All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 14th, 2013, 15:46 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 23rd, 2008, 11:26
Posts: 461
Location: Austin, TX
Typical bug. BAD_CTX for serial number, 8mb size

Surprisingly this is the first one we have received with this specific bug that intel released a firmware fix for it. As most of you know this firmware fix also wipes the data. I never tested it since i am not going to try on the clients drive.

I have seen some fixes using MHDD's fast erase, but still, unknown on what it actually is going to do to the device

The controller is encrypted so my options to do a chip off has been squashed..as well as swapping the chips to another identical ssd.

So my question.... has anyone been able to fix this issue without screwing up the data

You can PM if you would like to tell me in private... i will even sign an NDA if you want.

Ace labs will not have a fix for it for probably another 2-3 months, and my client cannot wait that long. and I am not sure if any of the other SSD tools can do it yet.

Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 14th, 2013, 16:28 
Offline

Joined: August 12th, 2008, 13:11
Posts: 3241
Location: USA
I have seen some claims on this but nothing verified

_________________
You don't have to backup all of your files, just the ones you want to keep.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 14th, 2013, 16:49 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 23rd, 2008, 11:26
Posts: 461
Location: Austin, TX
I have too. Gillware says they can do it, but the blogs i read were from 9 months ago and it is longer on their site about it. and Datarecovery.net claims as well, but have not seen any proof from anyone that they can do it with 100% certainty, and they charge by the hour on fixes... something i am not too keen on.

I have been scouring the net, but no one yet has any proof that data can be recovered from this failure. I do beleive it can be done, since ace has it listed in their coming soon section.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 14th, 2013, 18:14 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2006, 3:05
Posts: 7526
Location: ITALY
Cleanroom, do you have Skype / MSN ? Pm me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 14th, 2013, 18:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 29th, 2005, 12:02
Posts: 3053
Location: Chicago
what's the error number?

_________________
My hobby is numismatics - http://coins.zoxt.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 15th, 2013, 3:49 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 3rd, 2011, 9:52
Posts: 178
Location: France
I already had a couple like this.
As far as I know, there is not yet a solution for this bug that allows to recover the data.
The only thing we were able to do is advise our client to update their Intel SSD.
Quote:
has anyone been able to fix this issue without screwing up the data

Sorry but no, not yet.

_________________
Lemmy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 15th, 2013, 8:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 29th, 2005, 12:02
Posts: 3053
Location: Chicago
ici_lemmy wrote:
As far as I know, there is not yet a solution for this bug that allows to recover the data.

There is a solution. Moreover, at least 4 companies that I know of can do it

_________________
My hobby is numismatics - http://coins.zoxt.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 15th, 2013, 9:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 23rd, 2008, 11:26
Posts: 461
Location: Austin, TX
As for the error message

In the pc-3000 flash Intel utility

The model comes up correct as INTELSSDSA2BW160G3H
Serial comes up as BAD_CTX 0000013F
Firmware 4PC10365
Capacity - 8mb (16384)

Here is the chip readout log

Tech-key................................ : Ok

Capacity.............................................. : 176 GB
Chanels count......................................... : 10
Logical chips count................................... : 22
Channel 0:
CE 0: Logical chip 0............................... : 0x8988244B
CE 1: Logical chip 10.............................. : 0x8988244B
Channel 1:
CE 0: Logical chip 1............................... : 0x8988244B
CE 1: Logical chip 11.............................. : 0x8988244B
Channel 2:
CE 0: Logical chip 2............................... : 0x8988244B
CE 1: Logical chip 12.............................. : 0x8988244B
Channel 3:
CE 0: Logical chip 3............................... : 0x8988244B
CE 1: Logical chip 13.............................. : 0x8988244B
Channel 4:
CE 0: Logical chip 4............................... : 0x8988244B
CE 1: Logical chip 14.............................. : 0x8988244B
CE 2: Logical chip 24.............................. : 0x8988244B
Channel 5:
CE 0: Logical chip 5............................... : 0x8988244B
CE 1: Logical chip 15.............................. : 0x8988244B
CE 2: Logical chip 25.............................. : 0x8988244B
Channel 6:
CE 0: Logical chip 6............................... : 0x8988244B
CE 1: Logical chip 16.............................. : 0x8988244B
Channel 7:
CE 0: Logical chip 7............................... : 0x8988244B
CE 1: Logical chip 17.............................. : 0x8988244B
Channel 8:
CE 0: Logical chip 8............................... : 0x8988244B
CE 1: Logical chip 18.............................. : 0x8988244B
Channel 9:
CE 0: Logical chip 9............................... : 0x8988244B
CE 1: Logical chip 19.............................. : 0x8988244B

So it is reading the chips fine

I know it is not as simple as an HPA change, but even when i try it with any software or hardware... it errors out on the change.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 15th, 2013, 9:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 3rd, 2011, 9:52
Posts: 178
Location: France
Doomer wrote:
ici_lemmy wrote:
As far as I know, there is not yet a solution for this bug that allows to recover the data.

There is a solution. Moreover, at least 4 companies that I know of can do it

My bad...
That just proof that I will always have something to learn. Now I'll just have to try to find how it works...

_________________
Lemmy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 15th, 2013, 14:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 29th, 2005, 12:02
Posts: 3053
Location: Chicago
I think BAD_CTX 13F is recoverable

_________________
My hobby is numismatics - http://coins.zoxt.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 15th, 2013, 15:19 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 23rd, 2008, 11:26
Posts: 461
Location: Austin, TX
I agree Doomer...

it seems to be the most common bug for this device. Is there any DR folks on here capable of doing it that is not willing to share, but i can refer the client over. I have no shame at referring as long as you can do what you say you can do. I just want to be able to get the clients data back for him.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 15th, 2013, 17:06 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 29th, 2005, 12:02
Posts: 3053
Location: Chicago
You can refer your client to SRS

_________________
My hobby is numismatics - http://coins.zoxt.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 16th, 2013, 8:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 4th, 2013, 15:36
Posts: 57
Location: Russia
Hi, Cleanroom! I'm working at the solution for this issue now. And i have got one. But it is still unstable and unfinished. Contact me please and we will try it. I've sent you pm with details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 19th, 2013, 2:55 
Offline

Joined: March 7th, 2009, 12:43
Posts: 783
Location: World wide remote RAID help
2 Cleenroom
Check PM

_________________
http://www.angeldatarecovery.com/contact-us/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 30th, 2013, 8:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 3rd, 2011, 9:52
Posts: 178
Location: France
I have a similar case with an intel G3 but the serial is not "BAD_CTX 0000013F" but "BAD_CTX 00000136"

If someone has something to help or a solution...

_________________
Lemmy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: May 31st, 2013, 4:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 4th, 2013, 15:36
Posts: 57
Location: Russia
You can ask ACE tech support for help if you've got pc3k flash


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: July 2nd, 2013, 13:47 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 25th, 2012, 10:35
Posts: 8
Location: United States
I have one too... Intel 160GB.

Winhex reports correct Model SSDSA2BW160G3H and firmware 4PC10302 but serial number reported as BAD_CTX 00000132 and size 8MB.

Any news on data recovery solutions?

Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: July 5th, 2013, 11:04 
Offline

Joined: July 5th, 2013, 10:57
Posts: 1
Location: Pittsburgh
bubaleh,

You do have a way of recovering data from intel ssd that h the dreaded 8mb bug?

I am interested in knowing more, I have a drive that is not readable on any of my devices and when I put it on external and use recovery software it shows 8mb, but cannot recover and will not read


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: July 6th, 2013, 7:31 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 4th, 2013, 15:36
Posts: 57
Location: Russia
Hi guys!
Solution is simple. If you have "PC3000 flash SSD" tool for data recovery, just connect your drive to it and save data, if you haven't got it, you have to find someone who has.
Or, if you trust me, you can present this drive to me, i'll recover your data or bring it back to your. Just pm me :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAD_CTX Intel SSD Bug
PostPosted: July 6th, 2013, 7:58 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: July 21st, 2010, 5:03
Posts: 246
Location: Norfolk, UK
Quote:
If you have "PC3000 flash SSD" tool for data recovery, just connect your drive to it and save data,



Doesn't always work.... and sometimes you only get partial access to data....

But it's well worth the try.... :D

_________________
East Anglian Data Recovery Services
http://www.eadr.co.uk

"If it's your only copy - then it's not a backup!"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group