All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 6:58 
Offline

Joined: July 30th, 2018, 6:47
Posts: 6
Location: united Kingdom
Alright guys

I have got a Seagate 3TB Back Up Plus external hard drive which I have had for a few years. I have never ever dropped this drive and everything was fine until a few months ago, where I noticed the USB cable used to connect hard drive to machine seeming a bit loose... And sometimes it would drop out unless you move it to another position. Now yesterday the hard drive could not be found at all, and the actually connection felt really wiggly.

I open the case and found that the loose connection has completely broken off.. It was attached to a sata/bridge module that you can pull away from the laptop HDD that they use... There hard drive was and should be working perfectly..

I have then used another sata/usb bridge which I got from another external hard drive and connected it to the machine... The machine does find it.. However it now says it's a GPT protected Drive..

I need it to plug and play as before


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 10:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2011, 0:19
Posts: 1841
Location: Providence, RI
Seagate external hard drives often do a sector size mutation through the USB/SATA bridge. So if you're using a non-Seagate dock/adapter/etc., it's likely trying to read it using a different sector size than the data was written to the drive with.

That having been said, a 3Tb Seagate external is a ticking time bomb. Those ST3000DM001 drives had the worst failure rate in history. You're lucky it failed the way it did, there's still time to save your data now before it totally bombs out.

_________________
Data Medics - Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Service Company


Last edited by data-medics on July 30th, 2018, 10:42, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 10:41 
Offline

Joined: July 30th, 2018, 6:47
Posts: 6
Location: united Kingdom
data-medics wrote:
Seagate external hard drives often do a sector size mutation through the USB/SATA bridge. So if you're using a non-Seagate dock/adapter/etc., it's likely trying to read it using a different sector size than the data was written to the drive with.



Seagate just told me that I can use usb-sata adapter and that should work...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 10:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2011, 0:19
Posts: 1841
Location: Providence, RI
byronwells wrote:
data-medics wrote:
Seagate external hard drives often do a sector size mutation through the USB/SATA bridge. So if you're using a non-Seagate dock/adapter/etc., it's likely trying to read it using a different sector size than the data was written to the drive with.



Seagate just told me that I can use usb-sata adapter and that should work...


They don't know what they're talking about. They answer phones and try to get rid of warranty claims for a living. They have ZERO technical experience.

If you don't believe me, get a hex editor such as WinHex and open up sector 0 of the drive (then post a screenshot). We can confirm whether or not it's reading a correct sector size.

_________________
Data Medics - Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Service Company


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 10:55 
Offline

Joined: July 30th, 2018, 6:47
Posts: 6
Location: united Kingdom
data-medics wrote:
byronwells wrote:
data-medics wrote:
Seagate external hard drives often do a sector size mutation through the USB/SATA bridge. So if you're using a non-Seagate dock/adapter/etc., it's likely trying to read it using a different sector size than the data was written to the drive with.



Seagate just told me that I can use usb-sata adapter and that should work...


They don't know what they're talking about. They answer phones and try to get rid of warranty claims for a living. They have ZERO technical experience.

If you don't believe me, get a hex editor such as WinHex and open up sector 0 of the drive (then post a screenshot). We can confirm whether or not it's reading a correct sector size.


Forget about the bridge module.. Just connect the actual hard drive itself via an usb-sata adapter to the laptop and it should find it that way.. I already had got one, but I don't think it was giving enough power the hard drive.. Because it would show up in device manager but not under explorer or computer management at all


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 10:59 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2011, 0:19
Posts: 1841
Location: Providence, RI
I'll say it again: get a hex editor such as WinHex and open up sector 0 of the drive (then post a screenshot). We can confirm whether or not it's reading a correct sector size.

If sector 0 doesn't end in hex characters 55 AA it's a sector size issue and it's not going to able to mount in Windows.

Or, check disk management (Control Panel > Admin Tools > Computer management > Disk Management) and see what it shows.

_________________
Data Medics - Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Service Company


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 11:06 
Offline

Joined: July 30th, 2018, 6:47
Posts: 6
Location: united Kingdom
It says that the drive is not initialized.. However I do not want to clean it because I have got a lot of data on it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 11:12 
Offline

Joined: July 30th, 2018, 6:47
Posts: 6
Location: united Kingdom
I have now removed the bridge and attached the laptop HDD that came out of the external hard drive casing using this https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01 ... UTF8&psc=1 which is now under computer management it saying that the disk needs to be initialized...

However I think I need to use one of these instead https://www.amazon.co.uk/USB-SATA-Adapt ... 1N2JIQR7...

I don't think I getting any power to it using the other cable.... If that makes sense


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 12:50 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
You can use a board from the same model as your broken one, or you can try to find someone to fix the original board of your disk.

Using common usb-sata bridges will not work, or you will need to keep trying until you get one that does the translation the same as the original seagate board.

Or you can believe in the seagate call center ....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 13:32 
Offline

Joined: July 30th, 2018, 6:47
Posts: 6
Location: united Kingdom
rogfanther wrote:
You can use a board from the same model as your broken one, or you can try to find someone to fix the original board of your disk.

Using common usb-sata bridges will not work, or you will need to keep trying until you get one that does the translation the same as the original seagate board.

Or you can believe in the seagate call center ....


I'm now not talking about the bridge port module... I am talking about just running the hard drive through as usb-sata cable to the machine... Bridge port is removed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 14:59 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
A bridge is just that, something that converts from a SATA drive to an usb connection. Be it in the form of the little board of your original seagate, a usb hard disk caddy, or a "cable" with the electronics enclosed in rubber.

You still are converting from SATA to USB, and the chip involved in it may or not do the "sector size mutation" @data-medics described. And different ICs may do it in different ways.

The easier way still is to find the correct board, or fix yours if the intention is just to recover data.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Loose Connections On External Hard Drive
PostPosted: July 30th, 2018, 16:20 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10610
Location: Australia
@byronwells, you should be able to see your data with DMDE.

https://dmde.com/

Can you post DMDE's Partitions window? The file system will most probably be identified with a 4KB sector size. That poses a problem when the drive is connected internally (the OS expects to see 512-byte sectors). However, DMDE can handle this scenario.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group