All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Accidentally cloned HDD
PostPosted: February 16th, 2018, 4:18 
Offline

Joined: February 16th, 2018, 4:07
Posts: 3
Location: Romania
Hi everyone.
A couple of days ago accidentally i cloned the wrong HDD using Acronis and for days now i m running different data recovery software's without any success, the only i can get it is the OP. My lost data it is around 180 GB. The HDD it is WDC320. I m listening for any ideas or suggestions that i can try, any help it is welcomed.
Thank u.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Accidentally cloned HDD
PostPosted: February 16th, 2018, 17:13 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
Well, first describe the size of the hdd you cloned from. Depending on the size of it, it could have overwritten all of the problem hdd.
Also, what software have you tried ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Accidentally cloned HDD
PostPosted: February 17th, 2018, 1:13 
Offline

Joined: February 16th, 2018, 4:07
Posts: 3
Location: Romania
Size of the HDD that was cloned from it is also 320.
That s a short list of software i used:
Wondershare
Spotmau
EasyRecov6
Restorer Ultimate Orig
GeeksnerdsDataRecoveryFull
Runtime Software Data Recovery Drive
Stellar Data Recovery
...and some others, but i have the feeling that yes the Hdd was indeed overwritten all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Accidentally cloned HDD
PostPosted: February 17th, 2018, 7:45 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
Depending on the amount of data in the source hdd, most of the data in the affected hdd would be overwritten.
Have you tried R-Studio ? Probably, at this point, you can only get some files with file carving, and not the original folder structure and file names.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Accidentally cloned HDD
PostPosted: February 17th, 2018, 8:24 
Offline

Joined: May 21st, 2007, 16:10
Posts: 1507
Location: Gothenburg/ Sweden
If you cloned a 320 to a 320...there is nothing left...sorry to say.

_________________
Rescue IT Datarecovery service Sweden
Rescue IT Dataräddning Göteborg AB
http://www.rescue-it.se


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Accidentally cloned HDD
PostPosted: February 17th, 2018, 10:58 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
mr_spokk wrote:
If you cloned a 320 to a 320...there is nothing left...sorry to say.


Agree.

Unless you did use some sort of option to copy just the coupied sectors of the origin to the destination. On that case some sectors on the destination would still remain intact containing the original data.

If you did a full sector by sector "clone" now all of the sectors on the WDC320 will be exactly the same as the ones on the "clone" and you will not be able to recover any "old" data out of that drive the same way you can't recover that data on the "clone". After all both drives now are exactly the same !!!

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Accidentally cloned HDD
PostPosted: February 17th, 2018, 11:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: October 21st, 2014, 1:39
Posts: 84
Location: Ellijay, GA
In older versions I used the default for Acronis is copy used sectors only to increase speed. If you wanted a true sector-by-sector clone you would have to select the "back up sector-by-sector" checkbox. For command line operations you would have to specify /raw.

_________________
Blizzard Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Accidentally cloned HDD
PostPosted: February 17th, 2018, 12:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
Blizzard wrote:
In older versions I used the default for Acronis is copy used sectors only to increase speed. If you wanted a true sector-by-sector clone you would have to select the "back up sector-by-sector" checkbox. For command line operations you would have to specify /raw.


If that is the case there should still be some original data on the drive. A full scan with that Restorer Ultimate should provide some results in "raw" mode. You will not be able to get files and folder structure but you might still be able to "carve" out a small number of files by their sugnature assuming Acronis didn't fill them with something like zeros or data from the original drive ....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Accidentally cloned HDD
PostPosted: February 17th, 2018, 14:01 
Offline

Joined: February 16th, 2018, 4:07
Posts: 3
Location: Romania
...anyway without luck...but thanks for advise for all of you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group