All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Questions about 5400 rpm drives and mirroring
PostPosted: March 30th, 2018, 17:51 

I want to stream video files to my TV. I'm going to use 3 drives in 1 or more external enclosures.

1) Since I'm not running software on the drives, I don't need 7200 rpm drives. I could use 5400 rpm drives, right? They won't have any trouble streaming the files, right?

2) I was thinking of WD Blue drives. What about 3 of those?

3) I've never used mirror before. If I have 3 drives, I can mirror 1 drive to the other 2, giving me 3 identical drives. Is that right?

Thanks for any info.

Post subject: Re: Questions about 5400 rpm drives and mirroring
PostPosted: April 1st, 2018, 23:14 

Quote:
1) Since I'm not running software on the drives, I don't need 7200 rpm drives. I could use 5400 rpm drives, right? They won't have any trouble streaming the files, right?

The transfer speed of a HDD is influenced by the platter density more than the spindle speed, and most recent 5400 RPM models with a capacity higher than 1TB can reach 100MB/s easily, which should be more than enough for your purposes, unless you want to stream raw uncompressed footage...

Quote:
2) I was thinking of WD Blue drives. What about 3 of those?

DR pros around here are heavily biased against Seagate, and tend to favor HGST drives. WD seems to be somewhere in the middle, reliability wise. “Blue” used to designate the regular desktop drives, with a spindle speed of 7200 RPM (I've had two WD “Blue” in 640GB, bought in 2009, one failed last summer, the other one is still perfectly operational), apparently they completely changed their branding, so I could say nothing specific about current “Blue” drives.

Quote:
3) I've never used mirror before. If I have 3 drives, I can mirror 1 drive to the other 2, giving me 3 identical drives. Is that right?