All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 12:09 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2303
Location: Kuwait
Hello guys..

Anyone tried to use Seagate ROM for WD as an example example?

Or vise versa?

:wink:
thank you

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 12:11 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2011, 0:19
Posts: 1779
Location: Providence, RI
Why?

Other than to brick a PCB what could you hope to accomplish?

_________________
Hard Drive & RAID Data Recovery Services
https://www.data-medics.com/raid-data-recovery/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 12:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2303
Location: Kuwait
data-medics wrote:
Why?

Other than to brick a PCB what could you hope to accomplish?


Writing WD ROM file to Seagate ROM chip will kill the pcb?

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 12:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
I think the confusion is more in your original question. So, you are asking if anyone every tried to use the ROM chip from a Western Digital PCB on a Seagate PCB with the Seagate ROM written to it.

I can't see why it wouldn't work, assuming the voltages and capacity of the ROMs are compatible.

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 12:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2303
Location: Kuwait
lcoughey wrote:
I think the confusion is more in your original question. So, you are asking if anyone every tried to use the ROM chip from a Western Digital PCB on a Seagate PCB with the Seagate ROM written to it.

I can't see why it wouldn't work, assuming the voltages and capacity of the ROMs are compatible.


I Guess you are right here, it is more clear when i highlighted it in colors the 2nd. time...

Now Why asking this Q.

Am focusing more in 1MB ROM such asin 2.5" M9T , Kahuna_5400, Roosewood 8C....... you should know the rest in 3.5"

I got a case where 1MB WD rom is damaged, means by damaged is 100% (not readable even by the programmer) and wanted to use Compatible ROM chip for it from my DB (as a rom fw)

Got my point here?

:wink:

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 13:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 29th, 2005, 12:02
Posts: 3184
Location: Chicago
yes, but it depends on particular FW
If both chips are 1.5V I see no problems

_________________
https://www.linkedin.com/in/artemrubtsov/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 16:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10406
Location: Australia
There is no such thing as a Seagate ROM chip or a WD ROM chip. Neither company makes "ROMs". At the very least, look up the respective datasheets. Then compare the supply voltages by measuring the appropriate points on the respective PCBs. Also, I suspect that the actual supply voltage may be 1.8V rather than 1.5V, but ICBW.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 17:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9173
Location: Portugal
Sorry, I don't want to be rude but it's hilarious (and very sad at the same time) that an expert of this calibre that claims this - viewtopic.php?f=25&t=34691 to be posting a question like the one posted on this thread....

How were you able to "crack" the android devices and all of that stuff that you claim to be able to do when you don't even know what a ROM chip is ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 17:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 5th, 2004, 20:06
Posts: 2786
Location: England
You could just do away with them and create your own emulator; it’s not exactly rocket science.

_________________
All went well until I plugged the drive in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 18:44 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 618
Location: Brazil
If possible and you can get same part number, better.

Bootloaders can be finnicky sometimes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 19:07 
Offline

Joined: October 4th, 2007, 12:07
Posts: 104
FW might be checking unique id from ROM ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 19:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9173
Location: Portugal
R U guys really on the data recovery field ?!

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Quote:
FW might be checking unique id from ROM ?


If so you wouldn't be able to use PC-3000 or whatever to write ROM code from one PCB to the other so unless you were to have a physical ROM chip to swap you would be in trouble and that is not the case as people move ROM code from PCB to donor PCB and even rebuild ROM on some drives.

On WD drives some whith embeded code on MCU can be switched to read from exernal ROM chip by applying 2 resistors on PCB ..... If ROM code were to be checking chip ID ..... you get the picture ....


:shock: :shock: :shock:

The more i read this thread the more i think you guys don't have a clue about HDDs at all. If you guys couldn't use your PC-3000 units you wouldn't be able to recover a single drive even if the problem were to be a very simple one.

For example how many of you would be able to remove the ATA password on a Toshiba drive without PC-3000 and using ATA terminal only ?

:D :D :D

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 19:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2011, 0:19
Posts: 1779
Location: Providence, RI
einstein9 wrote:
data-medics wrote:
Why?

Other than to brick a PCB what could you hope to accomplish?


Writing WD ROM file to Seagate ROM chip will kill the pcb?


I guess I misunderstood what you were saying. I was thinking you were referring to writing the ROM code of a WD drive onto a Seagate PCB or vice versa.

I can't see why the physical ROM chip used would make any difference as long as it matches the relevant specs.

_________________
Hard Drive & RAID Data Recovery Services
https://www.data-medics.com/raid-data-recovery/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 8th, 2018, 20:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9173
Location: Portugal
:iknow:

Many years ago people didn't had $30 USD to buy external programmers so they would use Seagate PCBs as programmers because they could use TTL to write ROM code to the chips.

Seagate PCBs are very cool - ST-10 - of course (for dumb people i'm talking about 7200.10 and older) because one could plug the PCB only directly to TTL and still write to ROM ! One could mess up ROM completly and one would just short ROM pins to make the PCB to read from internal flash rom on MCU and from there write to ROM chips so people decided to use those as programmer units.

There was even people reading/writting ROMs from other drives for example Seagate U-Series flash ROMs on Toshiba PCBs and there are even TOOLS that would convert the format of the ROM readed/written with one PCB to the other format :

http://files.hddguru.com/download/Software/Seagate/

FlashConverter.rar

Converts Seagate U-series flash readed-written on Fujitsu pcb (Andrey A. Kireev)

So yes, as long as the chip have the same specs you should be ok. You should even be ok on some drives even if the chip is bigger in capacity, like on WD drives i was able to write smaller ROM images on bigger ROM chips without any major issue.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 9th, 2018, 1:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 3100
Location: Adelaide, Australia
In my opinion question would be better with specific part numbers included, not so general. Otherwise answer is simple: "it depends"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 9th, 2018, 5:07 
Offline

Joined: October 4th, 2007, 12:07
Posts: 104
The question from the OP is unclear for me. I am talking about the manufacturer ID for the ROM-chip.

Excerpt from datasheet for M25P40:

Read Identification (RDID) data-out sequence

The Read Identification (RDID) instruction allows to read the device identification data:
- Manufacturer identification (1 byte)
- Device identification (2 bytes)

A Unique ID code (UID) (17 bytes, of which 16 available upon customer request). (2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 9th, 2018, 5:34 
Offline

Joined: October 4th, 2007, 12:07
Posts: 104
WD PCB with 512K ROM. Patient ROM is 256K.

PC3000 WD utility won’t write 256K ROM to donor board w 512K ROM thru SATA. You need to do it via boot ROM (thru com port). The MID and size is checked and if OK, clear to go.

Again, it's unclear for me what the OP is trying. But of course, you can use any vendors ROM that meets the specifications.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 9th, 2018, 6:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10406
Location: Australia
See this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=29113

The OP received a 7200.11 patient with an Atmel AT25F4096 4Mbit SPI Serial Flash Memory (which had been replaced by another DR company). The drive wouldn't spin with this ROM.

He then physically transferred the Atmel IC to a donor PCB (whose original ROM was an ST M25P40VP), but the patient HDD did not spin with this combination either.

However, after copying the Atmel ROM contents to the ST M25P40VP IC on a donor PCB, the drive did spin up. The OP concluded that the 7200.11 PCB was somehow incompatible with the Atmel ROM.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 9th, 2018, 10:39 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 618
Location: Brazil
Depending on the bootloader, it can be compiled with support for some specific flash IDs. Then, when it doesn´t recognize the id, it will error out somehow.

As always, depends on many things. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone tried this?
PostPosted: March 10th, 2018, 4:05 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2303
Location: Kuwait
Hello guys again,,,

seems this subject is interesting for so many...
i`ll start from the begining here

@ Spildit, My Android tool or even my 3k experience has nothing to do with this my dear, its just a Question based on a case fact here, i tried it but did not work (with one sample) but seems i know now why didn`t work (based on my testing it here).

@ guru I didn`t get ur point here

@ rogfanther & Arthur, you are probably right here (it can be compiled with support for some specific flash IDs)

@ HaQue, sometimes we don`t have stock of avail. part #`s, thats why i asked in general

@ fzabkar a very good example here,,,, Thnx

Now FYI guys in general, Samsung drives will not accept any ROM chip other than some specific models, if you do try you will see drive stays in BZ and will never spin.
for Samsung i got it... but not yet for WD & Seagate.

sorry if i forgot to reply to any of you here...

have a good day

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 36 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group