All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 18:47 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
solver_001 wrote:
Following, I set the boot mode to Legacy. I used MHDD and the SSD was not identified at all (not primary, nor secondary master, nor PC-3000). I have tried to search for it and every time I received the error: Drive not ready.
The temperature of the NAND chips and the Toshiba BGA is higher than the room temperature, the Toshiba chip is also getting warmer than all the NAND chips.
I do not have any ideea on what I should do next. Any further suggestion?...


If you want your data back: stop destroying the SSD and ask a data recovery company.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 24th, 2016, 20:17 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3068
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Yes, post a picture of the status register for confirmation, please. Edit: over USB, yeah - does not matter, nevermind.
Maybe you could try eSATA?!?

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 25th, 2016, 5:01 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
@johnkeates, why do you think I will destroy the data? I am not an certified expert but also not an amateur...I have a Scotle 460 which I regulary use for BGA reballing´or reflow.
@labtech, I will make a screenshot an post here later today. Did you experience cases where it has worked through an eSATA port? (I am tring to explain this logically to myself and cannot understand why it would work through eSATA if id does not through SATA).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 25th, 2016, 9:25 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
solver_001 wrote:
@johnkeates, why do you think I will destroy the data? I am not an certified expert but also not an amateur...I have a Scotle 460 which I regulary use for BGA reballing´or reflow.
@labtech, I will make a screenshot an post here later today. Did you experience cases where it has worked through an eSATA port? (I am tring to explain this logically to myself and cannot understand why it would work through eSATA if id does not through SATA).


Well, it's just a generic word of caution ;-) Anyway, regarding the eSATA: it probably won't work since the problem is with the Sony laptop, its firmware and maybe the chipset. Sony (and most consumer model brands) tries to hide most of the technology, disable options so that users don't 'break' their laptop and call tech support etc. Sometimes the options are still in the firmware but just hidden from the BIOS/UEFI user interface. Then a BIOS-mod can bring back those options.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 25th, 2016, 11:36 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3068
Location: Massachusetts, USA
solver_001 wrote:
I am tring to explain this logically to myself and cannot understand why it would work through eSATA if id does not through SATA).
Don't care about ID, care about status register.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 25th, 2016, 12:04 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
If you are keen on finding out what's up: dump the contents of all the chips on the PCB. One of them has got to have the config and/or firmware.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 25th, 2016, 14:53 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
Below are the 2 pictures from MHDD...I only get Drive not ready regardless of what I try...
Attachment:
DSC_0022.JPG
DSC_0022.JPG [ 1.79 MiB | Viewed 1872 times ]

Attachment:
DSC_0023.JPG
DSC_0023.JPG [ 2.93 MiB | Viewed 1872 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 25th, 2016, 14:55 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
It won't detect anything in AHCI mode.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 25th, 2016, 15:23 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3068
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Looks like it just stays busy, not sure about the error register being lit up. So, yeah, seems like controller issue.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 25th, 2016, 15:47 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
I am working on the BIOS on my laptop to be able to disable AHCI...I will try again after...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: April 25th, 2016, 17:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2921
Location: Adelaide, Australia
solver_001 wrote:
I am working on the BIOS on my laptop to be able to disable AHCI...I will try again after...


why not just buy an old MB/chip/RAM? any day I can buy an old PC for $20 - it doesn't matter about the specs, say an old core2 Duo or something.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: June 30th, 2016, 14:34 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
Quick update: I now have reports of about 10 additional Q300's randomly failing. All between 1 week en 3 months old.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: July 23rd, 2016, 9:08 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
Hello, I have now successfully set SATA Mode Bios to IDE in Bios and MHDD does not detect the drive at all.
I still get the in MHDD the message: Drive is not ready.
Any ideas?...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: July 23rd, 2016, 10:50 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
solver_001 wrote:
Hello, I have now successfully set SATA Mode Bios to IDE in Bios and MHDD does not detect the drive at all.
I still get the in MHDD the message: Drive is not ready.
Any ideas?...


That's because as we already posted a few times: the drive is not going to allow access over SATA/ATA! It's broken.

The only way to get anywhere is via a serial port, which sadly I haven't gotten in to, either because it's not active or because it requires special activation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: July 23rd, 2016, 11:01 
Offline

Joined: April 24th, 2016, 6:26
Posts: 20
Location: Germany
Hello John,
I till try via JTAG...I think a CP2102 is needed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: July 23rd, 2016, 11:42 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
solver_001 wrote:
Hello John,
I till try via JTAG...I think a CP2102 is needed.


The CP2102 is a level shifter for serial use. JTAG isn't going to help either at this point.

There is a serial header on the board next to the SATA/Power combo connector, but it's not clear at this point how to use it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: July 23rd, 2016, 17:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9692
Location: Australia
FWIW, it appears that Ace Lab don't yet have a solution ...
http://forum.acelaboratory.com/viewtopic.php?t=8881

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: July 23rd, 2016, 18:32 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
Too bad I don't have a PC3K to register and chat them up....

I do wonder if the PS3110s actually has a working UART to interact with it, and if they already found out why it's unresponsive for those Q300 SSD's after a while.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: July 23rd, 2016, 18:47 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9692
Location: Australia
I'm wondering whether adjusting the NAND voltages in-circuit might recover the drive, assuming that the controller is OK. Adjustable switchmode supply modules are available for a few dollars. Otherwise one could achieve the same end via adjustments to the PCB's potential dividers. That would only cost a few cents in parts. In fact the S4/S5 cofiguration resistors (?) look like a promising avenue of attack.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Q300 unresponsive
PostPosted: July 23rd, 2016, 18:49 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2011, 18:47
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands
fzabkar wrote:
I'm wondering whether adjusting the NAND voltages in-circuit might recover the drive, assuming that the controller is OK. Adjustable switchmode supply modules are available for a few dollars. Otherwise one could achieve the same end via adjustments to the PCB's potential dividers. That would only cost a few cents in parts. In fact the S4/S5 cofiguration resistors (?) look like a promising avenue of attack.


I have a few accurate DC power supplies I could use (I also use them for accurate SATA power for external drives), but I wonder if it's the NAND chips getting underpowered that would be the actual problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group