All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AHCI not working on Intel DH67BL board, Need to 0 drives
PostPosted: May 4th, 2018, 21:26 
Offline

Joined: February 8th, 2013, 16:13
Posts: 2
Location: New York City
Hi all.

I got a new DH67BL board as my ancient AMD Athlon board died. I have been having an issue where MHDD only sees SATA drives (I tried many different drives) in PIO / IDE mode. This mode seems to be OK for scanning but the erase command does not work in this mode. I tried to use AHCI but MHDD does not see dives. Is this DH67BL board too new? Should I hunt down an older board? Or is there a particular board I should get that works better with MHDD? Or is there a better utility for scanning and zeroing our drives? These big 6TB drives take a long time to work with and any speed bit I can get I will take. I zero 1 or 2 drives a day and MHDD worked great for that in the past. I am running the newest MHDD and tried enabling primary SATA and same result MHDD does not see the drives.

Any info would be great!

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AHCI not working on Intel DH67BL board, Need to 0 drives
PostPosted: May 4th, 2018, 21:38 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
Can´t you use the maker´s utility ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AHCI not working on Intel DH67BL board, Need to 0 drives
PostPosted: May 4th, 2018, 22:26 
Offline

Joined: February 8th, 2013, 16:13
Posts: 2
Location: New York City
rogfanther wrote:
Can´t you use the maker´s utility ?


You mean the application from Seagate or Western Digital? I have found those are hit and miss, Most I have tried only work on their own brand of drive. As an example Hitachi's tool needs windows, something I want to avoid for less complexity. like is the drive having an issue or my Windows install.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AHCI not working on Intel DH67BL board, Need to 0 drives
PostPosted: May 4th, 2018, 22:30 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
Yes, they are specific for their brands, but that makes it two or three boot disks. No big deal.

Also, Hitachi has a tool that works in msdos also.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AHCI not working on Intel DH67BL board, Need to 0 drives
PostPosted: May 5th, 2018, 3:42 
Offline

Joined: January 8th, 2008, 5:21
Posts: 840
Location: uk
Hi. You could try using Victoria for Windows. Maybe version 4.47 which has been patched to allow use with larger disks. Its available on this site in the downloads\software folder.
You might have to use Windows 7 with compatibility mode.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 41 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group