All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WD WD30EZRZ 3TB cannot access files
PostPosted: February 9th, 2018, 16:44 
Offline

Joined: January 7th, 2017, 2:25
Posts: 35
Location: Ireland
WD30EZRZ-00Z5HB0

I have this drive that was used for storage for a Mac. Now it doesn't see it.

Seems to be it would only be recognized under Windows if I use an external bay with 12v. The internal 5V wouldn't do.

Been able to access it on Windows and shows up only in disc management (as this is HFS+), it took me 2 attempts.

I suspect this must be something firmware related?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD WD30EZRZ 3TB cannot access files
PostPosted: February 9th, 2018, 16:53 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
If the model number is correct, this would be an internal 3.5" sata drive, so 12V required. In what kind of computer are you connecting it ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD WD30EZRZ 3TB cannot access files
PostPosted: February 9th, 2018, 16:55 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10596
Location: Australia
Windows can't mount HFS+ volumes natively. You need something like HFSExplorer or MacDrive.

http://www.catacombae.org/hfsexplorer/

If the file system is damaged, you can use DMDE to examine it. Let us know if you get to this point.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD WD30EZRZ 3TB cannot access files
PostPosted: February 9th, 2018, 18:58 
Offline

Joined: January 7th, 2017, 2:25
Posts: 35
Location: Ireland
rogfanther wrote:
If the model number is correct, this would be an internal 3.5" sata drive, so 12V required. In what kind of computer are you connecting it ?

Sorry I am thinking as if the system is a laptop (5V), my bad. It is a desktop, yes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD WD30EZRZ 3TB cannot access files
PostPosted: February 9th, 2018, 18:59 
Offline

Joined: January 7th, 2017, 2:25
Posts: 35
Location: Ireland
fzabkar wrote:
Windows can't mount HFS+ volumes natively. You need something like HFSExplorer or MacDrive.

http://www.catacombae.org/hfsexplorer/

If the file system is damaged, you can use DMDE to examine it. Let us know if you get to this point.


I have used Transmac but it does not recognize it as a native volume. Will try DMDE and let you know, thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD WD30EZRZ 3TB cannot access files
PostPosted: February 9th, 2018, 19:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10596
Location: Australia
Please show us the Partitions window in DMDE. If you see an HFS volume, r-click it and select Open. Then expand the Root. Do you see your file/folder structure?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD WD30EZRZ 3TB cannot access files
PostPosted: February 10th, 2018, 8:08 
Offline

Joined: January 7th, 2017, 2:25
Posts: 35
Location: Ireland
fzabkar wrote:
Please show us the Partitions window in DMDE. If you see an HFS volume, r-click it and select Open. Then expand the Root. Do you see your file/folder structure?


There you go!

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD WD30EZRZ 3TB cannot access files
PostPosted: February 10th, 2018, 16:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10596
Location: Australia
This is what a good HFS+ file system looks like:

http://forum.hddguru.com/download/file.php?id=15256&mode=view

Note the "F" in the Indicators column. The absence of an "F" in your case would suggest that some critical component of the file system is damaged.

Click Full Scan (or go to Tools -> Full Scan) and deselect all checkboxes except HFS.

Have you tried double-clicking $Volume02 and expanding the Root?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD WD30EZRZ 3TB cannot access files
PostPosted: February 12th, 2018, 6:20 
Offline

Joined: January 7th, 2017, 2:25
Posts: 35
Location: Ireland
fzabkar wrote:
This is what a good HFS+ file system looks like:

http://forum.hddguru.com/download/file.php?id=15256&mode=view

Note the "F" in the Indicators column. The absence of an "F" in your case would suggest that some critical component of the file system is damaged.

Click Full Scan (or go to Tools -> Full Scan) and deselect all checkboxes except HFS.

Have you tried double-clicking $Volume02 and expanding the Root?


Image

This is what I get after a full scan. I quite don't understand why it says 3 HFS partitions with two of them being bigger than 3tb (deleted files?)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group