All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Seagate ST380811AS doesn't show up over ATA
PostPosted: January 27th, 2018, 22:10 
Offline

Joined: January 5th, 2018, 23:25
Posts: 1
Location: bossier city usa
Im not 100% on what happened here, so i'll just lay it out.

This 7200.9 was used in a contest to see who could recover data from a drive that was zero'd and had badblocks run on it. Safe to say, nothing was recovered. There was an attempt made to dump the individual sectors over the serial UART for analysis and in doing so it disappeared from the ATA bus. Im out of my league to be honest here, it's not a Linux/Unix or VxWorks powered embedded machine. So far ive cleared SMART, cleared the glist. and that's as far as i got. still doesn't show up. Here is the output of the, eh, POST(?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST380811AS doesn't show up over ATA
PostPosted: January 28th, 2018, 6:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2538
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Wow ,
Data Recovery From a ZERO Filled Drive .So If Data Does Not Come out Of SATA/IDE Ports We Will Sniff It Out From Serial Port Lol Seriously .Man Is This a Joke

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST380811AS doesn't show up over ATA
PostPosted: January 28th, 2018, 8:35 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
Well if it is a 80GB drive, old, and used in a contest to prove or disprove something, where a couple of people will have done many things to the drive, it is hard to know what may have happened to it.

You could maybe try to "rebuild" it, running some kind of selfscan and restoring the backup of SA that you surely made before the testing.

Other than that, just bin the drive and get another one to continue with the experiences, this size of drives is cheap in ebay/craigslist.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate ST380811AS doesn't show up over ATA
PostPosted: January 28th, 2018, 9:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9873
Location: Portugal
Plug the drive to the TTL adaptor and post the log !

Most lilkely "something" was deleted from the SA tracks like the ATA overlay.

On those ST-10 drives it should still be possible to "fix" the damage (with expensive firmware tools) as long as the heads, pre-amp and platter surface are still in a good condition ....

How did you clear S.M.A.R.T. and G-List ? By terminal commands ? What commands did you use ? Hopefully commands for ST-10 instead of F3 ARCH. N commands will start Self-Scan on those and will erase firmware on the drive as well ... If you use N2 and CTRL+T and you stop the test while it's clearing SA you will be in for pain !!!

Does the drive clicks or makes any abnormal sound ? If you are lucky to be just SA related it can still be fixed but most likely not by you ....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Abdul Rauf, Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], gps31 and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group