All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 3:25 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2018, 3:00
Posts: 8
Location: India
Hi,

My client has a Seagate Pipeline HD .2 320GB desktop hard drive with PCB number: 100535704 REV C

Problem: It is detected by the motherboard bios, shows windows logo and pc restarts. After that hdd is not detected anymore. No click sounds. But after it restarts, pc screen shows "There seems to be a problem with the hard drive".

Is this problem with PCB? I see no visible damage marks on any components.

I have a Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 250 Gb hard drive which has same pcb number.

Is this a pcb problem? Will baracuda's pcb work as the pcb number is same? I can swap ROM chip myself.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 3:57 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2018, 3:00
Posts: 8
Location: India
Please see attached images of the hard drive along with PCB images. The good drive is amongst the drives a customer did an exchange for a higher capacity drive (upgrade).


Attachments:
File comment: Good Drive
IMG_20180806_132229.jpg
IMG_20180806_132229.jpg [ 3.07 MiB | Viewed 467 times ]
File comment: Bad Drive
15335417492992004454787.jpg
15335417492992004454787.jpg [ 2.03 MiB | Viewed 467 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 4:53 
Offline

Joined: May 21st, 2007, 16:10
Posts: 1497
Location: Gothenburg/ Sweden
Does the drive spin up? If it's spinning up but don't recognice it self I would belive in firmware corruption

_________________
Rescue IT Datarecovery service Sweden
Rescue IT Dataräddning Göteborg AB
http://www.rescue-it.se


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 5:05 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2018, 3:00
Posts: 8
Location: India
Yea it does spin up, recognize at first boot and then does not detect after pc restarts automatically at OS logo. Also, I checked caps and diodes with volt meter, seems all Good.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 7:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 75
Location: spain
Is that the hard discs that have windows installed?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 8:10 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2018, 3:00
Posts: 8
Location: India
mhp666 wrote:
Is that the hard discs that have windows installed?

Yes, the Pipeline HD hard disk has windows installed. They only want 2gb of the data from the drive which is crucial. It could only be 1 folder with 3 or 4 sub folders.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 8:17 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 75
Location: spain
It is difficult with those data to diagnose something, but I would be inclined that the disk has defective sessices in some zone. Have you connected the hard drive to another machine and made an image?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 8:42 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2018, 3:00
Posts: 8
Location: India
mhp666 wrote:
It is difficult with those data to diagnose something, but I would be inclined that the disk has defective sessices in some zone. Have you connected the hard drive to another machine and made an image?

I tried to connect using sata to usb convertor. It didn't detect in windows and nor Linux (Ubuntu live boot). I also tried that it should detect in HDD sentinel so that I can run a self test and check temperature and health parameters, But it doesn't detect there and neither in BIOS. At first boot it detects, system lags, then system reboots and it stops detecting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 9:16 
Offline

Joined: December 6th, 2012, 8:49
Posts: 196
Location: españa
pcdoc wrote:
Is this a pcb problem? Will baracuda's pcb work as the pcb number is same? I can swap ROM chip myself.
No, this won't solve anything, it's not a problem with the PCB,

The drive has surface damage and, consequently, problems with defect lists (G LIST) and/or sector relocation


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 12:44 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7120
Location: UK
colanco wrote:
pcdoc wrote:
Is this a pcb problem? Will baracuda's pcb work as the pcb number is same? I can swap ROM chip myself.
No, this won't solve anything, it's not a problem with the PCB,

The drive has surface damage and, consequently, problems with defect lists (G LIST) and/or sector relocation


+1

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 13:24 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2018, 3:00
Posts: 8
Location: India
colanco wrote:
pcdoc wrote:
Is this a pcb problem? Will baracuda's pcb work as the pcb number is same? I can swap ROM chip myself.
No, this won't solve anything, it's not a problem with the PCB,

The drive has surface damage and, consequently, problems with defect lists (G LIST) and/or sector relocation

Whats the way out? Pc3000?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 15:29 
Offline

Joined: December 6th, 2012, 8:49
Posts: 196
Location: españa
pcdoc wrote:
colanco wrote:
pcdoc wrote:
Is this a pcb problem? Will baracuda's pcb work as the pcb number is same? I can swap ROM chip myself.
No, this won't solve anything, it's not a problem with the PCB,

The drive has surface damage and, consequently, problems with defect lists (G LIST) and/or sector relocation

Whats the way out? Pc3000?
The "temporary" access to the data can be done without pc3000, with a TTL adapter you can access the disk in terminal mode and apply the "temporary" corrections that will give you access to the data (clear G-List and disabling the relocation in the background) there is a lot of information in this forum on this topic.

The problem will come later, once you have access to the data, surely (Murphy's law) the data you want to recover will be corrupted, you would need a decent data extractor (PC3K/MRT) to try to recover as many of those files as possible in the most secure way. With commercial data recovery programs, you're more likely to end up doing more damage and not finish recovering your files.

Although you may get lucky and the data may not get corrupted.......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 16:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
7200.12 drive ...

I do love the BAD ADVICE that some people do provide from time to time ...

Keep messing with this one (using ttl) and you will end up with damaged translator + partial access problem.

DO NOT RE-GEN TRANSLATOR WITH COMMANDS POSTED FOR 7200.11 DRIVES !!!

Also .... If data is important consult with a specialized AND REPUTABLE data recovery firm !!!!


If you do want to try a do-it-yourself fix start by checking if you can plug the drive directly by SATA and SCAN the start, middle and end of the drive with MHDD or victoria. If you do have access to the FULL RANGE of LBA try to clone the drive to another working one with hddsuperclone. If your drive is not visible at all, visible with wrong capacity or if you can't scan the full LBA range it's game over for do-it-yourself.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 19:43 
Offline

Joined: December 6th, 2012, 8:49
Posts: 196
Location: españa
Spildit wrote:
7200.12 drive ...

I do love the BAD ADVICE that some people do provide from time to time ...

Keep messing with this one (using ttl) and you will end up with damaged translator + partial access problem.

DO NOT RE-GEN TRANSLATOR WITH COMMANDS POSTED FOR 7200.11 DRIVES !!!
Apologies, Spildit,

Can you tell me in which part of my post I have advised op to regenerate the translator?

Cleaning the G-list in 7200.12 regenerates the translator?
Disable relocation in 7200.12, regenerates the translator?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 20:11 
Offline

Joined: December 6th, 2012, 8:49
Posts: 196
Location: españa
Spildit wrote:
If you do have access to the FULL RANGE of LBA try to clone the drive to another working one with hddsuperclone.

OP says he only wants to recover 2GB and his advice is to clone an entire disk with surface problems?

Well, it's an option......
pcdoc wrote:
They only want 2gb of the data from the drive which is crucial. It could only be 1 folder with 3 or 4 sub folders.


I totally agree with that.
Spildit wrote:
Also .... If data is important consult with a specialized AND REPUTABLE data recovery firm !!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 20:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10596
Location: Australia
Ddrescue can copy files or directories, not just complete disk or partition images.

There is also this tool:

Bad Block Copy for Windows:
https://alter.org.ua/soft/win/bb_recover/

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 22:51 
Offline

Joined: January 12th, 2016, 3:46
Posts: 46
Location: India
Pipeline HD.2 is 5900 RPM hard disk designed for video specific usage .Firmware of such drives is optimized for such purpose (ATA video streaming commands and write intensive operations.
ATA/ATAPI-7 standard's Streaming Command Set, which includes features like :
• Streaming Performance Log (to describe normal drive performance)
• Error Recovery Time Limits (to prevent long delays for error recovery)
• Continuous Read/Write Controls (to return/use partially correct data)
• Streaming Error Logs (to reduce time delays for system error processing)
• Configure Stream Command (to allow optimum drive buffer management)
Unlike desktop hard disk drives, the AV-GP is designed to skip error correction in favour of
completing commands on time. This prevents a disruption of the video or audio stream due to timeconsuming
error correction routines at the expense of some bad data. This is great for CE-type
applications like recording video and audio streams off cable or CCTV feeds. A few off-colour pixels
are far less noticeable than a few missing frames

Using wrong type of hard disks in rampant in india as most of the resellers are box pushers and they dont know any technical part of hard disks.
Cost is the only criteria .I often get AV-video hard disks which are used in PC's , on the other hand Desktop consumer grade hard disks are used in CCTV DVR which runs in 24X7 mode. SMPS used in such PC's is of low grade further adding failure rate.
I think type of hard disk plays a crucial role in ultimate outcome of data recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 6th, 2018, 23:17 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 431
Location: United States
Post deleted

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 7th, 2018, 0:45 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2018, 3:00
Posts: 8
Location: India
Spildit wrote:
7200.12 drive ...


The hard disk in question is the Pipeline one.
fzabkar wrote:
Ddrescue can copy files or directories, not just complete disk or partition images.

There is also this tool:

Bad Block Copy for Windows:
https://alter.org.ua/soft/win/bb_recover/


For that the hard disk needs to get detected by the BIOS first.

posidon wrote:
Using wrong type of hard disks in rampant in india as most of the resellers are box pushers and they dont know any technical part of hard disks.
Cost is the only criteria .I often get AV-video hard disks which are used in PC's , on the other hand Desktop consumer grade hard disks are used in CCTV DVR which runs in 24X7 mode. SMPS used in such PC's is of low grade further adding failure rate.
I think type of hard disk plays a crucial role in ultimate outcome of data recovery.

+1 on this. But that's the trend. You can't change it and have to accept it. It's the ignorance of the buyer that he doesn't know that a wrong HDD is being used.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Seagate Pipeline HD .2
PostPosted: August 7th, 2018, 0:46 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2018, 3:00
Posts: 8
Location: India
Why all my post need mod approval? 2 post require that and are pending. :oops: :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group