All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 14th, 2018, 9:12 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2361
Location: Kuwait
Well this sounds really funny but i really encourage you guys to try it..

Try to connect any of those bigfoot drives to your 3k, ddi, or any other tool you have and try to access sectors

really funny

Image attached, 2 drives here , one of them is mine the other is for my client (both working)

This is real case AM NOT JOKING

give it a shot.


Attachments:
IMG_0230.JPG
IMG_0230.JPG [ 2.36 MiB | Viewed 2097 times ]

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 14th, 2018, 13:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 2090
Location: Ontario, Canada
Works with a 20GB, 2.5GB and a 1.2GB on DDI4 for me.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/Du1QuLKBZ8dntfK58

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 14th, 2018, 17:46 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 466
Location: United States
It has been mentioned before that some of the popular hardware imagers (including pc3k, maybe some versions work and some don't) do not work well with old C/H/S drives that do not support LBA. I am guessing from the labels the drives in question do not support LBA. Slight oversight on their part not to include support for the older standard. Hook them up to a computer with the native PATA/IDE port, the computer does not have to be old, and then boot from a Linux Live CD to access the data. If there are bad sectors, recent versions of HDDSuperClone should be able to handle the C/H/S for cloning. It is amazing that some of the high priced hardware tools have a problem with those older drives, but yet they can be accessed from a simple Linux Live CD (XP might work too) :)

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 14th, 2018, 17:53 
Offline

Joined: October 21st, 2007, 8:48
Posts: 1275
I like those drives. :D


Attachments:
IMG_20180814_235002.jpg
IMG_20180814_235002.jpg [ 1.6 MiB | Viewed 2031 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 14th, 2018, 18:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2011, 0:19
Posts: 1871
Location: Providence, RI
PC-3000 works fine with old C/H/S drives in my experience. I've gone as low as 400Mb drives.

You just have to know how to set up the CHS for it to work. And, for awhile the menu was a bit hidden and not obvious to find. The first time I had to do it, it took hours to figure out how to configure it for CHS. Now they've made it much more obvious where to set it up.

_________________
Data Medics - Hard Drive, SSD, and RAID Data Recovery Service Company


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 14th, 2018, 20:34 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 466
Location: United States
I think the point should be that there should be no reason to have to figure out special settings to access a C/H/S drive. It is as simple as a single bit in the identify device results, if that bit is 1 then LBA is supported, if that bit is 0 then LBA is not supported and C/H/S should be used. I am an amateur, and when I addressed this in my software, it only took me a weekend to do it and it is automatic with no user intervention. Why would the big dogs make it so difficult?

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 15th, 2018, 3:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2361
Location: Kuwait
lcoughey wrote:
Works with a 20GB, 2.5GB and a 1.2GB on DDI4 for me.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/Du1QuLKBZ8dntfK58


Really? i tried almost everything with both drives DDI ID the drive slow but did not read/access any sector no matter what i do

data-medics wrote:
PC-3000 works fine with old C/H/S drives in my experience. I've gone as low as 400Mb drives.

You just have to know how to set up the CHS for it to work. And, for awhile the menu was a bit hidden and not obvious to find. The first time I had to do it, it took hours to figure out how to configure it for CHS. Now they've made it much more obvious where to set it up.


Tried that did not work in fact did not read ID in DE (would u like to try it here?)

My Quantom am sure its working 4gb, i used it long time for me and 100% works,
the client hdd is giving the same symptoms as mine (so am assuming both are OK) its just the PIO reading more

btw, for you Luke & data-medics, i was able to access sectors (but no data at all) not even raw, looks like data been shifted or something or reading wrong/errors i dono
never had similar case before.

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 15th, 2018, 3:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2361
Location: Kuwait
forgot to add, Believe it or not i had to try my very old pc with those drives just to verify and know where the hell is the problem
do not feel shocked while looking @ this..

Am keeping my lovely 486 DX AST PC (https://www.instagram.com/p/BN2qbw_lVQY ... tarecovery)
just to remember those old days...

:mrgreen:


Attachments:
IMG_0231.JPG
IMG_0231.JPG [ 2.09 MiB | Viewed 1966 times ]
IMG_0232.JPG
IMG_0232.JPG [ 2.3 MiB | Viewed 1966 times ]

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 15th, 2018, 18:40 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 466
Location: United States
Quote:
i was able to access sectors (but no data at all) not even raw, looks like data been shifted or something or reading wrong/errors i dono
never had similar case before.

That is a sign that the software is trying to read LBA and not CHS. A dead giveaway would be that you can't read sector 0, but you can read sector 1 and it looks like it should be sector 0.

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 15th, 2018, 18:43 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 466
Location: United States
Quote:
forgot to add, Believe it or not i had to try my very old pc with those drives just to verify and know where the hell is the problem
do not feel shocked while looking @ this..

Am keeping my lovely 486 DX AST PC (https://www.instagram.com/p/BN2qbw_lVQY ... tarecovery)
just to remember those old days...

While it is always nice to keep an old computer around for the odd things, you don't need that old of a computer to access the drives. See the references below for successful cases like yours:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=35277
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=35714

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 16th, 2018, 2:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2361
Location: Kuwait
maximus wrote:
Quote:
i was able to access sectors (but no data at all) not even raw, looks like data been shifted or something or reading wrong/errors i dono
never had similar case before.

That is a sign that the software is trying to read LBA and not CHS. A dead giveaway would be that you can't read sector 0, but you can read sector 1 and it looks like it should be sector 0.


I can

the Q is why universal and not DE?


Attachments:
q.jpg
q.jpg [ 154.04 KiB | Viewed 1874 times ]

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 16th, 2018, 17:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10955
Location: Australia
https://stason.org/TULARC/pc/hard-drives-hdd/quantum/BIGFOOT-CY-2111AT-2111MB-5-25-SL-ATA2-FAST.html

Quote:
QUANTUM BIGFOOT CY2,1/4,3/6,4AT PRODUCT MANUAL 81-113668-01 11/96

The Quantum drives support both the Extended CHS (Cylinder Head Sector) and LBA (Logical Block Address) addressing methods in overcoming the 528 MB DOS capacity barrier.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 16th, 2018, 20:17 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 466
Location: United States
einstein9 wrote:
maximus wrote:
Quote:
i was able to access sectors (but no data at all) not even raw, looks like data been shifted or something or reading wrong/errors i dono
never had similar case before.

That is a sign that the software is trying to read LBA and not CHS. A dead giveaway would be that you can't read sector 0, but you can read sector 1 and it looks like it should be sector 0.


I can

the Q is why universal and not DE?

That would be a question to ask of the manufacturer support of the tool(s) that are unable to properly read the drives. You paid good money for those tools, so hopefully their support would be able to answer. All I can do is offer a working alternative solution, as shown in the successful case links I provided.

According to the data that fzabkar provided, it would seem the drives should support LBA access, so that makes it even more confusing as to why there is an issue.

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: August 18th, 2018, 2:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2361
Location: Kuwait
maximus wrote:
einstein9 wrote:
maximus wrote:
Quote:
i was able to access sectors (but no data at all) not even raw, looks like data been shifted or something or reading wrong/errors i dono
never had similar case before.

That is a sign that the software is trying to read LBA and not CHS. A dead giveaway would be that you can't read sector 0, but you can read sector 1 and it looks like it should be sector 0.


I can

the Q is why universal and not DE?

That would be a question to ask of the manufacturer support of the tool(s) that are unable to properly read the drives. You paid good money for those tools, so hopefully their support would be able to answer. All I can do is offer a working alternative solution, as shown in the successful case links I provided.

According to the data that fzabkar provided, it would seem the drives should support LBA access, so that makes it even more confusing as to why there is an issue.


Its not worth even look at it or researching,, will find something more important than this case,,, but good to know about

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quantom Drives
PostPosted: September 6th, 2018, 9:57 
Offline

Joined: February 8th, 2014, 8:08
Posts: 461
Location: Eastern Europe /recovering worldwide/
einstein9 wrote:
do not feel shocked while looking @ this..

Am keeping my lovely 486 DX AST PC
How we can not to feel shocked, when you show us a 486 DX with AGP support? :mrgreen:

_________________
• Remote RAID, NAS, SAN, VMware, DVR (CCTV), flash and tape recovery. Data recovery partnership and support.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group