All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: The nature of my HDD.
PostPosted: August 17th, 2016, 4:54 
Offline

Joined: September 24th, 2014, 15:11
Posts: 107
Location: on the space
Hello.
I bought a WD 4.0TB Sata HDD but when I plug it to my System, Windows Just can use 2.0TB of it, Is it the nature of my HDD?
I attached a photo and Windows can't let me to create another partition for 1678.02 GB.

Thank you.


Attachments:
hdd.png
hdd.png [ 84.58 KiB | Viewed 1533 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The nature of my HDD.
PostPosted: August 17th, 2016, 7:00 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2015, 15:01
Posts: 1288
Location: isreal
You are using win xp ?!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The nature of my HDD.
PostPosted: August 17th, 2016, 7:58 
Offline

Joined: September 24th, 2014, 15:11
Posts: 107
Location: on the space
Windows 7.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The nature of my HDD.
PostPosted: August 17th, 2016, 8:35 
Offline

Joined: February 26th, 2016, 5:02
Posts: 53
Location: Poland
Try format your partition as GUID Partition Table (GPT). Probably at the moment partition style is MBR. This style not allowing size partition bigger as 2TB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The nature of my HDD.
PostPosted: August 17th, 2016, 18:14 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 230
Location: Brazil
Also, you probably need to have already installed Service Pack 1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The nature of my HDD.
PostPosted: August 20th, 2016, 2:01 
Offline

Joined: September 24th, 2014, 15:11
Posts: 107
Location: on the space
lasek wrote:
Try format your partition as GUID Partition Table (GPT). Probably at the moment partition style is MBR. This style not allowing size partition bigger as 2TB.


How?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The nature of my HDD.
PostPosted: August 20th, 2016, 11:33 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 230
Location: Brazil
Now that you have already created the MBR / Partitions, I think you will need to clear the disk to start anew, and when windows first detects a new disk and prompts you to initialize it, choose GPT.

You can use diskpart from a command prompt to clear it, but I think it would be easier and safer to use some WD utility to blank all of the disk. Of course, as you would need to blank only the beginning of it, you can stop the process after some % done. No need to wait for the many hours it would need to blank entirely a 4TB disk.

But also, you need to upgrade to ServicePack 1 if you havenĀ“t already. There is an update inside it that upgrades some parts of windows to recognize and show correctly hdd sizes over 2TB.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group