All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 13th, 2018, 6:33 
Offline

Joined: September 14th, 2018, 13:41
Posts: 66
Location: italy
LDR needed for st3320820A firmware 3.AAD
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 13th, 2018, 15:18 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11017
Location: Australia
Your tool should be able to generate a loader from these resources:
http://files.hddguru.com/download/PC-3000%20Support/Firmware/Seagate/Galaxy/ST3320820A_S-6D_3.AAD_.089_.0GB.rar

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 14th, 2018, 15:49 
Offline

Joined: December 5th, 2011, 5:38
Posts: 1173
Location: Italy
MRT hasn't any function for generating LDR file from U5 drives fw resources.
Building it directly from hdd doesn't work (fake ldr).


Last edited by michael chiklis on November 14th, 2018, 15:53, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 14th, 2018, 15:53 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11017
Location: Australia
I can try to make a loader by hand, if the OP would like to give it a go.

Can you show us a "fake loader"?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 15th, 2018, 9:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9982
Location: Portugal
Can't you simply load by SDLD the required "tracks" from a PC-3000 dump using MRT ?

Like for example using SeDiv you do SDLD to the drives the relevant portion of firmware code on tracks ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 15th, 2018, 20:53 
Offline

Joined: December 5th, 2011, 5:38
Posts: 1173
Location: Italy
fzabkar wrote:
I can try to make a loader by hand, if the OP would like to give it a go.

Can you show us a "fake loader"?


https://mega.nz/#F!O01DkBRI!MxP2J6ZNqXD ... Q!mk1gjI7I

Download ST3160215A-3.AAD-9RABW60Y.rar from that folder, you will find two LDRs, one from mrt and another from pc3000, u can compare them.
I've saved also tracks inside ST3160215A-3.AAD-9RABW60Y.rar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 15th, 2018, 21:13 
Offline

Joined: December 5th, 2011, 5:38
Posts: 1173
Location: Italy
Spildit wrote:
Can't you simply load by SDLD the required "tracks" from a PC-3000 dump using MRT ?

Like for example using SeDiv you do SDLD to the drives the relevant portion of firmware code on tracks ...


Not possible, it's possible only to load LDR (only from pc3000 database because those one created with mrt won't work) and buffer.
Attachment:
Load LDR in MRT U5.jpg
Load LDR in MRT U5.jpg [ 65.21 KiB | Viewed 885 times ]
Attachment:
Write buffer MRT U5.jpg
Write buffer MRT U5.jpg [ 207.24 KiB | Viewed 885 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 16th, 2018, 8:11 
Offline

Joined: December 5th, 2011, 5:38
Posts: 1173
Location: Italy
Sorry, i thought mega folder could be shared publicly, but now i see it's not like that.
Ok, i attached here the fw resource
Attachment:
ST3160215A-3.AAD-9RABW60Y.rar [2.17 MiB]
Downloaded 23 times


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 16th, 2018, 15:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9982
Location: Portugal
This is stupid ....

Are you sure MRT doesn't have any function to SDLD from individual portions of tracks ?

Like this ?

Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 117.14 KiB | Viewed 828 times ]


:shock:

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 16th, 2018, 15:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9982
Location: Portugal
Here .... HRT Barracuda (ST-10) tool :

Attachment:
hrt.jpg
hrt.jpg [ 86.75 KiB | Viewed 828 times ]


You can load from "Full loader" (Read, Save, Load) and that is in HRT format but if you don't have loaders in HRT format you can simply go to the section that you want like app, cert, ata, etc and use "Load" to load from a file. You don't need to use the compiled "loader" if you do have correspondent tracks and if you do have them you can compile a loader for easy of use.

I did never used that as i do like SeDiv for ST-10 but it doesn't make much sense if you can't load individual portions of code on tracks if you don't have a full loader in MRT format ....

:cry:

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 16th, 2018, 15:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9982
Location: Portugal
Interesting --- HRT can't open the MRT neither the PC3K loader, as expected ...

Let me check your example ....

Attachment:
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 62.5 KiB | Viewed 828 times ]

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 16th, 2018, 15:37 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9982
Location: Portugal
Your module dump is missing ATA OVERLAY.

I didn't set the values of CYL/SECTOR on HRT as well. I did generate a loader and i can open it back.

Attachment:
4.jpg
4.jpg [ 79.85 KiB | Viewed 828 times ]


Attachment:
hrt-loader.rar [269.54 KiB]
Downloaded 18 times


Attachment:
aa.jpg
aa.jpg [ 172.6 KiB | Viewed 828 times ]


This is just a compilation of the modules in HRT file format (unique file that cointains all resources).

Too bad that MRT doesn't allow to generate the loader by adding individual components to the archive file ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 16th, 2018, 15:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9982
Location: Portugal
At any rate i never use HRT with ST-10, I ALLWAYS use SeDiv now as it's very cool for ST-10 drives and because of that I don't have any loader in HRT format. I do save the modules and tracks when i do need them in "raw" format as i can use them that way with SeDiv and if for some "odd" reason i need to use HRT or STCom or anything else i can use the "code" / modules in raw format instead of using a propriatary (loader) file format. Same as for Maxtor loaders, etc ... I try to save individual CPs even if i "compile" them on HRT archive ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 16th, 2018, 16:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11017
Location: Australia
PC3K loaders are compressed whereas MRT's are not. It seems very odd that MRT can recognise and decompress a PC3K loader, yet cannot make use of its own.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 16th, 2018, 23:00 
Offline

Joined: August 7th, 2015, 5:48
Posts: 41
Location: New York, USA
fzabkar wrote:
PC3K loaders are compressed whereas MRT's are not. It seems very odd that MRT can recognise and decompress a PC3K loader, yet cannot make use of its own.

As i know, loaders backup by PC3K/MRT in data base are compressed, but when back up as file, both are uncompressed. MRT can recognise and decompress PC3K loader, however not the other way around.

I do not know why it can't be used here regarding a u5 drive, I do not have any in hand at moment otherwise i can try and give you more information by testing both PC3K&MRT. Personally experience this can be used so far if it is a f3 drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 10:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9982
Location: Portugal
reco wrote:
fzabkar wrote:
PC3K loaders are compressed whereas MRT's are not. It seems very odd that MRT can recognise and decompress a PC3K loader, yet cannot make use of its own.

As i know, loaders backup by PC3K/MRT in data base are compressed, but when back up as file, both are uncompressed. MRT can recognise and decompress PC3K loader, however not the other way around.

I do not know why it can't be used here regarding a u5 drive, I do not have any in hand at moment otherwise i can try and give you more information by testing both PC3K&MRT. Personally experience this can be used so far if it is a f3 drive.


Can you use MRT to save firmware "raw" code as binary files (not encoded for MRT) and then use those files to load the drive from F to T by SDLD the mentioned code to the drive ?

Baceause as far as we can see MRT doesn't have an option to load the individual code files to the software to later load them (SDLD) to the drive. It apears to only alow for one to input an already made loader file (compressed for PC-3000 / MRT) with the code firmware components...

If you do have a backup of the tracks or of "modules" (like code on tracks) can you load that to the drive using MRT even more if the drive is stuck in F> and you need to load for example app code to RAM ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 15:34 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11017
Location: Australia
IIUC, a "classic" loader (LDR) consists of an "Mrt" header followed by several firmware components, each of which is preceded by a header of the form ...

    ID (byte) eg 10 (ROM), 11 (App code), 12 (Cert), etc
    size
    PCHS (cyl / head / sector)

This would suggest that the data recovery software interprets the LDR file, extracts the individual firmware components, and then uploads them to the drive, one by one.

OTOH, an F3 loader (LOD) appears to be uploaded to the drive as a complete LOD file, and it is the drive's firmware which then extracts each component rather than the tool.

Could it be that PC3K's classic LDR is decompressed and executed by the drive?? Or could it be that MRT expects all LDR files to be compressed, in which case its own uncompressed version would be detected as a fake?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 16:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9982
Location: Portugal
fzabkar wrote:
Could it be that PC3K's classic LDR is decompressed and executed by the drive??


I'm sure this is not the case.

F3 loaders are like "overlay" that you send to the drive, for example like Module 11 on WD. Overlay on F3 arch can be send by ATA download microcode standard command. Some tools do have loaders "encrypted" for them. SeDiv do use this method. This is to prevent files for SeDiv to be used with other tools. SeDiv decrypts the files and send them to the drive.

On ST-10 / classic the drive have no way to decompress the loader in PC3K format (or MRT). Also you are not sending by ATA, you are SDLD (Seagate Protocol) by terminal the "components" so the tool itself have to decode the loader file and send individual components to the drive. You can also chose what components to send. You might want for example send only ATA + APP and don't send CERT, etc ... The drive doesn't understand "loader" and you are not sending it by ATA. Those loaders do have to be "decoded" by the firmware tool and when you use the SDLD protocol by terminal you need to send the code directly.

This is of course a MRT bug. It can decode the PC3K loader but can't decode it's own loader.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 19:19 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11017
Location: Australia
Spildit wrote:
F3 loaders are like "overlay" that you send to the drive, for example like Module 11 on WD. Overlay on F3 arch can be send by ATA download microcode standard command.

I was in fact wondering whether there exists a Seagate format for a classic loader which can be sent by the ATA Download Microcode command (92h). I did attempt to parse the payload in an official Seagate Galaxy firmware update. It appears to have a special format that is totally different to Mrt's loader. However, it is not clear whether Seagate's update utility strips the firmware components from the LDR file and uploads them separately via a VSC, or whether the drive itself handles everything.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LDR needed for st3320820A
PostPosted: November 17th, 2018, 19:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9982
Location: Portugal
Yeah ...

While the majority of firmware tools do work on those old ST-10 drives by TTL there is still the possibility to use ATA VSCs to gain access to firmware on those ...

So yes ... There must be a VSC command (ATA) to update the firmware code or maybe the oficial updates do use Download Microcode and send a payload that the drive will handle ...

The way to know would be for example to get a drive to your firmware update and to send the payload manualy with 92h. If it does work then the drive itself will handle the payload. If not the update tool do "decompress" the payload and send to the drive by ATA the components using whatever command ....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group