I’m a bit suppressed to se the writing “AC” on it tough, what could that mean?


Attachments:
704498F5-718C-47C3-87FD-E4291944C790.jpeg
704498F5-718C-47C3-87FD-E4291944C790.jpeg [ 58.05 KiB | Viewed 2385 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 21st, 2018, 16:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10586
Location: Australia
What voltage do you measure on each side of the zero-ohm resistor? Which point are you using as your ground reference?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 21st, 2018, 16:55 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10586
Location: Australia
Two possible candidates with different specs ???

TUSD05FB, SPSEMI, TVS diode, 5V, 350W, marking AC, SOD-323:
http://www.spsemi.cn/Upload/pdf/esd/tusd03fb-tusd24fb.pdf

UCD32C03L01, BrightKing, TVS diode, 3.3V, 220W, marking AC, SOD-323:
http://www.brightking.com/uploadfiles/file/ESD/u/2017100918551555154200.pdf

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 22nd, 2018, 3:05 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2017, 15:42
Posts: 60
Location: Sweden
fzabkar wrote:
What voltage do you measure on each side of the zero-ohm resistor? Which point are you using as your ground reference?


Each side is showing 3.3Vdc.
I used pin 3 as GND measuring voltages.

When I measured the diod, I used both sides on the TVS and the diod function on the Fluke DMM.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 22nd, 2018, 3:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10586
Location: Australia
The TVS diode is OK. I would now check the Enable pins of each converter IC.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 22nd, 2018, 3:52 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2017, 15:42
Posts: 60
Location: Sweden
fzabkar wrote:
The TVS diode is OK. I would now check the Enable pins of each converter IC.


They are all 0Vdc.
I measure middle pin on both sides, GND and EN


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 22nd, 2018, 4:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10586
Location: Australia
Something is keeping all 3 regulators switched off. Can you identify the markings on the smaller ICs/transistors/supervisors?


Attachments:
RT8010_pinout.gif
RT8010_pinout.gif [ 5.16 KiB | Viewed 2293 times ]
RT8010_pin_description.gif
RT8010_pin_description.gif [ 32.16 KiB | Viewed 2293 times ]
ICs_2.jpg
ICs_2.jpg [ 76.89 KiB | Viewed 2293 times ]
ICs_1.jpg
ICs_1.jpg [ 177.29 KiB | Viewed 2293 times ]

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 22nd, 2018, 4:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10586
Location: Australia
IC "F" looks like a uP reset IC. If so, then its Reset pin should be high.

MAX6328_R29-T, Maxim, 3.3V supply monitor, 2.9V threshold, marking ACV, SC70:
https://datasheets.maximintegrated.com/ ... AX6405.pdf
http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/76835.pdf

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 22nd, 2018, 5:17 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10586
Location: Australia
Sorry, this is the wrong datasheet:
https://datasheets.maximintegrated.com/ ... AX6405.pdf

This one is correct, though:
http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/76835.pdf

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 22nd, 2018, 10:46 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2017, 15:42
Posts: 60
Location: Sweden
fzabkar wrote:
Something is keeping all 3 regulators switched off. Can you identify the markings on the smaller ICs/transistors/supervisors?


Here are some better pictures with the marking on.


Attachments:
IMG_8293.PNG
IMG_8293.PNG [ 1.49 MiB | Viewed 2248 times ]
File comment: AC-V
IMG_8292.PNG
IMG_8292.PNG [ 1.51 MiB | Viewed 2248 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 22nd, 2018, 10:53 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2017, 15:42
Posts: 60
Location: Sweden
fzabkar wrote:
IC "F" looks like a uP reset IC. If so, then its Reset pin should be high.

MAX6328_R29-T, Maxim, 3.3V supply monitor, 2.9V threshold, marking ACV, SC70:
https://datasheets.maximintegrated.com/ ... AX6405.pdf
http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/76835.pdf


It is a reset IC, found it in the farnell pdf as "AVC".
Between pin 1 and 2 there is 0V.
Pin 1 and 3 = 0.69V


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 22nd, 2018, 17:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10586
Location: Australia
I can't identify the VLAN or T3m0J parts, but the others could be ...

SN74LVC1G02, Single 2-Input Positive-NOR Gate, marking CB5, 5-pin, SC70:
http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/sn74lvc1g02.pdf

SN74LVC1G11, Single 3-Input Positive-AND Gate, marking C35, 6-pin: (wrong package?)
http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/sn74lvc1g11.pdf

Your measurements for the ACV part would suggest that I may have incorrectly identified it. Otherwise it is not receiving 3.3V Vcc, which seems strange. In fact, I'm not even sure that the marking is "ACV" (the "A" doesn't look like an "A").

I would try to find the IC which is driving the Enable pins of the regulators, then work backwards from there. Just test for continuity between Enable and each of the ICs.


Attachments:
MAX6328_pinout.gif
MAX6328_pinout.gif [ 10.44 KiB | Viewed 2201 times ]

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 22nd, 2018, 22:47 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 3130
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Sometimes you can find images of the drive online, and look at what is in the same place as the "AC-V" part. Sometimes they substitute it with a different number and you can ID that one and at least know its function. If it is a critical part of analysis here..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 23rd, 2018, 15:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10586
Location: Australia
HaQue wrote:
Sometimes you can find images of the drive online, and look at what is in the same place as the "AC-V" part. Sometimes they substitute it with a different number and you can ID that one and at least know its function.

Good idea. Unfortunately I could find only one site with hi-res images.

http://www.ocfreaks.com/kingston-m-2-sata-sm2280s3-120gb-ssd-review/
http://i.imgur.com/JNlzEBY.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/VInsdcP.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/JNlzEBY.jpg

The other PCB uses the same "AC-V" part. :-(

The OP's "T3m0J" part is equivalent to "T3n0M", so it would appear that "T3" is the device code and the remaining characters are probably batch or date codes.

The "VLAN" part is equivalent to "f4R".

Unfortunately I can't identify the alternative parts, either. :-(

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 23rd, 2018, 16:34 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10586
Location: Australia
I should add that the TVS diode's rating is 5V (marking = 5C).

ESDA05CT, Congshuo Electronic Technology, TVS diode, bidirectional, 5V, 100W, marking 5C, SOD-523:
http://cssemi.cn/upfile/201601/2016010660039309.pdf

AQ4021-01FTG-C, Littelfuse, Congshuo Electronic Technology, TVS diode, bidirectional, 5V, 500W, marking 5C, SOD-323:
http://www.littelfuse.com/~/media/electronics/datasheets/tvs_diode_arrays/littelfuse_tvs_diode_array_aq4021_datasheet.pdf.pdf

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dead Kingston M.2
PostPosted: January 23rd, 2018, 16:41 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2017, 15:42
Posts: 60
Location: Sweden
Thanks allot for all your inputs!

I've done some measurements. The 0,69V, could that be valid or is something pulling it down?


Attachments:
IMG_8292.PNG
IMG_8292.PNG [ 1.54 MiB | Viewed 2093 times ]
Image-1 (1).jpg
Image-1 (1).jpg [ 339.94 KiB | Viewed 2093 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sourcerer and 41 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group