All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Samsung HD501LJ Failure - keeps dropping randomly
PostPosted: July 6th, 2018, 23:25 

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and a total noob when it comes to HDD repair, so please assume I have no idea what I'm talking about... :P

I have been attempting to DIY repair the above HDD after it failed due to me swapping the computer's power supply and leaving in place the SATA power cables of the old supply. From what I have been able to establish, this has caused the 12V TVS diode (?) to burn out. I have removed the offending part and was able to partially recover some of the data on the drive.

However, the drive is displaying some weird behaviour, which makes a full recovery of the data on the drive a game of chance:
The drive will come online only after a random amount of time of being connected to the PC. A quick restart will make the drive discoverable and accessible, and I am able to copy some of the data across to a new drive.
But it will drop again after 3 seconds, or 1 minute, or 10 minutes and then sit there and not spin up for another random amount of time.

I suppose I could keep on playing this game until I have a complete set of data, but is there anything that might make this process a little more reliable?

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Cheers.

Attachment:
File comment: Removed Diode
Samsung HD501LJ.jpg
Samsung HD501LJ.jpg [ 1.51 MiB | Viewed 8407 times ]

Post subject: Re: Samsung HD501LJ Failure - keeps dropping randomly
PostPosted: July 7th, 2018, 7:24 

UPDATE:

I have spent the day persisting with the incremental backup of files whenever the drive was available.
This was basically a process of sitting by the computer and waiting for the drive to spin up. Which could take anywhere between 10-15mins, but I had a couple of periods where nothing was happening for about an hour. Then to copy files for as long as it would stay online. Which again was highly varied.