All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 26th, 2018, 13:53 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 66
Location: ukraine
So i have the drive that have right from the 0 LBA couple
bad sectors, and the rest of the drive is fine/smooth.
I had an idea to Cut the first few Gig with DCO or HPA and
then use as usual. But i tried HPA, and it cuts drive from the
back[ with hdat2].

Q: Is it possible and how to hide area Starting from 0 LBA ?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 26th, 2018, 16:36 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11026
Location: Australia
The ATA standard provides an "address offset" feature, but I believe that these settings are volatile, ie they don't survive a power cycle. In any case, not all drives support this feature.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 27th, 2018, 1:29 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 66
Location: ukraine
Thanks,
will look into it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 27th, 2018, 4:44 
Offline

Joined: September 30th, 2005, 7:33
Posts: 618
For different brands it's different. No easy solution.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 27th, 2018, 16:27 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11026
Location: Australia
BGman wrote:
For different brands it's different. No easy solution.

IIUC, the OP is looking for a universal method using standard ATA commands, not VSCs.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 27th, 2018, 22:29 
Offline

Joined: December 9th, 2010, 2:59
Posts: 230
Location: kolkata
in 1990 we used to use pctools for skipping 0 sectors.

But now have completly forgotten the procedure. Anyone can remember now????????????????


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: September 28th, 2018, 2:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11026
Location: Australia
longlife wrote:
in 1990 we used to use pctools for skipping 0 sectors.

If you had an MFM drive, then you would have had to low level format it and enter the defects manually. These were printed on the label.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: October 2nd, 2018, 14:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
purenoise wrote:
So i have the drive that have right from the 0 LBA couple
bad sectors, and the rest of the drive is fine/smooth.
I had an idea to Cut the first few Gig with DCO or HPA and
then use as usual. But i tried HPA, and it cuts drive from the
back[ with hdat2].

Q: Is it possible and how to hide area Starting from 0 LBA ?

Thanks.


What is the full model and brand of your drive ?

If you have (vendor specific) firmware tools or if you know special vendor specific ATA commands for your drive you might translate those LBAs to physical location on platter and add those defects to P-List. Depending on the drive you might have to regen translator, format all sectors, etc but with specialized tools it should be very easy to "hide" a bunch of defects as long as the P-List is not full ...

Executing a "Cosmetic Fix" on drives with Bad Sectors :

Assigning slow sectors to the P-List :

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: October 2nd, 2018, 14:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
purenoise wrote:
So i have the drive that have right from the 0 LBA couple
bad sectors, and the rest of the drive is fine/smooth.


Not likely that the rest of the drive is fine ....

Try to WRITE to those first sectors !!!! If the drive is fine those sectors will be re-located as there will be entries on G-List telling the drive to swap those defective sectors by spares !!!

If you do write zeros to those damaged sectors and if the drive doesn't swap them for spares most likely you are out of spares (full G-List) or you did patch firmware to disable re-location, etc .... and if that is the case the drive is anything but in a fine condition ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 6:27 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 66
Location: ukraine
HDD is HGST 500GB 5400RPM Z5K500-500 HTS545050A7E680
At starting mhdd, i getting for 30secs
"error reading partition table drive 01 sector 0".
I did try couple of times mhdd.erase and some of the lba at
beginning changed from UNC to "red".
Also to confirm that the rest of the disk is <3ms read.
I would like to learn, and this hdd is good for practicing, so
i will try your good suggestions. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 16:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
Try :

1 - Use mhdd and "erase".

2 - Use mhdd and issue the fast erase (security erase).

3 - Use something like dban to write a pattern of data to the sectors.

4 - Check the drive with mhdd/victoria. Check S.M.A.R.T. . Were the sectors moved to G-List ? Do you have bad sectors or errors ?

5 - If your drive no longer have sectors that are showing error, abort, etc you can try Format Unit to move G-List to P-List :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2068

6 - If your drive no longer have bad sectors but still have red or orange slow sectors (or even green ones) and if you do want to get rid of them the cheapest alternative is to pocket out $350 for a SeDiv and use the option to add the Victoria log to the P-List. You can make Victoria log slow sectors (like green, etc) and then use SeDiv (assuming it supports your specific model) to place those sectors on the P-List. Other alternatives (more expensive) are the PC-3000, MRT, etc ... Personaly i do "refurb" my HGST drives with HRT and "defectoscope" that will place the "slow sectors" on the P-List but that tool is almost impossible to buy now.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 6:35 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 66
Location: ukraine
Did secure erase using PMagic and it went well, but
then booted into mhdd, and on F2 says that
'ATA Password locked'.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 6:40 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 66
Location: ukraine
hdat2 says security/enabled/high


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 6:57 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 66
Location: ukraine
Gsmartcontrol says "ATA Security ENABLED, PW level HIGH, **LOCKED** [SEC4]" and
in dialog for 'secure erase' "not frozen"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 7:24 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 66
Location: ukraine
Unlocked device unsing hdat2 permanently, but now
now each sector shows error when i try to
F4 with mhdd. Before when i started scan from
100mil.lba scan was smooth at 110mb/s and no
slow sectors.
Is it a heads ?
Can i do something with that or only with the
special tools ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 10:45 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
Are you sure the drive is no longer locked ?

Do EID with MHDD and check if it's indeed unlocked.

Maybe the drive was already in a very poor condition and doing the security erase did end up killing it like damaging the head(s) or placing too many defects on the G-List, etc ....

Again better to buy a new drive if you don't have better tools to deal with it.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 11:11 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 66
Location: ukraine
I did Shift+F2 = Unlocked [ did after power-cycle]
I keep detailed log of every step, so i have a record
of scanning with mhdd starting from 700mil.lba and
it did run smooth, and after ATA SE strait from 700
each lba 'Error'=UNC, but then i set 800m.lba and
it's ok. Not worrying about this disk= practicing on it, but
it looks like some parts of the hdd is ok and other
just UNC.
So i just want to understand, is it surface, heads ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 12:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
Might be a damaged head or patches of surface that are bad (bad zones), etc ...

Without some sort of firmware tool it's hard to tell.

This is a HGST unit so you might want to try the format unit command as well but most likely you will not get much better results ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 12:50 
Offline

Joined: April 6th, 2014, 5:59
Posts: 66
Location: ukraine
Ok, thanks for lessons.

HGST 500GB 5400RPM Z5K500-500 HTS545050A7E680 - for parts/donnor


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to hide first Sectors on hdd ?
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 14:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
This is very hard to tell what the problem indeed is without having the drive with me. Might be a damaged head so you see patches of good sectors alternated with patches of bad sectors. It might be that just some bad sectors are present.

You would need to check G-List, see if you could move defects to P-List (if not full) and scan for more deects, etc ...

I don't have any way to cut zones on your drive so .... Yes ... You most likely can re-sell the PCB ....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group