All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 10:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
I am trying to enter BOOTCODE mode with the MRTLAB, and it tells me to short circuit the ROM, but for other sites I have read that I have to short-circuit the reading channels (I identify them by giving 0.5v with the PCB isolated and turned on) .

Can somebody help me? Thank you.

PCB MODEL : 100749730 REV. A

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 14:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
I have another hard drive of the same model that works well, but it does not give me a terminal signal either.

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 15:28 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10764
Location: Australia
You need to understand the boot sequence, possibly something like this:

    1/ Execute MCU's internal kernel code
    2/ Test SDRAM and flash ROM
    3/ Unpack ROM into RAM
    4/ Execute ROM code in RAM
    5/ Test motor controller (and preamp ?)
    6/ Spin up and load overlays from SA
    7/ Report ready to host

Shorting the read channel would affect step 6 (and possibly step 5), so its purpose would be to prevent SA overlays or modules from loading into RAM.

Shorting the ROM interferes with step 2. If the MCU cannot find a ROM, it drops into BOOTCODE mode. Its purpose is to prepare the PCB for a ROM download via terminal. This is what happens at manufacturing time when the ROM is blank.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 15:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
fzabkar wrote:

Shorting the ROM interferes with step 2. If the MCU cannot find a ROM, it drops into BOOTCODE mode. Its purpose is to prepare the PCB for a ROM download via terminal. This is what happens at manufacturing time when the ROM is blank.


I think I had managed to get into BOOTCODE.
I have shorted pin 2-4 and 2-7 on another occasion, but the problem is that I do not have a terminal to work with.
Does this family have a special pin configuration that does not work for the mrtlab terminal?
I tried another ttl and I got "9" and arrows or strange symbols.

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 16:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10764
Location: Australia
You may need to change the baud rate, or perhaps the TTL voltage levels are mismatched.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 16:18 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
fzabkar wrote:
You may need to change the baud rate, or perhaps the TTL voltage levels are mismatched.


I was thinking about the voltage levels ttl.
I will try and with what I get I will comment on the forum.

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 16:47 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
With the adapter of the MRTLAB I connect with all the hard drives, but with this family I have had problems.
I have tried with an adapter that buys (it is very economical € 2) and has 5v and 3.3v selection and with this configured to 3.3v works perfectly.

I thought that all the discs worked at 3.3v.


Attachments:
IMG_20180820_222725.jpg
IMG_20180820_222725.jpg [ 1.8 MiB | Viewed 1287 times ]

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 17:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10764
Location: Australia
More recent models are using 2.5V or 1.8V TTL levels. Just measure the Tx/Rx pins with a multimeter.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 17:08 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10764
Location: Australia
I think you will find that MRT's adapter uses the CP2102 chip whereas the other adapter is based on some other IC. The former is limited to 1Mbps baud rates. Perhaps the latter can handle 6Mbps (as does the PL-2303HX)?

Can you can upload detailed photos (or CCD scans) of both PCBs (both sides)?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 17:31 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
The voltages of the economical adapter gives me 3.3v between GND-tx / rx
The MRTLAB gives me one of the voltages at 2.75v, the other 3.3v

At the moment I am unlocking the 3 discs that I have.
Greetings.


Attachments:
IMG_20180820_231528.jpg
IMG_20180820_231528.jpg [ 2.5 MiB | Viewed 1268 times ]
IMG_20180820_231650.jpg
IMG_20180820_231650.jpg [ 2.85 MiB | Viewed 1268 times ]

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 17:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10764
Location: Australia
I'm talking about the voltage levels at the HDD.

BTW, the CH340G chip supports 3Mbps.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 17:57 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
On the hard drive gives a level of 1.8v.

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 17:59 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10764
Location: Australia
mhp666 wrote:
On the hard drive gives a level of 1.8v.

That's part of the problem.

See the "Kindle mod" in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=29286

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 20th, 2018, 21:20 
Offline

Joined: August 7th, 2015, 5:48
Posts: 24
Location: New York, USA
don't have to shortpin the board manually, clicking the automatically enters bootcode mode (free shorted) would help you do it , the button is within the bootcode tool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 21st, 2018, 5:17 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
reco wrote:
don't have to shortpin the board manually, clicking the automatically enters bootcode mode (free shorted) would help you do it , the button is within the bootcode tool

Effectively, this hard drive model enters BOOTCODE mode through the terminal. Only one of the three that I have that stays in BSY, I have to short circuit the ROM.
All the problem I had is with the terminal adapter of the MRTLAB.

In case someone is worth:
1. Pins 2-4 of the ROM are short-circuited. pins 2-7 is another option.
2. The HDD turns on and enters BOOTCODE
3. The bridge is removed without turning off the HDD, so that it remains in BOOTCODE.
4. The desired operations are performed with the ROM.

If we want to start the discs without reading the SA data.
1. The contacts of the reading channel are bypassed.
2. We turn on the record and wait for BSY to stop.
3. You start working with the HDD.

Except mistakes is what I have managed to get clear.

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 21st, 2018, 16:34 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10764
Location: Australia
mhp666 wrote:
All the problem I had is with the terminal adapter of the MRTLAB.

The CP2102 chip's VIH threshold (2.0V) exceeds the output of the HDD UART (1.8V). I believe that MRT has a new adapter that can handle the lower voltages.

The CH340G chip has the same VIH threshold (2.0V) and a VIL threshold of 0.7V.


Attachments:
CP2102_Vih_Vil.gif
CP2102_Vih_Vil.gif [ 31.65 KiB | Viewed 1075 times ]

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 21st, 2018, 17:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
Él perdió mucho tiempo con el adaptador MRTLAB.
Voy a ponerme en contacto con ellos para ver lo nuevo del adaptador. Si no lo tienen, haré un bricolaje para utilizar estos económicos.
Por cierto, ¿los SEAGATE llevan bastante más liado el firmware, que WD o TOSHIBA ?.

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 21st, 2018, 17:41 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10764
Location: Australia
Ace Lab's new adapter supports 3.3V, 2.5V and 1.8V I/O levels.

PC USB Terminal 3 adapter:
http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=2437

It wouldn't be hard, or expensive, to modify a generic 3.3V adapter based on the CP2104 or PL-2303HX chips.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 22nd, 2018, 16:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
I have deleted the module 03 (put everything to zero) and when writing I have given an error and now the disk is in busy and with the error of the translator.
I have a terminal, but I do not know what file to write to restore module 03.

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ST1000DM003-1ER162-301 , NOT BOOTCODE
PostPosted: August 22nd, 2018, 17:55 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 144
Location: spain
OK, resolved
connect by terminal
F3 T> B460800 [Enter] "I change the speed to 460800 baud.

reconfigure the terminal to the new speed.

F3 T> r1B, 3.0 [Enter]
asks me for the file I select the YMODEM protocol and file 1B

You have to do it before 1 minute.

After recording I turn off and turn on the hard drive.
Again I connect to 38400 baud, regenero translator with m0,6,2 ,,,,, 22 (In my case NRList is empty).
I turn off and I turn on and I have access again.

Note:
reading rXXX, V, C
writing wXXX, V, C
XXX = File ID, V = Volume, C = copy

_________________
1 + 1 = 2?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group