All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 6:15 
Offline

Joined: April 8th, 2016, 6:10
Posts: 14
Location: SURAT, GUJARAT, INDIA.
Hello there,

I have Samsung HD320KJ Hard Disk. It has Spinning problem. When put on the system, after some time PCB and Hard Disk get Heating, but not spinning at all. i attach pcb diode reading. Please help me. It has valuable data in it.


Attachments:
20180508_151948.jpg
20180508_151948.jpg [ 3.13 MiB | Viewed 2205 times ]
1234.jpg
1234.jpg [ 571.76 KiB | Viewed 2205 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 10:07 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
By the sticker in it, was it from an HP system ? How did the problem started ? Could be something PUIS-related, but waif for some other people to comment on that.

The readings on the diodes near the ram chip doesn´t make much sense. Please, measure continuity in them, both ways, with the hdd disconnected from power.

Also, does the motor controller gets hot ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 10:33 
Offline

Joined: April 8th, 2016, 6:10
Posts: 14
Location: SURAT, GUJARAT, INDIA.
rogfanther wrote:
By the sticker in it, was it from an HP system ? How did the problem started ? Could be something PUIS-related, but waif for some other people to comment on that.

The readings on the diodes near the ram chip doesn´t make much sense. Please, measure continuity in them, both ways, with the hdd disconnected from power.

Also, does the motor controller gets hot ?


Thank you Sir for ur kind reply.

MCU and Motor Chip got Hot enough. but only motor is not running.

Attch pic of continuity measure.


Attachments:
12345.jpg
12345.jpg [ 312.91 KiB | Viewed 2167 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 11:26 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
Hi,

The measurements still seem wrong. But if the motor controller is gettin hotter than normal, them possibly it is damaged.

You will probably need to find another board with the same code and preferrably the same firmware version. The code below the number "1" at the left side of your picture.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 13:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9696
Location: Portugal
1 - Can you plug the drive to a TTL and check if it produce a LOG ?

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=192

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=116&t=189

2 - Can you ear ANY NOISE at all from the drive like sounds of it trying to spin ? Any sound of head movement ? DO NOT OPEN THE DRIVE LID.

3 - If you can't ear any sound and if you can't get any terminal LOG just BUY a PCB from another drive of the exact same model with exact same firmware.

You do have firmware version on the LABEL so get a drive like yours - HD320KJ/C with firmware CP100-12 and you don't need to move any ROM or adapt any firmware overlay, just swap the PCB and you are done.

If you do get terminal log and some messages about PRE-AMP then the damae is internal and the drive doesn't spin up because of damage to pre-amp.

If pre-amp is shorted you might not be able to get terminal output as well even if PCB is good. You can try to get the log by insulating head contacts to see if you can get message of invalid pre-amp.

Regards.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 14:27 
Offline

Joined: April 8th, 2016, 6:10
Posts: 14
Location: SURAT, GUJARAT, INDIA.
rogfanther wrote:
Hi,

The measurements still seem wrong. But if the motor controller is gettin hotter than normal, them possibly it is damaged.

You will probably need to find another board with the same code and preferrably the same firmware version. The code below the number "1" at the left side of your picture.


Thank you sir, In India i did not find any exact donor drive. so i moved to this forum. In other hand motor chip in hotter normal.

anything else you may suggestion, you are welcome sir.

thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 14:31 
Offline

Joined: April 8th, 2016, 6:10
Posts: 14
Location: SURAT, GUJARAT, INDIA.
Spildit wrote:
1 - Can you plug the drive to a TTL and check if it produce a LOG ?

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=192

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=116&t=189

2 - Can you ear ANY NOISE at all from the drive like sounds of it trying to spin ? Any sound of head movement ? DO NOT OPEN THE DRIVE LID.

3 - If you can't ear any sound and if you can't get any terminal LOG just BUY a PCB from another drive of the exact same model with exact same firmware.

You do have firmware version on the LABEL so get a drive like yours - HD320KJ/C with firmware CP100-12 and you don't need to move any ROM or adapt any firmware overlay, just swap the PCB and you are done.

If you do get terminal log and some messages about PRE-AMP then the damae is internal and the drive doesn't spin up because of damage to pre-amp.

If pre-amp is shorted you might not be able to get terminal output as well even if PCB is good. You can try to get the log by insulating head contacts to see if you can get message of invalid pre-amp.

Regards.


1. i haven't any ttl adopter. i will buy tomorrow and post log here.

2 i didn't hear any sound from inside of the hard disk. only pcb get hot only.

3. In india i haven't find same exact drive so that i moved hear for help.

Thank you sir.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 14:50 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9696
Location: Portugal
Do you have SAMSUNG FIRMWARE TOOLS ?

PC-3000 ? MRT PRO ? HRT 5.0 ? SHTR ? Something at all ?

If so and assuming that you can't read ROM on damaged drive because of damaged PCB you can get DONOR DRIVE from same model even if FW doesn't match and adapt drive to recieve a new PCB by hot swap and overlay replacement like this :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=116&t=1085

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 14:53 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9696
Location: Portugal
ALSO ---

ROM might be defective. Might be PUIS issue but it's not likely. Might be DAMAGE FIPS on ROM ... Need firmwasre tool to read ROM and FIX.

Or as stated replace PCB ....

Or adapt new PCB ...

OR ...

BECAUSE DATA IS IMPORTANT ....

SEND THE DRIVE TO A REPUTABLE DATA RECOVERY FIRM !!! Of course NOT a regular computer repair shop.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 15:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10873
Location: Australia
No 12V power is getting to the PCB. That's because there is a missing polyswitch. If the PCB is otherwise OK, just replace the polyswitch with a wire link (or picofuse).


Attachments:
TVS.jpg
TVS.jpg [ 28.56 KiB | Viewed 2099 times ]

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 15:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9696
Location: Portugal
So .... The PCB was already manipulated by someone ...

The polyswitch wouldn't disapear by magic !

Just try to figure out why did someone remove the polyswitch from the PCB !!!

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 15:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10873
Location: Australia
The motor controller looks discoloured.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 15:53 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9696
Location: Portugal
fzabkar wrote:
The motor controller looks discoloured.


Agree !

I would just replace the PCB ...

If this was a data recovery case that i was working on i wouldn't even bother as the FW version is stamped on the label and i would just buy a replacement (PCB) on eBay and that would be it.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 8th, 2018, 17:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10873
Location: Australia
Spildit wrote:
I would just replace the PCB ...

If this was a data recovery case that i was working on i wouldn't even bother as the FW version is stamped on the label and i would just buy a replacement (PCB) on eBay and that would be it.

The OP is in India. Just for perspective ...

India’s cheapest smartphone Freedom 251 launched at Rs 251 (US$4):
https://www.gadgetsnow.com/mobiles/Indias-cheapest-smartphone-Freedom-251-launched-at-Rs-251/articleshow/51020750.cms

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 9th, 2018, 0:51 
Offline

Joined: April 8th, 2016, 6:10
Posts: 14
Location: SURAT, GUJARAT, INDIA.
fzabkar wrote:
No 12V power is getting to the PCB. That's because there is a missing polyswitch. If the PCB is otherwise OK, just replace the polyswitch with a wire link (or picofuse).


you are right fzabkar. i removed polyswitch because of it had a problem. with faulty polyswitch, system did not start. i removed polywitch and connect hdd system start but no vibration or any known sound output from hdd. if i replace this polyswitch with good one will hdd start in normally? and i want to tell that without polyswitch switch all chips on the hdd got hot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 9th, 2018, 1:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 6th, 2010, 3:46
Posts: 320
Location: Kolding | Denmark
@zaidkagzi47
Need to ask. Is this your drive, or are you doing recovery for someone else?

_________________
Digitalsupport Data Recovery
https://digitalsupport.dk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 9th, 2018, 1:15 
Offline

Joined: April 8th, 2016, 6:10
Posts: 14
Location: SURAT, GUJARAT, INDIA.
digisupport wrote:
@zaidkagzi47
Need to ask. Is this your drive, or are you doing recovery for someone else?

i am doing data recovery sir


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 9th, 2018, 4:20 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10873
Location: Australia
zaidkagzi47 wrote:
you are right fzabkar. i removed polyswitch because of it had a problem.

Why would you think that an electronic device would continue to function after removing a fuse?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 9th, 2018, 10:37 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
You removed the wrong component. Search this forum for TVS , and you will find a lot of information.

Basically, put back the poliswitch and replace the TVS diodes, after you have searched and read the other threads.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Samsung HD320KJ No Power at all in the Hard Disk.
PostPosted: May 9th, 2018, 14:12 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9696
Location: Portugal
I wouldn't risk and i would just replace the PCB ...

Also the guy is doing DR for clients ....

No comment ...

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

At least read here - http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=100&t=86

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group