All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 5th, 2019, 8:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 16th, 2018, 12:09
Posts: 253
Location: Turkey
I had a patient WD drive for practise. Don't remember model now.
I couldn't get drive info and user data on MRT
Used LDR . Checked modules somehow exactly don't remember now.
I remember module 1 damaged.
Checked by ID , Copy 0 , Copy1 . But I saw damaged module 1 with 3 method .
Than searched SA from track for module 1. And found module 1.
I have load module 1 ( as I remember virtually)
Then I could get full modules. Backed up.
And I could get drive info and user data.

So there is my topic.
What mean ID , copy 0 , copy 1, track .
I guessed copy and track same. But looks like different according to this experience.

_________________
A Recovery Service In Turkey . Veri Kurtarma Türkiye https://www.digitalverikurtarma.com
Donor Drives hdddonormarket.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 5th, 2019, 9:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Reading by ID the firmware tool will issue a VENDOR SPECIFIC COMMAND with the module ID number and the drive will retrieve that to the buffer to be fetched by the tool.

Reading by COPY 0 / COPY 1 the tool will issue a VENDOR SPECIFIC COMMAND to read PHYISICAL locations of the drive. The tool itself will chek DIR to know where the modules are located and will issue a command to read those exact places on SA rather then issuing just a command with the module ID number to read and let the drive send the data. On module reading by ID you don't care for the place where the modules are stored as the drive will handle that for you but the drive must have a valid loaded DIR so that the drive knows where to get the modules from. When reading by copy 0, copy 1, etc you just need for the drive to be able to retrieve the data on those spots but you do need to know how to parse DIR yourself so that you know what sectors to read for whatever module.

Composite reading is when you set the tool to read from head 0 and when it finds spots that it can't read it shitch to head 1 so that it will read portion that can't be read with head 0 from head 1 or copy 0 and copy1 ... Idea is to make good module from portion that can't be read on one copy but can be read on the other.

Tracks readin will use even another VSC (vendor specific command). That one you inser the number of the (firmware) track that you want to read and the drive will retrieve all the data on that track. This is of use for example if DIR is damaged and drive can't retrieve anything by ID as it no longer knows the locations of modules but a track reading command will still send to your tool all the data on that track. From there you can search/CRAVE modules on the tracks, get native module 01 to load to RAM and drive wll be aware of module location now to work by ID ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 5th, 2019, 10:12 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 16th, 2018, 12:09
Posts: 253
Location: Turkey
Look like kinda damaged MBR or MFT and searching files from Raw copy .
Am I true ?

_________________
A Recovery Service In Turkey . Veri Kurtarma Türkiye https://www.digitalverikurtarma.com
Donor Drives hdddonormarket.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 5th, 2019, 10:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
More or less lolololol

If DIR is not loaded to RAM drive doesn't know anything about modules so you can't tell the drive to "guive me module 02" because it doesn't know where it is. If DIR is loaded and drive is ok you can tell to the drive guive me module 02 and the drive will know where it is and will guive it to you.

Now if the drive is not aware about module ID it can still be aware of tracks so you tell drive "guive me track x" and the drive provides that to you. Now you remove module 01 from that track and load it to RAM, now drive is aware of module ID ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 5th, 2019, 11:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 16th, 2018, 12:09
Posts: 253
Location: Turkey
You are helpful . Thanks for info.
I should learn more about modules and SA structure.

_________________
A Recovery Service In Turkey . Veri Kurtarma Türkiye https://www.digitalverikurtarma.com
Donor Drives hdddonormarket.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 8th, 2019, 6:06 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 24th, 2018, 11:02
Posts: 107
Location: Iran
Spildit wrote:
Reading by ID the firmware tool will issue a VENDOR SPECIFIC COMMAND with the module ID number and the drive will retrieve that to the buffer to be fetched by the tool.

Reading by COPY 0 / COPY 1 the tool will issue a VENDOR SPECIFIC COMMAND to read PHYISICAL locations of the drive. The tool itself will chek DIR to know where the modules are located and will issue a command to read those exact places on SA rather then issuing just a command with the module ID number to read and let the drive send the data. On module reading by ID you don't care for the place where the modules are stored as the drive will handle that for you but the drive must have a valid loaded DIR so that the drive knows where to get the modules from. When reading by copy 0, copy 1, etc you just need for the drive to be able to retrieve the data on those spots but you do need to know how to parse DIR yourself so that you know what sectors to read for whatever module.

Composite reading is when you set the tool to read from head 0 and when it finds spots that it can't read it shitch to head 1 so that it will read portion that can't be read with head 0 from head 1 or copy 0 and copy1 ... Idea is to make good module from portion that can't be read on one copy but can be read on the other.

Tracks readin will use even another VSC (vendor specific command). That one you inser the number of the (firmware) track that you want to read and the drive will retrieve all the data on that track. This is of use for example if DIR is damaged and drive can't retrieve anything by ID as it no longer knows the locations of modules but a track reading command will still send to your tool all the data on that track. From there you can search/CRAVE modules on the tracks, get native module 01 to load to RAM and drive wll be aware of module location now to work by ID ...


Thanks, great info.

_________________
A Beginner in Data Recovery with MRT Ultra


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 8th, 2019, 14:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
As a matter of fact ... basic info ... and do apply to some other brands as well ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 8th, 2019, 20:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 16th, 2018, 12:09
Posts: 253
Location: Turkey
What about Toshiba CP files?
Has only 1 copy. Am I right?

_________________
A Recovery Service In Turkey . Veri Kurtarma Türkiye https://www.digitalverikurtarma.com
Donor Drives hdddonormarket.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 9th, 2019, 14:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
For the majority of Toshiba CPs there will be only one copy as the majority of CPs are stored in ROM ... Some CPs are stored in platter, and there are some CPs that are present on ROM and there are copy on platter ... and there are some modules like "S" that is stored in platter and there is no copy on ROM ...

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=1254

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 10th, 2019, 14:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 16th, 2018, 12:09
Posts: 253
Location: Turkey
Thanks for respons.

_________________
A Recovery Service In Turkey . Veri Kurtarma Türkiye https://www.digitalverikurtarma.com
Donor Drives hdddonormarket.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: May 10th, 2019, 15:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
No problem !

Happy learning !

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: July 30th, 2019, 14:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 16th, 2018, 12:09
Posts: 253
Location: Turkey
I have some same cases several wd drives . Not remember models now.
Copy 1 module ok
Copy 2 module ok
But same module bad or unreadable ByID.
Cannot write over ByID also.
Any suggestions?

_________________
A Recovery Service In Turkey . Veri Kurtarma Türkiye https://www.digitalverikurtarma.com
Donor Drives hdddonormarket.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: July 30th, 2019, 15:17 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2690
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Hi ,
First Bye a Better Tool Like PC3K ,You Will Have More Control Over Hard DRives ,Secondly in The Location of The DIR Module Is Wrong In Rom You Can Get The Issue You Stated Above ,In That Case You Have To Carve ABA Location FRom Tracks For DIR Module And Then Update ROM For The Same

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: July 30th, 2019, 15:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 16th, 2018, 12:09
Posts: 253
Location: Turkey
Amarbir[CDR-Labs] wrote:
Hi ,
First Bye a Better Tool Like PC3K ,You Will Have More Control Over Hard DRives ,Secondly in The Location of The DIR Module Is Wrong In Rom You Can Get The Issue You Stated Above ,In That Case You Have To Carve ABA Location FRom Tracks For DIR Module And Then Update ROM For The Same


Thanks för response.
I know I should buy pc3k. But money problem for for me now. I hope In future.

So.
Is it solution to ofset that module to another track. I could do it with MRT . I did before sometime when bad track in sa . It would make adjustments automatically that you told. I hope It's a way . I don't know manual way that you told above.

_________________
A Recovery Service In Turkey . Veri Kurtarma Türkiye https://www.digitalverikurtarma.com
Donor Drives hdddonormarket.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD drives Modules ID Copy0 Copy1 Track
PostPosted: July 30th, 2019, 15:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2690
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
HddDonorMarket wrote:
Amarbir[CDR-Labs] wrote:
Hi ,
First Bye a Better Tool Like PC3K ,You Will Have More Control Over Hard DRives ,Secondly in The Location of The DIR Module Is Wrong In Rom You Can Get The Issue You Stated Above ,In That Case You Have To Carve ABA Location FRom Tracks For DIR Module And Then Update ROM For The Same


Thanks för response.
I know I should buy pc3k. But money problem for for me now. I hope In future.

So.
Is it solution to ofset that module to another track. I could do it with MRT . I did before sometime when bad track in sa . It would make adjustments automatically that you told. I hope It's a way . I don't know manual way that you told above.


Well,
You are saying you moved the dir module location do a different area in SA , In Your Case You Should Read Module in composite read then module will be constructed and read ok then migrate ,I was Talking About a Totally Different Thing And Technique

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group