All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: September 18th, 2018, 14:46 
Offline

Joined: January 7th, 2017, 2:25
Posts: 46
Location: Ireland
Hi there,

I have this drive WD wd800jd-75msa3 with the typical clicking issue, that will show 6.21GB sometimes.

I heard someone here did a hot swap and worked. Many people have replaced heads with no success.

Does anybody have experience on these Unicorn?

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: September 18th, 2018, 14:50 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7187
Location: UK
Have done quite a few :-)

In fact I’ve had two for recovery in the last two weeks!

Both were clicking and needed headswaps to recover, with a few “tweaks”.

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: September 18th, 2018, 17:04 
Offline

Joined: January 7th, 2017, 2:25
Posts: 46
Location: Ireland
pcimage wrote:
Have done quite a few :-)

In fact I’ve had two for recovery in the last two weeks!

Both were clicking and needed headswaps to recover, with a few “tweaks”.


By tweaks you mean alignment? I know these are bitches


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: September 19th, 2018, 2:10 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7187
Location: UK
Sometimes yes, but more often than not there are other issues.

First thing to do is check the voltage being pushed through to the preamp by the PCB.

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: October 12th, 2018, 3:51 
Offline

Joined: January 7th, 2017, 2:25
Posts: 46
Location: Ireland
pcimage wrote:
Sometimes yes, but more often than not there are other issues.

First thing to do is check the voltage being pushed through to the preamp by the PCB.


Heads replaced with success. Spinning freely now. I can see all files but only a few can be recovered. Using DMDE.
HDD Raw Copy Tool does not work when trying to clone the drive, it fails on 2%, the drive then disconnects and connects again.
There are like 600 bad sectors.

I am sure I am missing some steps as some files show "error in I/O" when trying to recover.

Sounds like it could be some issue with firmware too?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: October 12th, 2018, 15:08 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9687
Location: Portugal
Did you replace the heads with the drive inside a HEPA 100 clean room ? Hope so ...

Now you did need to clone/image the drive with some sort of hardware based tool like DDI4, PC-3000 DE, etc ....

Lacking that use HDDSUPERCLONE or DDRESCUE. Do not plug the drive directly to windows or whatever to "see" the files ....

Also on older models translator would be messed up easly. Example :

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33182

Your Unicorn should be Marvell based (not WDC MCU) but even so it's prior to ROYL so i wouldn't be admired if the "disconnects" and "connects again" like ... spinning down and up were to be related to translator damage (firmware) exactly like on the case on the link that i just did post ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: October 12th, 2018, 15:33 
Offline

Joined: January 7th, 2017, 2:25
Posts: 46
Location: Ireland
Spildit wrote:
Did you replace the heads with the drive inside a HEPA 100 clean room ? Hope so ...

Now you did need to clone/image the drive with some sort of hardware based tool like DDI4, PC-3000 DE, etc ....

Lacking that use HDDSUPERCLONE or DDRESCUE. Do not plug the drive directly to windows or whatever to "see" the files ....

Also on older models translator would be messed up easly. Example :

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33182

Your Unicorn should be Marvell based (not WDC MCU) but even so it's prior to ROYL so i wouldn't be admired if the "disconnects" and "connects again" like ... spinning down and up were to be related to translator damage (firmware) exactly like on the case on the link that i just did post ...


Yes I have a class 100 vertical laminar flow bench. Replacing heads is no problem, that has been mastered. I lack of hardware tools like PC3K or DDI4... that will take a while.
It is Marvel based. I downloaded the demo Marvel tool but don't know how it works or what to do. I know it is read only, but will buy it as it will come handy. I remember you sugested SeDiv too in an older post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: October 12th, 2018, 19:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9687
Location: Portugal
Not a good idea to practice with client drive ...

At any rate try to scan the start, middle and end of the LBA space with MHDD/Victoria. It's accessible ?

If so you might want to try hddsuperclone, does it clone the drive ?

If not you will need to outsource that job to someone with tools and knowledge to extract the data ....

Hardware imager might make a huge diference and some firmware manipulation might be required as well ....

Regards.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: October 12th, 2018, 19:37 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9687
Location: Portugal
This is a 80 GB drive so it should be easy for me to get an image out of it ...

Are you willing to ship the drive to Portugal and pay something for the clone/image ?

:D

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: October 12th, 2018, 20:43 
Offline

Joined: January 7th, 2017, 2:25
Posts: 46
Location: Ireland
Spildit wrote:
Not a good idea to practice with client drive ...

At any rate try to scan the start, middle and end of the LBA space with MHDD/Victoria. It's accessible ?

If so you might want to try hddsuperclone, does it clone the drive ?

If not you will need to outsource that job to someone with tools and knowledge to extract the data ....

Hardware imager might make a huge diference and some firmware manipulation might be required as well ....

Regards.


I have a full box of clicking drives and other issues, so no problem at all with data, but I have 2 of them that have some data that would be nice to see as they are from 8-10 years ago. No customer data.

If I can't solve the case with what I have count with it for recovery. Also I will consider you in the future for when I need to outsource stuff like this!!

And thanks for your guidance, much appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: October 13th, 2018, 14:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9687
Location: Portugal
Ok ! Please do let me know if you decide to ship it to me.

Regards and good luck.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: October 13th, 2018, 17:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 9th, 2007, 8:40
Posts: 785
Location: United Kingdom
do you have a dda

I see you are based in Eire you could try CDR in Dublin

_________________
<itch>
скратчи
If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs, you probably don't fully understand the situation. ... Mr Kipling


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: October 14th, 2018, 5:22 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7187
Location: UK
scratchy wrote:
do you have a dda

I see you are based in Eire you could try CDR in Dublin


Agree, CDR are good trustworthy guys.

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD wd800jd-75msa3
PostPosted: October 14th, 2018, 10:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9687
Location: Portugal
Yeah .... "Maybe" importing adaptives (micro-jogs) from new heads to old ROM might help as well....

At any rate check PM.

And if data is critical/important as stated please do stop hammering the drive with software and consult with a reputable data recovery firm.

Good luck.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abolibibelot, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 40 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group