All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 21st, 2019, 14:52 
Offline

Joined: May 15th, 2019, 13:14
Posts: 17
Location: Italy
Quote:
Make sure you use an up to date version as is here: http://files.hddguru.com/download/Softw ... ia473b.zip


I was using the 472b so I assume it was okay

Attachment:
Untitled.png
Untitled.png [ 51.17 KiB | Viewed 2109 times ]


Attachment:
Untitled1.png
Untitled1.png [ 55.25 KiB | Viewed 2109 times ]


Attachment:
Untitled2.png
Untitled2.png [ 44.26 KiB | Viewed 2109 times ]


First two screenshots were made with 472b, the drive seem to be labelled "1 sec".
Last one I connected the drive via a SATA to USB external box and used the 473b

Quote:
Or you can set the sata port to compatibility/ide mode in the motherboard bios.

I couldn't find any such setting in my BIOS

As a possible symptom, every time I connect the drive (PC off), especially via SATA, the system takes ages to startup. A couple of time I even had to reset.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 21st, 2019, 18:15 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Most likely not possible to recover using do-it-yourself method. Refer to the other options already posted. Good luck.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2019, 4:54 
Offline

Joined: May 15th, 2019, 13:14
Posts: 17
Location: Italy
Which meas I will get the same results if I connect it via TTL?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2019, 9:03 
Offline

Joined: January 8th, 2008, 5:21
Posts: 873
Location: uk
You connected the drive via usb and it was no good.

Now you have to connect the drive to a motherboard sata port and run Victoria again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2019, 11:48 
Offline

Joined: May 15th, 2019, 13:14
Posts: 17
Location: Italy
dick wrote:
You connected the drive via usb and it was no good.

Now you have to connect the drive to a motherboard sata port and run Victoria again.


My fist attempt with Victoria 472b (fist two screenshots) were make with the drive connected via SATA directly to the motherboard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2019, 13:39 
Offline

Joined: January 8th, 2008, 5:21
Posts: 873
Location: uk
I still think you need to try this on another pc in ide/compatibility mode. That is because your Western Digital drive also shows a strange smart output. There might be some other unknown problem with your setup. Maybe some kind of bios incompatibility? (I'm just guessing here). I think you need to have the easy bit working before you move on to the more complicated part.

Also as you say the boot up is slow with the drive connected I would leave the computer standing for at least 20 mins to allow for the faulty drive to come ready. It might not of course. And only use sata from now on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2019, 13:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
dick wrote:
I still think you need to try this on another pc in ide/compatibility mode. That is because your Western Digital drive also shows a strange smart output. There might be some other unknown problem with your setup. Maybe some kind of bios incompatibility? (I'm just guessing here). I think you need to have the easy bit working before you move on to the more complicated part.

Also as you say the boot up is slow with the drive connected I would leave the computer standing for at least 20 mins to allow for the faulty drive to come ready. It might not of course. And only use sata from now on.


... Pray that the heads and/or sliders of the damaged drive are not in contact with the platter ... I don't think that leaving the drive at least 20 mins working without knowing the condition of it would be a good idea but you guys know best so ... moving on....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2019, 14:24 
Offline

Joined: January 8th, 2008, 5:21
Posts: 873
Location: uk
Spildit wrote:
dick wrote:
I still think you need to try this on another pc in ide/compatibility mode. That is because your Western Digital drive also shows a strange smart output. There might be some other unknown problem with your setup. Maybe some kind of bios incompatibility? (I'm just guessing here). I think you need to have the easy bit working before you move on to the more complicated part.

Also as you say the boot up is slow with the drive connected I would leave the computer standing for at least 20 mins to allow for the faulty drive to come ready. It might not of course. And only use sata from now on.


... Pray that the heads and/or sliders of the damaged drive are not in contact with the platter ... I don't think that leaving the drive at least 20 mins working without knowing the condition of it would be a good idea but you guys know best so ... moving on....
Yes you are right but to dive in and run terminal commands, do you think that would be better?
What I am saying is get Victoria to work correctly first. As for leaving the drive for 20 mins before attempting any diagnosis well that sometimes has to be done. If there are any unusual sounds coming from the drive then it would have to be stop stop stop.

So I would say make sure Victoria is detecting the other drives correctly and then connect the Maxtor drive and attempt to read the smart attributes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2019, 16:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
It's not about sending terminal commands it's about checking what the drive is sending to terminal (check the log) ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 23rd, 2019, 3:06 
Offline

Joined: May 15th, 2019, 13:14
Posts: 17
Location: Italy
Quote:
Pray that the heads and/or sliders of the damaged drive are not in contact with the platter

Can you normally tell if the heads are in contact with the platter? Do they make any particular noise?
By the noise it does the drive seems to work regularly. No clicks at all and you can hear what I assume are the heads moving on startup (maybe positioning themselves on the platter?).

The motherboard is a gigabite b150m-d3h. I cannot find any mention of ide/compatibility on this particular motherboard online. This is the only section about SATA configuration I found

Attachment:
20190622_212607.jpg
20190622_212607.jpg [ 1.46 MiB | Viewed 2001 times ]


Quote:
That is because your Western Digital drive also shows a strange smart output.


Could you explain what do you mean by strange?

Would a terminal log extraction cause any damage?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 24th, 2019, 4:36 
Offline

Joined: January 8th, 2008, 5:21
Posts: 873
Location: uk
Take a look at how this WD drive smart is displayed in Victoria and compare it with yours.
Maybe try on a different computer?
Attachment:
wd victoria.jpg
wd victoria.jpg [ 201.8 KiB | Viewed 1950 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 24th, 2019, 11:53 
Offline

Joined: May 15th, 2019, 13:14
Posts: 17
Location: Italy
The previous analysis was referred to the faulty drive. Note all unknown parameters. I do not know why Victoria was labeling it as WD

This is the SMART analysis of the WD without the faulty Maxtor connected.

Attachment:
Untitled.png
Untitled.png [ 60.86 KiB | Viewed 1921 times ]


And if the listing order of those parameters is always the same I'm sure you guys can have a preliminary idea of how bad is the situation (I guess it is bad enough)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 24th, 2019, 12:54 
Offline

Joined: January 8th, 2008, 5:21
Posts: 873
Location: uk
Yes you setup seems to be working perfectly.

So now you have to prepare and run terminal.

Take note your drive to diagnose is a 7200.11 and your test drive is a 7200.10 so they are different architecture. That will make practice and learning more difficult.

I would run terminal on the 7200.10 'test' drive to make sure your adapter is working. Then after you can move on to your 'broken' 7200.11 drive. Be very careful with the commands you send!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 24th, 2019, 17:29 
Offline

Joined: May 15th, 2019, 13:14
Posts: 17
Location: Italy
Quote:
...to make sure your adapter is working.


I did short TX and RX pins on my TTL adapter and tested it on Putty. Is gives back my inputs so it seems to work. Is it okay to use Putty for what come next or should I use another terminal like Hiperterminal? Will the log be shown automatically once i give power to the drive or do I have to give a particular command for it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 24th, 2019, 20:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11563
Location: Australia
FWIW, some motherboards disable a SATA port if an M.2 (NVMe or mSATA) drive is installed. It might pay to consult the manual.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 25th, 2019, 3:26 
Offline

Joined: May 15th, 2019, 13:14
Posts: 17
Location: Italy
fzabkar wrote:
FWIW, some motherboards disable a SATA port if an M.2 (NVMe or mSATA) drive is installed. It might pay to consult the manual.


I checked the manual. It seems not to be the case for my motherboard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Maxtor recovery - I/O error
PostPosted: June 27th, 2019, 5:47 
Offline

Joined: May 15th, 2019, 13:14
Posts: 17
Location: Italy
Do I have any advantage in terms of processing time if I keep the amount of space in use on my test drive at minimum or what matters is the total disk's space?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group