All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Complete beginner. Is this a shorted TVS diode?
PostPosted: January 12th, 2024, 6:40 

Hi, I'm a complete beginner to data recovery and was hoping maybe someone could point me in the right direction. I have a 6TB toshiba external HDD (HD-TDA6U3-B), that I accidentally, carelessly plugged a 19v power supply into (it's a 12V drive), and after a spark and a burnt smell I unplugged the power supply to find that my HDD was no longer working. I did a lot of searching online and found that this seems to be a pretty common mistake people make and that a lot of the time it's a shorted TVS diode. I have a lot of important files on this drive and want to recover it, so I do plan on sending it to a professional if that's not the case, but in the meantime I would like to try a simple DIY repair if it actually is just a shorted TVS diode. I've attached some pictures of the USB bridge and what i suspect is the actual shorted diode. I've also tried removing the USB bridge and just connecting the drive to an HDD dock but it doesn't read or spin up. If anyone could help me out that would be greatly appreciated, and thanks for reading this long message!

Attachments:
File comment: circled diode
S__7053319_0.jpg
S__7053319_0.jpg [ 646.4 KiB | Viewed 1851 times ]
File comment: usb bridge
S__7053317_0.jpg
S__7053317_0.jpg [ 534.56 KiB | Viewed 1851 times ]

Post subject: Re: Complete beginner. Is this a shorted TVS diode?
PostPosted: January 12th, 2024, 12:45 

Realized i should be posting pics of the disk pcb so i've attached that as well. The circled diode I'm pretty sure is shorted after checking with a multimeter. Just not sure 100% sure if it's the TVS diode.

Attachments:
S__7053325.jpg
S__7053325.jpg [ 391.98 KiB | Viewed 1848 times ]

PostPosted: January 12th, 2024, 12:47 

Show us a photo of the HDD PCB. That's where you will most likely find a shorted 12V TVS diode and open fuse.

Edit:

Sorry, our posts crossed.