All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 500GB hard drive showing around 32GB
PostPosted: October 18th, 2018, 4:33 
Offline

Joined: October 18th, 2018, 4:25
Posts: 1
Location: Việt Nam
I have a Dell laptop that I got about a year ago with a Seagate ST9500420ASG 500GB 7200rmp hard drive in it. But it has always only showed - in the Bios and every other Windows 10, and other software that it is only 33GB capacity. I first assumed that this was because it was formatted as FAT or FAT32 but the drive is listed as NTFS.

I have dealt with it this way for a while, but gradually over the year, the windows updates have used up all the space on the disk and I have now had to delete literally everything else and still cannot get the latest huge Windows 10 update. So I was just about ready to give up and reformat the entire disk and switch to Linux - after everyone I asked provided either solutions that have been tried and failed, or were not applicable to my problem. Then the other day, after hours of searching, I found out about SEATOOLS for DOS and the "set capacity to native max" option. I already had SEATOOLS for windows installed and it - like everything else listed the drive as 33gb.

My question is - is it worth downloading, and trying this SEATOOLS for DOS application to try and fix this problem and if so - will it cause any or all loss of data (in my case that would mean my Windows 10 OS which I won't be able to get back).

Has anyone had the problem I am describing and had good results with this? I am here after having exhausted just about every other option and sure didn't want to have to create yet another username and password for yet another forum, but I thought it was worth a shot asking here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 500GB hard drive showing around 32GB
PostPosted: October 18th, 2018, 15:12 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9875
Location: Portugal
Ask to the guy who sold your the laptop why did the drive change capacity to 33 GB ....

There are several options. It can be that the laptop have some BIOS bug and only report that capacity (not likely) or most likely someone messed with the drive at firmware level.

Check for potential HPA, DCO, etc ...

Try this tool :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=51

If the drive is still reporting as 33 gb try to plug the drive to another computer like a desktop to exclude BIOS limitation. Check jumpers, etc .... If still no go most likely someone refurb the drive by running some sort of firmware hack/trick and reducing the capacity. Things like disabling head(s), cutting zones, etc....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 500GB hard drive showing around 32GB
PostPosted: October 19th, 2018, 13:17 
Offline

Joined: November 22nd, 2017, 21:47
Posts: 166
Location: France
The first thing to do before attempting anything would be to backup the entire system partition (to a backup drive, or a bunch of DVDs if you don't have one available at the moment, with something like Acronis True Image or Macrium Reflect or any other reputed equivalent product – be sure to verify the backup afterwards) if you don't want to re-install everything from scratch.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], HddDonorMarket and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group