All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HDD Guru says not enough space even though there is
PostPosted: January 5th, 2020, 21:42 
Offline

Joined: January 4th, 2020, 19:47
Posts: 2
Location: America
Typed this out, however, everything got deleted so I'll make it short.

When choosing the destination for the file, HDD Guru says my Seagate 3TB external HDD is only 375.07GB capacity.

On top of this, I just received a write error at 55%, exactly 1TB. HDD Guru says there is not enough space.

Very frustrating as this has been running for over 24 hours.

Any help?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HDD Guru says not enough space even though there is
PostPosted: January 5th, 2020, 22:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 12369
Location: Australia
"HDD Guru" is the name of the forum, not the tool.

Your external drive is configured with a sector size of 4KB, whereas your tool appears to assume a sector size of 512 bytes. Therefore your tool thinks that the capacity is 1/8th of the actual capacity, ie 3TB / 8 = 375GB.

You need to use a different, more recent tool.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HDD Guru says not enough space even though there is
PostPosted: January 5th, 2020, 22:18 
Offline

Joined: January 4th, 2020, 19:47
Posts: 2
Location: America
Any suggestions on what tool? Or could I format the external drive with what the tool is assuming?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HDD Guru says not enough space even though there is
PostPosted: January 5th, 2020, 22:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 12369
Location: Australia
Seagate provides DiscWizard, a free OEM version of Acronis True Image.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HDD Guru says not enough space even though there is
PostPosted: January 16th, 2020, 15:44 
Offline

Joined: November 7th, 2015, 13:04
Posts: 148
Location: Austin metro area TX USA
What format was the external 3TB HD? I ask because the same thing happened to my 8GB flash drive, which was changed from FAT32/4096 to FAT/512 via a format in another computer. After force-formatting flash device back to FAT32, it's showing 8GB (minus housekeeping).

_________________
"Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 105 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group