All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 26th, 2018, 13:53 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 57
Location: ukraine
So i have the drive that have right from the 0 LBA couple
bad sectors, and the rest of the drive is fine/smooth.
I had an idea to Cut the first few Gig with DCO or HPA and
then use as usual. But i tried HPA, and it cuts drive from the
back[ with hdat2].

Q: Is it possible and how to hide area Starting from 0 LBA ?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 26th, 2018, 16:36 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10835
Location: Australia
The ATA standard provides an "address offset" feature, but I believe that these settings are volatile, ie they don't survive a power cycle. In any case, not all drives support this feature.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 27th, 2018, 1:29 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 57
Location: ukraine
Thanks,
will look into it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 27th, 2018, 4:44 
Offline

Joined: September 30th, 2005, 7:33
Posts: 614
For different brands it's different. No easy solution.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 27th, 2018, 16:27 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10835
Location: Australia
BGman wrote:
For different brands it's different. No easy solution.

IIUC, the OP is looking for a universal method using standard ATA commands, not VSCs.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 27th, 2018, 22:29 
Offline

Joined: December 9th, 2010, 2:59
Posts: 230
Location: kolkata
in 1990 we used to use pctools for skipping 0 sectors.

But now have completly forgotten the procedure. Anyone can remember now????????????????


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 28th, 2018, 2:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10835
Location: Australia
longlife wrote:
in 1990 we used to use pctools for skipping 0 sectors.

If you had an MFM drive, then you would have had to low level format it and enter the defects manually. These were printed on the label.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: October 2nd, 2018, 14:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9655
Location: Portugal
purenoise wrote:
So i have the drive that have right from the 0 LBA couple
bad sectors, and the rest of the drive is fine/smooth.
I had an idea to Cut the first few Gig with DCO or HPA and
then use as usual. But i tried HPA, and it cuts drive from the
back[ with hdat2].

Q: Is it possible and how to hide area Starting from 0 LBA ?

Thanks.


What is the full model and brand of your drive ?

If you have (vendor specific) firmware tools or if you know special vendor specific ATA commands for your drive you might translate those LBAs to physical location on platter and add those defects to P-List. Depending on the drive you might have to regen translator, format all sectors, etc but with specialized tools it should be very easy to "hide" a bunch of defects as long as the P-List is not full ...

Executing a "Cosmetic Fix" on drives with Bad Sectors :

Assigning slow sectors to the P-List :

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: October 2nd, 2018, 14:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9655
Location: Portugal
purenoise wrote:
So i have the drive that have right from the 0 LBA couple
bad sectors, and the rest of the drive is fine/smooth.


Not likely that the rest of the drive is fine ....

Try to WRITE to those first sectors !!!! If the drive is fine those sectors will be re-located as there will be entries on G-List telling the drive to swap those defective sectors by spares !!!

If you do write zeros to those damaged sectors and if the drive doesn't swap them for spares most likely you are out of spares (full G-List) or you did patch firmware to disable re-location, etc .... and if that is the case the drive is anything but in a fine condition ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group