All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HTS421280H9AT00 Does not spin
PostPosted: November 7th, 2018, 10:13 
Offline

Joined: May 28th, 2016, 9:16
Posts: 135
Location: Karlsruhe / Germany
Hey Guys,

I have a problem with a HTS421280H9AT00 drive. The drive does not spin, and wasn't recognised at all. The diodes were ok. I got a donor board for the drive, with the donor, the drive started to spin, but - of course - I wasn't able to get the data. So I transferred the flash chip from the patient board to the donor board.

But now the drive does not spin with the donor board with the patient flash on it. But I got a RDY Signal. And I was able to read the ROM with PC3k, so I think that there is something wrong with the firmware.

Does any one have an idea, what I can do? I attached the ROM to this posting.


Attachments:
ROM.rar [36.65 KiB]
Downloaded 6 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS421280H9AT00 Does not spin
PostPosted: November 7th, 2018, 15:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10944
Location: Australia
Doesn't your PCB have a separate NVRAM chip?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS421280H9AT00 Does not spin
PostPosted: November 7th, 2018, 15:15 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7213
Location: UK
fzabkar wrote:
Doesn't your PCB have a separate NVRAM chip?


Should have one @ U6

I expect the OP has switched ROM @ U3 only.

If the FW version of the ROM doesn’t match the NVRAM then the drive won’t spin up.

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS421280H9AT00 Does not spin
PostPosted: November 7th, 2018, 15:34 
Offline

Joined: May 28th, 2016, 9:16
Posts: 135
Location: Karlsruhe / Germany
pcimage wrote:
I expect the OP has switched ROM @ U3 only.


I just switched the U6.... Okay, so I have to switch the U6....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS421280H9AT00 Does not spin
PostPosted: November 7th, 2018, 15:34 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9828
Location: Portugal
Read NVRam with your firmware tools ?

Maybe NVRam is damaged as well ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS421280H9AT00 Does not spin
PostPosted: November 7th, 2018, 19:46 
Offline

Joined: May 28th, 2016, 9:16
Posts: 135
Location: Karlsruhe / Germany
Just for my understanding, the U3 Chip is the NVRam chip and the U6 Chip is the ROM chip, right?

Because I transferred now the U3 Chip, but there was no result. I read the NVRam and ROM before I transferred the second chip. The ROM file was the same, but the NVRam Data changed a little bit. But with the same result, the drive does not spin up.


Attachments:
NV-RAM.rar [204 Bytes]
Downloaded 7 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS421280H9AT00 Does not spin
PostPosted: November 7th, 2018, 19:55 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10944
Location: Australia
Can you show us a photo of your PCB?

BTW, your NVRAM dumps are bad. How are you dumping the NVRAM?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS421280H9AT00 Does not spin
PostPosted: November 8th, 2018, 3:04 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7213
Location: UK
D_R wrote:
Just for my understanding, the U3 Chip is the NVRam chip and the U6 Chip is the ROM chip, right?

Because I transferred now the U3 Chip, but there was no result. I read the NVRam and ROM before I transferred the second chip. The ROM file was the same, but the NVRam Data changed a little bit. But with the same result, the drive does not spin up.


Read my post, ROM is U3 (the larger chip) :-)

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS421280H9AT00 Does not spin
PostPosted: November 8th, 2018, 6:09 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7213
Location: UK
fzabkar wrote:
Can you show us a photo of your PCB?

BTW, your NVRAM dumps are bad. How are you dumping the NVRAM?


Agreed, your NRAM reads are garbage.

Attached is sample NVRAM from this model...

Your ROM version appears to be A70G like this sample NVRAM, so if the NVRAM is corrupt then you'll have to try a "NVRAM search" in a FW tool like PC3000 (or actually the Salvation tool is quite good at this!)


Attachments:
NV-RAM.rar [343 Bytes]
Downloaded 2 times

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group