All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 25th, 2018, 19:45 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 432
Location: United States
Quote:
It's a little bit off topic but it shows how to check if a drive is locked by ATA password by reading the ID block retrieved with ec command.

I would just like to point out that the results of the identify device command from CrystalDiskInfo do not appear to be word flipped (little endian). They are strait up which is different then many other raw output formats. That is one reason I asked to make sure the ASCII View was checked, so that it could be seen that the results were not flipped. It can make a big difference in which bit you are looking at.

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 25th, 2018, 20:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
Ok, let's try this :

Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 62.09 KiB | Viewed 1235 times ]


This time with a WD Marvell ROYL drive :

Attachment:
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 119.3 KiB | Viewed 1235 times ]


Attachment:
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 127.07 KiB | Viewed 1235 times ]


:D :D :D

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 25th, 2018, 20:19 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
And in normal format :

Attachment:
4.jpg
4.jpg [ 167.21 KiB | Viewed 1235 times ]

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 25th, 2018, 20:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
I would say dump the drive ID with command EC and don't swap bytes just grab the standard output as in ATA standard then locate offset 100h on the dump and check the 2nd byte. If 00 then drive is unlocked and if 01 then drive is locked.

But i would bet that the drive is unlocked and the problem is elsewhere.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 25th, 2018, 21:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10614
Location: Australia
maximus wrote:
I would just like to point out that the results of the identify device command from CrystalDiskInfo do not appear to be word flipped (little endian). They are strait up which is different then many other raw output formats.

Some time ago I requested that the author display the data in a way that matches the format in the ATA standards documents. That's why the words are byte-swapped and the rows and columns are numbered in decimal.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 14:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
Let's make things easier ...

You have a BAD WD drive that you need to test. Forget about that CrystalDiskInfo and EC command.

Get Victoria For Windows - http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=36 - You will need this to attempt to scan your drive. If the drive is locked you will see something like this :

Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 138.27 KiB | Viewed 1191 times ]


Get WDMarvel DEMO - http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=146&t=2435 - You will need this to attempt to get your drive Modules and ROM copy. If the drive is locked you will see something like this :

Attachment:
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 99.46 KiB | Viewed 1191 times ]


No need to make things harder and you will need those tools anyway ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 14:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
And just for reference ...

Attachment:
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 51.37 KiB | Viewed 1189 times ]

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 17:53 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 432
Location: United States
Quote:
Let's make things easier ...

You have a BAD WD drive that you need to test. Forget about that CrystalDiskInfo and EC command.

The OP stated they were getting another computer around for all the testing. All I did was give a very simple way to provide us some data until then, and something that would only take a few minutes. Somehow that got blown up into a technical explanation, and then seemingly now deemed complicated.
:roll:

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 18:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
maximus wrote:
Quote:
Let's make things easier ...

You have a BAD WD drive that you need to test. Forget about that CrystalDiskInfo and EC command.

The OP stated they were getting another computer around for all the testing. All I did was give a very simple way to provide us some data until then, and something that would only take a few minutes. Somehow that got blown up into a technical explanation, and then seemingly now deemed complicated.
:roll:


Sorry ....

Let's wait for the OP to reply then !

:D :D :D

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 18:08 
Offline

Joined: April 22nd, 2018, 6:16
Posts: 8
Location: POLAND
I have put up a PC based on Inter Atom (WAFFER), small factor, and I connected Seagate disk with Windows XP, and faulty WD on second SATA interface.
Windows starts loading and throws bluescreen.
So I cannot run any diagnostic software on it.
I have to try on different mainboard and maybe different Windows.
The WD is however detected on other machine with Windows 7 but on USB interface, and tools don't see it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 18:11 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
But does windows load when the bad wd isn´t connected ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 18:12 
Offline

Joined: April 22nd, 2018, 6:16
Posts: 8
Location: POLAND
Sure, it works ok without the bad disk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 18:17 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
Get Victoria and WDMarvel demo installed on the computer.

Both can be made to re-scan for hard disks after they are loaded, so wait then for someone to instruct you about that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 18:20 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 432
Location: United States
maximus wrote:
Code:
it is valuable but not worth $800, and I got such price quote from professional recovery service.

Was the drive sent to this company for inspection and quote, or is this just a general quote price?

:?: :?: :?:
This question seems to be unanswered...

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 18:23 
Offline

Joined: April 22nd, 2018, 6:16
Posts: 8
Location: POLAND
I described them symptoms, and they gave me the price quote, no inspection.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 18:32 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
Create a bootable disk of MHDD from

http://files.hddguru.com/download/Software/ file mhdd32ver4.6iso.zip then see if it detects your disk.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 18:37 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
Falconetti_PL wrote:
I have put up a PC based on Inter Atom (WAFFER), small factor, and I connected Seagate disk with Windows XP, and faulty WD on second SATA interface.
Windows starts loading and throws bluescreen.
So I cannot run any diagnostic software on it.
I have to try on different mainboard and maybe different Windows.
The WD is however detected on other machine with Windows 7 but on USB interface, and tools don't see it.


Ok, instead of faulty WD plug another good drive on that same port and run your WINDOWS ! Make sure that you have set on BIOS IDE/Compatible mode on that same SATA port. Now with windows already running and Victoria / WDMarvel installed just remove the power/sata cable from the 2nd drive and plug the damaged drive there ! Run WDMarvel and scan the same SATA port where you did have the other working drive.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 18:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
You can do the same using Victoria and check PIO mode, detect the port where you have the bad drive plugged and see if you can ID the drive and scan it...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 26th, 2018, 21:26 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 432
Location: United States
Quote:
- electronics responds, at least disk geometry returns correct values
- Windows sees it as uninitialized
Quote:
The WD is however detected on other machine with Windows 7 but on USB interface, and tools don't see it.

So did windows report the proper drive size in disk management? Your original post indicated that the drive had the proper geometry, which I took to mean that it showed the proper drive size.

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Scorpio Blue not reading sectors
PostPosted: April 27th, 2018, 18:51 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 432
Location: United States
Spildit wrote:
I would vote for head damage or modules damage but if the drive picks up ok with correct geometry then i would vote for translator not loading because of damaged head.

There is one other possibility, IF the drive does identify correctly at least once when powered on. When the drive reads a bad spot, it could go into a device fault condition. This can happen when the OS tries to read data such as the MBR and partition data (you would be surprised the crazy sectors the OS can want to read when it detects a drive). Once in device fault, all reads will fail instantly, as likely will all commands, even the identify device command. The drive will not respond properly again until it is power cycled. This makes it possible for a drive to show up in the OS with the correct size, but then appear to be dead because it went into fault.

This condition can potentially be overcome when using a hardware imager that can perform resets based on a timeout. The resets can prevent going into fault. So if this ends up being the condition, it may still be possible to read data from the drive. I can do it with software :)

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], melvin and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group