All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 11:09 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
Hello johnkeates,
The 12V seem to be missing from the PIN1 - PIN2 - PIN3 from the SATA connector pins.
https://forum.hddguru.com/download/file.php?id=11654&mode=view
Normally on the SATA Standard there are +12V on the first 3 pins.
Do you have the same issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 11:53 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2973
Location: Adelaide, Australia
johnkeates wrote:
Seems to be a controller config problem, either the config is bad or can't be read at all.


Wondering what evidence is there to support this conclusion?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 11:56 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
HaQue wrote:
johnkeates wrote:
Seems to be a controller config problem, either the config is bad or can't be read at all.


Wondering what evidence is there to support this conclusion?


Well, at first there was no detection on my drive, then after taking it apart, powering it up at the DC-DC circuit, measuring voltages (which are all within spec in my drive), putting it back on a SATA bus + ATX power, it works, but only reports it's 2,064,384 bytes [2.06 MB] big. Which to me means it either can't asses the NAND, or doesn't have a usable config to do anything with the NAND. Maybe I'm totally wrong here...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 12:01 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
johnkeates wrote:
HaQue wrote:
johnkeates wrote:
Seems to be a controller config problem, either the config is bad or can't be read at all.


Wondering what evidence is there to support this conclusion?


Well, at first there was no detection on my drive, then after taking it apart, powering it up at the DC-DC circuit, measuring voltages (which are all within spec in my drive), putting it back on a SATA bus + ATX power, it works, but only reports it's 2,064,384 bytes [2.06 MB] big. Which to me means it either can't asses the NAND, or doesn't have a usable config to do anything with the NAND. Maybe I'm totally wrong here...



Hello. Can the FW be updated manually by using the Serial / UART connection? I saw that on the OCZ website, there is firmware 11.2 for OCZ Triton 100 which is identical. What do you think?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 15:48 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3091
Location: Massachusetts, USA
solver_001 wrote:
johnkeates wrote:
HaQue wrote:
johnkeates wrote:
Seems to be a controller config problem, either the config is bad or can't be read at all.


Wondering what evidence is there to support this conclusion?


Well, at first there was no detection on my drive, then after taking it apart, powering it up at the DC-DC circuit, measuring voltages (which are all within spec in my drive), putting it back on a SATA bus + ATX power, it works, but only reports it's 2,064,384 bytes [2.06 MB] big. Which to me means it either can't asses the NAND, or doesn't have a usable config to do anything with the NAND. Maybe I'm totally wrong here...



Hello. Can the FW be updated manually by using the Serial / UART connection? I saw that on the OCZ website, there is firmware 11.2 for OCZ Triton 100 which is identical. What do you think?

I believe a manufacturer's update is possible only if the drive is in normal working condition.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 15:52 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
What would you recommend in order to find out if the BGA chips from the board have a soldering issue or if it is a FW problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 15:56 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3091
Location: Massachusetts, USA
solver_001 wrote:
I have a Toshiba Q300 480GB SSD that I have used for 4 weeks without any problem
Did you buy it brand new?

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 15:58 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
Yes. I bought it as being brand new. I used it for aprox. 4 weeks. Everything was fine till 2 days ago. The problem is that I need the data from it! What do you think?...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 16:04 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3091
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Well, in this case, it is rather strange for the soldering to have weakened that fast. So, likely that is not the problem with your drive. If electronics have been ruled out as a problem, then likely controller is the problem.
Do you know what it does in status register? Can check with something like MHDD for free.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 16:09 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
I have tried to check by using a linux USB from which I have booted but it does not see the SSD, I do not get anything...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 16:09 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
I have tried to check by using a linux USB from which I have booted but it does not see the SSD, I do not get anything...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 16:18 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3091
Location: Massachusetts, USA
I doubt a Linux USB will provide info in status register.
https://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?t=4024&start=

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 16:23 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
...can this be checked only through a TTL with a CP2102 or also through a USB connection?...what I have done is to check via USB, is this correct?...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 16:34 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3091
Location: Massachusetts, USA
No, SATA only.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 16:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9783
Location: Australia
solver_001 wrote:
Hello johnkeates,
The 12V seem to be missing from the PIN1 - PIN2 - PIN3 from the SATA connector pins.
https://forum.hddguru.com/download/file.php?id=11654&mode=view
Normally on the SATA Standard there are +12V on the first 3 pins.
Do you have the same issue?

The drive appears to be a 5V-only device, as is usually the case for all SSDs except some server models.

http://www.computershopper.com/var/ezwe ... k-view.jpg

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 16:40 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
...no drive is displayed at all in MHDD...is this normal? unfortunately I cannot set the SSD to ide in my bios, does this matter?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 16:47 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3091
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Yes, need to change BIOS setting to legacy option. Read MHDD manual.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 16:53 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
Unfortunately I do not have the option to select IDE after I select Legacy in my BIOS....it is a Sony Laptop...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 17:43 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
solver_001 wrote:
Unfortunately I do not have the option to select IDE after I select Legacy in my BIOS....it is a Sony Laptop...


I guess you're not gonna have any luck with that laptop ;-) If you really need the data, send it off for DR and don't muck around with it. There is a good chance you'll mess it up if you just poke at the thing trying to bring it back.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 17:59 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
Following, I set the boot mode to Legacy. I used MHDD and the SSD was not identified at all (not primary, nor secondary master, nor PC-3000). I have tried to search for it and every time I received the error: Drive not ready.
The temperature of the NAND chips and the Toshiba BGA is higher than the room temperature, the Toshiba chip is also getting warmer than all the NAND chips.
I do not have any ideea on what I should do next. Any further suggestion?...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: arvika and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group