All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Seagate 160GB ST3160815AS SATA drives need unlocking
PostPosted: March 31st, 2018, 15:00 
Offline

Joined: March 31st, 2018, 14:47
Posts: 5
Location: United States
seagate.com said that there was no firmware update available. I just need to clear the ATA password on these. I don't care about the data. If I could find the password for one it would probably unlock the others. Is it worth it? Otherwise I'll put them on a shelf and maybe in the future things will change. They have around 45000 hours which is probably fairly high for a desktop drive. Is it worth messing with this? I might have 15 of them that are locked. I don't know yet.

On seagateunlock.com I read about HDD unlock wizard but it says that the service has been shut down.

ST3160815AS
P/N: 9CY132-021
Firmware: 3.CHH
Date code: 09305 Site code: TK

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate 160GB ST3160815AS SATA drives need unlocking
PostPosted: April 1st, 2018, 13:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9663
Location: Portugal
Updating the firmware will NOT remove the ATA password ....

ST3160815AS is a 7200.10 drive so it's ST-10.

You can try ZU but i don't know if the VSCs used by ZU are supported by your drive. ZU sends a Vendor Specific Command that will read/dump the password (by ATA !!!) and then it will use the standard ATA commands to disable the password and remove it.

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=166

If that doesn't help (and most likely it will not work) you will need a TTL adaptor !

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=192

Connect it like this :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=193

Now you have several choices. You can use the manual method :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=25

You can try a ZOC script :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=874

Or you can use something like a SeDiv DEMO from here :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=84&t=31#p2075

(or the newer versions that i didn't test) - http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=84&t=2264

With that DEMO you can try to READ THE VENDOR TRACK and it will show you the PWD. Then you can remove the password using something like victoria for windows.

As alternative and if you do want to pay some $$$ instead of a do-it-yourself sollution you can PM me and use my unlocking service - http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=76

On that case you would have to ship the drives to Portugal - Europe.

All of this of course assuming that the "lock" is ATA password related and not something like encryption done with a 3rd party tool like TrueCrypt full disk encrytion, etc ... but as you stated that you don't need the data i assume we are talking abou a regular ATA password, correct ?

Also are the drives "locked" to a specific DVR or gaming device, etc ?

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=84&t=2264

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate 160GB ST3160815AS SATA drives need unlocking
PostPosted: April 4th, 2018, 16:30 
Offline

Joined: February 27th, 2018, 18:21
Posts: 5
Location: italy
Victoria 4.3 has a function for ata password removal user and master you can try :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate 160GB ST3160815AS SATA drives need unlocking
PostPosted: April 4th, 2018, 17:07 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9663
Location: Portugal
recuperodatiroma wrote:
Victoria 4.3 has a function for ata password removal user and master you can try :D


Assuming you know the password ...

:lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate 160GB ST3160815AS SATA drives need unlocking
PostPosted: September 21st, 2018, 12:13 
Offline

Joined: March 31st, 2018, 14:47
Posts: 5
Location: United States
Thanks for all the advice. I have finally made some progress with this, and I was waiting until I had done something to post again. I have a TTL serial adapter. I'm running the TTL side at 5V since I measured 5V out of one of the pins, so it must be 5V logic. Is the side of the 4 pin connector that is closest to the SATA connector RX (to TX) or TX (to RX)? I have seen diagrams both ways.

Either way I can't get it to work. With hardware flow control turned off, I can get a local echo in my terminal at any baud rate by connecting the TTL lines together. Maybe my TTL adapter is not made correctly? Do I need a pull up to 5V resistor on the TX connection (going to drive RX)? Right now it is open collector, but the drive seems to be putting its own 5V pull up on it.

Is the drive supposed to print anything during start up, even if I don't send any serial data to it? I've tried 9600 and 38400 but nothing happens. I kept pressing ctrl+z and ctrl+d but nothing was printed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate 160GB ST3160815AS SATA drives need unlocking
PostPosted: September 21st, 2018, 15:17 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10837
Location: Australia
NT51 wrote:
Is the drive supposed to print anything during start up, even if I don't send any serial data to it?

You should see something like this:

Code:
Reset
4096k x 16 DRAM
NHAWK - 1_Disk S-LE 11-14-07_16:30

Buzz HM SFI
!
(P)SATA Reset

The baud rate should be set to 9600bps:

https://forum.acelaboratory.com/download/file.php?id=160&sid=92ceaec3466e6c5c5b296f51870ecc1c&mode=view

As for the TTL voltage, I would have expected to see 3.3V rather than 5V, but ICBW.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate 160GB ST3160815AS SATA drives need unlocking
PostPosted: September 21st, 2018, 23:17 
Offline

Joined: March 31st, 2018, 14:47
Posts: 5
Location: United States
Thanks for your reply! I hooked the TTL side up to 3.3V and now it works fine. The drive Tx was always sending a low value to my Rx with it connected to 5V. For some reason the drive Rx has a 5V pull up which made me think it was 5V logic.

I'll experiment more later.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate 160GB ST3160815AS SATA drives need unlocking
PostPosted: September 24th, 2018, 20:51 
Offline

Joined: March 31st, 2018, 14:47
Posts: 5
Location: United States
Update: I followed the directions to read the password from the vendor track. The first part was "Seagate " just like in the example, and after that there were more letters which I assumed was the user password. Using mhdd unlock, I selected master password. I typed in Seagate with 25 spaces after it and it did not work. The next time I tried user password and I entered in the password that I got from the serial interface and it worked!

Is there some kind of feature to disable the master password that they used? Can the master password never be changed?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate 160GB ST3160815AS SATA drives need unlocking
PostPosted: September 24th, 2018, 21:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10837
Location: Australia
The master password can overrise the user password only under certain conditions. You need to consult the ATA standards documents for more information.

There are links to the various versions of the ATA standard at the following URL:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallel_ATA

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate 160GB ST3160815AS SATA drives need unlocking
PostPosted: October 1st, 2018, 19:07 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9663
Location: Portugal
NT51 wrote:
Is there some kind of feature to disable the master password that they used? Can the master password never be changed?


Easy way to change master password is to use something like Victoria for windows and chose option to "lock" drive with Master password you select. It will not lock (unless you specify user password) but it will set new master password.

This of course if you don't want to bother to learn how to do it manualy by ATA commands ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], hhhpppsss and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group