All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Raid 5 to raid 5 upgrade
PostPosted: July 26th, 2018, 19:09 
Offline

Joined: July 26th, 2018, 18:54
Posts: 4
Location: Dakar
hello
I need your help if podsible.

I have two raid 5, first one with 3x300go full eith data and system windows server 2008
And i need to replace it with Second array in raid 5 3x2tb.

Two array was created in hp ml350 gen9

So it s possible to cloning first array to second array ?

Or it s possible to expand first array with new array ?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 5 to raid 5 upgrade
PostPosted: July 27th, 2018, 9:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 23rd, 2008, 11:26
Posts: 477
Location: Austin, TX
Before you do anything I would recommend backing up the critical data on the old array first just in case something goes wrong.

If you have both Arrays set up in the system you can do a sector by sector clone of the old array to the new array , then expand that partition to get the full amount of space


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 5 to raid 5 upgrade
PostPosted: July 27th, 2018, 9:58 
Offline

Joined: July 26th, 2018, 18:54
Posts: 4
Location: Dakar
Of course. I did a full with windows server 2008 backup. it saved system and on backup image.

so there are two solutions.

1- remove old array and restore backup image with cd windows server 2008.

2- use a software like aoemei backupp to execute your idea ; clone sector by sector and after expand partition. then removing old array before restarting

I have two question :

1- new partition had letter G . After restoring or cloning the letter will be always g: or c: ? need to have c: . Of course, i will remove old array.

2- if i have a problem , can replace old array in good order of course and restart my old system

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 5 to raid 5 upgrade
PostPosted: July 27th, 2018, 18:45 
Offline

Joined: March 7th, 2009, 12:43
Posts: 837
Location: Data recovery + remote Raid recovery help
Cleanroom wrote:
Before you do anything I would recommend backing up the critical data on the old array first just in case something goes wrong.

If you have both Arrays set up in the system you can do a sector by sector clone of the old array to the new array , then expand that partition to get the full amount of space

With Windows server 2008 it wont go so easy (to make it bootable). Need additional actions.

_________________
All kind of RAID recovery remote help
Whatsapp: +971552737521


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 5 to raid 5 upgrade
PostPosted: July 27th, 2018, 19:38 
Offline

Joined: July 26th, 2018, 18:54
Posts: 4
Location: Dakar
Yes it s not easy.

Old array was in mbr and new array was in gpt due to larger disk 4to

After cloning it can t not boot.? Even remove old array.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 5 to raid 5 upgrade
PostPosted: July 27th, 2018, 19:39 
Offline

Joined: July 26th, 2018, 18:54
Posts: 4
Location: Dakar
Yes it s not easy.

Old array was in mbr and new array was in gpt due to larger disk 4to

After cloning it can t not boot.? Even remove old array.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raid 5 to raid 5 upgrade
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 14:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 23rd, 2008, 11:26
Posts: 477
Location: Austin, TX
DR-Kiev wrote:
Cleanroom wrote:
Before you do anything I would recommend backing up the critical data on the old array first just in case something goes wrong.

If you have both Arrays set up in the system you can do a sector by sector clone of the old array to the new array , then expand that partition to get the full amount of space

With Windows server 2008 it wont go so easy (to make it bootable). Need additional actions.


I agree, from the first post I did not know that.

Also moving from MBR to GPT will cause issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group