All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 23rd, 2018, 18:51 
Offline

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 18:15
Posts: 8
Location: Italia
Hi, I have a problem with one of my HDDs. As a title, it is a Seagate ST2000DM001, from 2 Tb, but now, in the BIOS and in the OS it sees with a much lower capacity. This disk did not work like OS, but it contains a lot of important data, which unfortunately I do not have elsewhere. It worked very well, but suddenly it disappeared, even from the Bios. As a result of various articles read, I tried to solve it as if it were a BSY problem, but it did not solve my problem. At least now the disk is recognized, but not with its real capacity, but especially without being able to access my data, which is the only thing that I care about it. Having restored the operation with the recovery attempt via RS232, at least I got to test it with the SeaTools for Windows. Performed SMART test, OK result.
Quick and complete generic test, always with a "failed" result.
Can anyone tell me if replacing the PCB can I get my data back?
Thanks so much.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 23rd, 2018, 22:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9429
Location: Portugal
NO !!! DO NOT replace the PCB !!! This is NOT a PCB problem and replacing the PCB not only doesn't help but require ROM transference and if you mess up ROM on your drive it's game over.

Did you apply the "standard" 7200.11 fix ? Did you use "m" commands ? If so ... BAD NEWS ... You might have caused way more damage to the drive now ...

You should have patched sysfile 93 and try to image.

Your drive might have media cache problem or DOS table problem ...

Now that you did "mess it up" it might not be an easy fix ...

Fortunatly it will not be so bad as a 7200.12 "stuck" with partial access but it's still not good.

Advice for you if data is important STOP MESSING WITH THE DRIVE and consult with a specialized data recovery firm !!!

If you don't want to pay a fortune and because you are in Italy try to contact @michael chiklis - memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=21477 as he does have apropriated firmware tools to help you out and hopefully it will be way more cheap than using a "standard" data recovery firm ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 24th, 2018, 2:50 
Offline

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 18:15
Posts: 8
Location: Italia
Good morning and thanks for the quick reply.
Now I just hope that something serious has not happened with the record. Now I'm worried that I used the "m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 (Enter)" command.
I will try to contact @michael chiklis immediately
Thanks again for the answer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 24th, 2018, 6:29 
Offline

Joined: December 5th, 2011, 5:38
Posts: 1142
Location: Italy
I've replied you via PM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 24th, 2018, 9:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9429
Location: Portugal
dndav76 wrote:
(...)that I used the "m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 (Enter)" command.


On a 7200.12 drive you would end up with damaged translator and partial access to LBA. Fixing that without PC-3000 would be time consuming and expensive ... It would be something like this : - http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=190&t=2405

Because you do have a "newer" series (DM) you might have been lucky.

Again do not issue any further command to the drive !!!

"m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 (Enter)" is to be used with 7200.11 drives ONLY !!!

:cry: :cry: :cry:

Please do let us know as well if you do manage to get your data back !

Regards and have a nice day !

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 3:36 
Offline

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 18:15
Posts: 8
Location: Italia
Hello
 Following the Post launched, I had contact with @michael chiklis, who confirmed what was also said by Spildit, I take this opportunity to thank them for the attention to the case, the thing has gone on, but I'm afraid it is in a negative sense.
I do a chronology, because maybe I can make the situation better understood.
HDD from nothing, it is no longer recognized by the Win7 64bit OS.
When restarted, the BIOS of my Asus Maximus VI Extreme does not recognize the disk.
I try to unlock it with RS232 and Hyper Terminal, with the known procedure for 7200.11 discs. I did not know mine is 7200.12. Attempt done by isolating the PCB from the physical disk. But from the terminal I had the white screen, any command I tried to insert. The commands used are those described in previous posts.
The disk was connected via RS232 (USB) to a notebook with Win7 and power from an external source. I tried both powering the disk before connecting it to the notebook, and later.
Since I did not see anything on the Hyper Terminal, I made several attempts. In one of the attempts I only had a screen with type:
LED: 00000047 FAddr: FFFFFFFE
LED: 00000047 FAddr: FFFFFFFE
LED: 00000047 FAddr: FFFFFFFE
Repeated 3 times with a separation line between them.
I only remember that they were with the word LED, but I'm not sure of the rest of the strings.
After I connected the disk to the PC, with the SATA cable and the disk was visible from the BIOS, but with a capacity totally different from the real 2TB.
Given the disk was recognized, but incorrectly, I tried to test with SeaTools, and as already written, SMART Test "Ok", Quick and Generic Test "Failed".
So far, it would seem to be a problem of sector allocation.
Just by doing a final test, connecting the disk via RS232 (USB) to the Notebook, starting Hyper Terminal, enter the link properties, just start the disk power (Without PCB isolation - Physical Disc), on Hyper Terminal I get out as follows:

Boot 0x40M
Spin Up
FAIL Servo Op = 0100 Resp = 0003
0100 0000
The rest all 0
ResponseFrame 1980 and then a series of hexadecimal numbers
Then again
FAIL Servo Op = 0100 Resp = 0003
0100 0000
The rest all 0
ResponseFrame 23C0 and then a series of hexadecimal numbers

The disk is not strange ticking. I hear the engine that makes 2 attempts to Boot as soon as I connect the power supply, but then it does not make any more noise. Since I have this problem, it has always behaved in this way.
Will it really be a physical problem, or maybe a PCB problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 4:11 
Offline

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 18:15
Posts: 8
Location: Italia
Reflecting on the sequence of events, I think it should be a problem with the physical part, because only after connecting the complete disk, gave me that kind of error message.
But what misleads me is the fact that it makes no strange noises.

Thank you
Dndav76


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 9:24 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 693
Location: Brazil
As stated, it is not a pcb problem.

The way things are now, after running the 7200.11 commands, your best option for recovering the data is sending the drive to a specialized person. As you talked with him before, @michaelchiklis comes recommended from here.

There are other means to fix the drive, but as this is not a test subject, and you *need* the data, then send it to the correct place and avoid yourself more problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 10:46 
Offline

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 18:15
Posts: 8
Location: Italia
I am afraid I must begin to lose hope for a real solution.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 10:51 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 693
Location: Brazil
If you do not want to send the drive to someone with the tools to fix it, yes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 11:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9429
Location: Portugal
dndav76 wrote:
The disk is not strange ticking. I hear the engine that makes 2 attempts to Boot as soon as I connect the power supply, but then it does not make any more noise. Since I have this problem, it has always behaved in this way.
Will it really be a physical problem, or maybe a PCB problem?


Physical problem + firmware issue. Physical problems like a considerable amount of bad block that caused for the firmware to be damaged as well. You need to fix/patch the firmware (CORRECTLY and with PROPER TOOLS) and extract the data to another drive. The drive did already fail so you shouldn't re-use it or even attempt to refurb the model of drive that you do have.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 11:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9429
Location: Portugal
dndav76 wrote:
Reflecting on the sequence of events, I think it should be a problem with the physical part, because only after connecting the complete disk, gave me that kind of error message.
But what misleads me is the fact that it makes no strange noises.

Thank you
Dndav76


Because head(s) can still find the servo marks so the heads go to the platter and find servo and don't hit the limiter, so no clicking sounds. Also because you most likely have damage to firmware the heads will try to read SA data on the platter and the drive will "hang" because of problems related to that info on SA. As the drive doesn't attempt to read sectors on the user space - LBA as you can't even gain access to it it will not click or make strange reading noises as you are not hitting bad sectors yet...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 11:45 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9429
Location: Portugal
dndav76 wrote:
I am afraid I must begin to lose hope for a real solution.


Do you want to buy tools and attempt to fix it yourself ? If you buy PC-3000 ($6000 USD) i'm sure that tech support will help you out fixing the firmware issue of the drive and extract the data with DE. Same if you buy the cheaper alternative - MRT ($3500 USD). At least it's only half the price of PC-3000 and you will get the job done ...

Alternative as the data is VERY IMPORTANT to you try to find someone that can extract your data at a reasonable price ?

Maybe you can get offers from someone from here (HDD Guru) ? Something among the lines of $300 USD should be "reasonable" for fixing the firmware of the drive + revert the mess that you have done + extract the data (assuming you pay for another drive to copy the data to).

Majority of places will put a "firmware fix" on the same level of a physical recovery but you might be able to get away with a cheaper recovery from some places/people.

How much $$$ are you willing to pay for your impotant data ? That is the question that you must ask yourself.

If you can't but tools and learn how to fix the drive the option left is to take the drive to someone who can fix it or store the drive in a safe place and save some $$$ for later recovery.

Even if you are a extremely good doctor you will not be able to do operations on your patients without proper medical equipment + medication, etc ... The same applies here. We could try to explain how you should "fix" the firmware issue but without proper tools to backup the firmware and conduct the operation it would be pointless ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 12:12 
Offline

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 18:15
Posts: 8
Location: Italia
Thanks Spildit,
  for what you said, I had already begun to make arrangements with michael chiklis. I have already bought the new disk, which I think to send along with the one with problems to michael chiklis tomorrow. Hoping that we can still do something for my data.

Thanks again for your continued attention.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 12:27 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9429
Location: Portugal
dndav76 wrote:
Thanks Spildit,
  for what you said, I had already begun to make arrangements with michael chiklis. I have already bought the new disk, which I think to send along with the one with problems to michael chiklis tomorrow. Hoping that we can still do something for my data.

Thanks again for your continued attention.


Sounds a nice plan.

Please do let us know if you do manage to get your data back.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 12:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9429
Location: Portugal
I would say that because this is a "DM" series and NOT a 7200.12 the "damage" done by the m0 command might be "reversed" in a more "simple" way rather than if this drive were a 7200.12. I've had some "DM"s that people did run the m0,2 and it was fixable with proper command to re-gen translator without the need of manualy messing with non-resident g-list (7200.12 drives are not that easy to fix if data is required).

I think that patching sysfile 92 + fixing media cache and possible DOS table + regenerating the translator with correct commands and extract the data with MRT DE would do the trick ...

Unless of course the drive have other problems like full damaged head or bad platter but my guess is that you are going to be "lucky" on this one ...

Let's see ! Good luck and do let us know when you do have your data back!

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 13:34 
Offline

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 18:15
Posts: 8
Location: Italia
I will certainly publish the outcome, whatever it is. I think that certain information must be in the public domain, for the good and the common respect. The same respect I feel for those who are part of this forum. During the week I find it hard to make myself present, because of the work commitments, so I did not publish the information with michael chiklis and all the others.
Thanks again to those who have so far been interested and helped to divulge this news.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: June 29th, 2018, 13:41 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9429
Location: Portugal
No problem !

Good luck.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: July 7th, 2018, 6:07 
Offline

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 18:15
Posts: 8
Location: Italia
Good morning,
  unfortunately the outcome of the verification made by michael chiklis, is not at all comfortable. Broken heads.

Boot 0x40M
Spin Up
FAIL Servo Op=0100 Resp=0003
0100 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
ResponseFrame 1AC0 0070 06CC 3F00 0008 0000 0000 0000 0E3A 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 899D 6A25 9B3F AE57 4287 7511 3C43 5022 5164 CA5D 0000 007F 0004 0000 001C 0004 0000
FAIL Servo Op=0100 Resp=0003
0100 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
ResponseFrame 2480 0073 06CC 4040 0008 0000 0000 0000 0DFF 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 899D 6A25 9B3F AE57 4287 7511 3C43 5022 5164 CA5D 0000 007F 0004 0000 001B 0004 0000

To be able to try the recovery, you need a laboratory, which obviously involves some high costs and that unfortunately at this moment I can not afford.
I hope that in the future it can have this possibility.
I thank those who participated in this discussion and especially Michael Chiklis for his support.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate st2000dm001 1ch164-301 cc24 Wrong capacity
PostPosted: July 7th, 2018, 17:15 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9429
Location: Portugal
Well ... Bad luck !

I do agree that your log points out to bad head(s) / pre-amp ...

You might still want to do one last thing ...

Forum member @drHDD used to do very reasonable "cheap" head swaps ...

memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=31114

If you are willing to ship the drive outside UE to him you might get a cheaper price rather than if you were using another data recovery lab, but of course you should PM for a quote first ....

Regards.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group