All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 11th, 2019, 4:06 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 28th, 2009, 10:54
Posts: 2825
Location: Greece
Cables?

_________________
WD Trusted Partners
http://www.northwind.gr
SandForce SSD Recovery
Ransomware Reverse Engineering - NoMoreRansom! partners


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 11th, 2019, 8:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
northwind wrote:
Cables?


I don't have a clue .... I did take a look just using TeamViewer and it was a very quick look.

I power on the drive on MRT and ALL the status registers of MRT do turn on and off over and over again like blinking leds each second .... reminds of Christmas tree lights ..... In all my experience with IBM/Hitachi/HGST and using my HRT card for many years now i did never ever saw anything like that ... It's the first time. For me when a PCB/DRIVE Is toasted either the registers will stay all lit like when you don't have anything connected to the HRT card or the drive will be stuck on BSY or will show errors, etc but it's the first time i saw all register status going on and off each sec. ... Very strange ... Not that i use that MRT much (as i don't have it and the few times that i did use it it was by TeamViewer) but i did many IBM based drives now with HRT and SeDiv (Locally) (mainly with HRT as i use SeDiv for the arm BASED ONES ONLY) and here a think like that (register status blinking) did never happen ...

So i would say something is not right with that MRT unit ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 11th, 2019, 17:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 381
Location: spain
First of all thank you for your help.
I am going to give MRTLAB another week and if I do not manage to record the firmware I will become another tool for the hitachi.
The effect of switching off and on the lights continuously will appear on the disk when corrupting the OVR0 module. I usually corrupt different modules one by one to see the effects on the HDD to study the behavior of firmware failures.
Greetings.

_________________
Is Earth an intelligent being?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 11th, 2019, 17:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
mhp666 wrote:
First of all thank you for your help.
I am going to give MRTLAB another week and if I do not manage to record the firmware I will become another tool for the hitachi.
The effect of switching off and on the lights continuously will appear on the disk when corrupting the OVR0 module. I usually corrupt different modules one by one to see the effects on the HDD to study the behavior of firmware failures.
Greetings.


This doesn't make sense at all ... Why would the status registers change like that ? :shock: :shock: :shock:

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 11th, 2019, 17:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
I will try later with a drive that i can mess up with

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 11th, 2019, 18:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 9th, 2007, 8:40
Posts: 796
Location: United Kingdom
If this is a pata drive master is a jumper at each end of the jumper block. (2 rows of 4 pins)

::::

Jumpered

|::|

_________________
<itch>
скратчи
If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs, you probably don't fully understand the situation. ... Mr Kipling


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 12th, 2019, 14:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 381
Location: spain
scratchy wrote:
If this is a pata drive master is a jumper at each end of the jumper block. (2 rows of 4 pins)

::::

Jumpered

|::|

It's a SATA HDD.
Thanks for the indication on the configuration that you have sent.

_________________
Is Earth an intelligent being?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 12th, 2019, 17:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
So .... Did you test this any further ? If you damage the OVR0 on other drives (IBM arch M24) does MRT react the same way ? Are you unable to restore the drives to full working condition ?

Did you just write junk to that OVR0 ? I will test this out myself later.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 12th, 2019, 17:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 381
Location: spain
mhp666 wrote:
So .... Did you test this any further ? If you damage the OVR0 on other drives (IBM arch M24) does MRT react the same way ?

Forgive my ignorance in things that can be basic.
I do not understand what you mean with "IBM arch M24" units.
Right now I'm going to try another hitachi HDD "HTS541010G9SA00". If I modify the OVR0 of copy 1 the HDD continues to work, but if I modify only the copy 0 is when I have the problem, I will leave the copy 1 intact as well changing the head map I have some possibility.
I'm going to start with other important modules, but I'm not going to touch the microcode ones.

Before doing anything I made a copya of the modules in RAM and then I started the HDD in SAFE MODE mode, I loaded the LDR and then I loaded all the modules in RAM, but it gave me error in many modules and does not identify the HDD

_________________
Is Earth an intelligent being?


Last edited by mhp666 on January 12th, 2019, 18:04, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 12th, 2019, 18:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
Those drives that you have Hitachi/HGST are prior to ARM ARCH and are from a M24 ARCH. Those Hitachi use the same ARCH as older IBM based drives.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 12th, 2019, 19:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
Ahhhh OKKKKKK

Let's see .... I do have a drive exactly like yours !!!! Same model !!!! I did clear that overlay and now the drive just clicks !!! With each single click the leds for the register status goes on and off !!!

Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 42.07 KiB | Viewed 490 times ]


Now drive is gone .... I will try to load PCB only to patch NVram to block SA access ....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 12th, 2019, 19:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
Big shi*** I will try to block SA access :

Attachment:
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 46.35 KiB | Viewed 490 times ]


Attachment:
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 35.89 KiB | Viewed 490 times ]


I set that marker firmware load to 0 and i will put PCB back to drive now.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 12th, 2019, 19:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 381
Location: spain
I get to boot the HDD with copy 1 if the copy 0 is defective. It's the only thing I get with MRTLAB at the moment.
I can not fix the HDD at the moment but I can access the data.
I have added to the SA address a 0x1000 offset and it looks like it uses the ABA address to read the modules and it seems like a patch works.
For today I abandon, tomorrow I will see the results and continue with the MRTLAB.
Greetings.


Attachments:
2019-01-13 at 00-05-51.png
2019-01-13 at 00-05-51.png [ 18.38 KiB | Viewed 490 times ]
Image 0.jpg
Image 0.jpg [ 452.7 KiB | Viewed 490 times ]

_________________
Is Earth an intelligent being?
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 13th, 2019, 6:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 381
Location: spain
How to proceed to recover the firmware of the SA in HITACHI-IBM with the MRTLAB:
1. The PCB is isolated.
2. The SA entries in the NVRAM are changed, so that it does not read copies 0 and 1 assuming the worst case that the 2 are broken. The SA entry can be decremented by 1.
3. The HDD is placed with the PCB connected to the HDA.
4. We enter SAFE MODE (it seems to me that it is not necessary).
5. Load the LDR so that the MRTLAB knows where to write the modules.
6. The correct modules are recorded.

The HDD does not find copies 0 and 1 load the copy F, and with it the code needed to write the modules. It's the conclusion I've reached but I'm not sure.

I think there must be some bridge configuration in PCB or modification in NVRAM, so that the HDD does not read copies 0 and 1 and directly read the copy F, I would be the correct way to enter safe mode to repair the firmware.
I tried the "boot flag" of the NVRAM, but it did not work for me.

_________________
Is Earth an intelligent being?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 13th, 2019, 8:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
Please post the original NVRam and the NVRam changed with MRT to gain access when the heads are clicking.

Thanks.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 13th, 2019, 8:41 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
For me the foot flag doesn't work as well (head click). I would lilke to see what did MRT change on the NVRam to change FW location. Please post both NVRams, one original and one changed by MRT. Thanks.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 13th, 2019, 9:12 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 381
Location: spain
What I do not know is how to start to enter the SAFE MODE for the HITACHI-ARM. I have one that I have the firmware that is not yours, I have a copy of all the original firmware and I want to see if I can recover it.
In these models there is no copy F. In theory they should work by loading something in memory. I will investigate a little.
http://en.mrtlab.com/wp-content/uploads ... RT-Pro.pdf


Attachments:
NV-RAM.rar [855 Bytes]
Downloaded 17 times

_________________
Is Earth an intelligent being?
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 13th, 2019, 13:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
This is not quite working for me ...

Can you try something out for me ?

Write the attached NVRam to you drive and patch it with MRT to block SA exactly as you have done with your drive, please. Then post result NVRam and write your NVRam back to your drive.

Thanks.

Attachment:
NVRAM.rar [1.67 KiB]
Downloaded 16 times

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 13th, 2019, 14:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10527
Location: Portugal
And by the way on this PCB what points did you short ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SAFE MODE HITACHI???
PostPosted: January 13th, 2019, 14:53 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 17th, 2018, 11:43
Posts: 381
Location: spain
I pass the modified NVRAM.


Attachments:
NVRAM.rar [411 Bytes]
Downloaded 15 times

_________________
Is Earth an intelligent being?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], jerovsek and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group