All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 27th, 2017, 15:38 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 713
Location: USA
Just got a Lexar CF Card in with these chips. I cannot find the specs from the number on the chip. Are they BGA 152?


Attachments:
20171027_123329.jpg
20171027_123329.jpg [ 3.26 MiB | Viewed 674 times ]
20171027_123239.jpg
20171027_123239.jpg [ 2.55 MiB | Viewed 674 times ]

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 27th, 2017, 15:47 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 29th, 2016, 18:13
Posts: 22
Location: Poland
It's BGA100 chip - there are sockets or direct BGA boards for this. You can look in VNR standard set ;)
If you need to solder then page 18 on ONFI - http://www.onfi.org/~/media/onfi/specs/ ... .pdf?la=en

_________________
Best regards,
Boguslaw Rzepka,
Multi-COM Ltd., Poland


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 27th, 2017, 15:53 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 713
Location: USA
Bolo wrote:
It's BGA100 chip - there are sockets or direct BGA boards for this. You can look in VNR standard set ;)
If you need to solder then page 18 on ONFI - http://www.onfi.org/~/media/onfi/specs/ ... .pdf?la=en

Many thanks. I do have VNR set so we should be good. Thanks again.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 27th, 2017, 16:16 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 713
Location: USA
Hhhmmm. None of the 4 chips will ID. I think its the first time I have had BGA100 chips in, so it may be a bad socket :(. I will send it back to VNR for testing.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 27th, 2017, 16:42 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 6922
Location: UK
Dunno if it’s related but I had a similar problem a long time ago with the BGA-100 socket for SC I bought from Sunny.

Would work with some chips but not others, but credit to Sunny he got me to make a mod to wiring underneath the socket (cut a track and wire in a new connection as I remember) and it worked fine and has been doing ever since :-)

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 27th, 2017, 16:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2354
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Hello DDrecovery ,
While learning flash these days i have come to know that there are many ways to read most chips and specific ways to read some chips .I do not agree that the socket would be bad or all of your 4 chips are fried ,Its impossible that all 4 are .Definately Not BGA 152 That Beast Has a Different Pinout All Together .What All Tools you Have ? .

@ Bolo,
When Are The Monolith Sd Card Adapters Coming Out Boss ,I Am Waiting For Those

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon
CDRLabs Data Recovery - [ Chandigarh ,India ]
My Data Recovery Experiments - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 27th, 2017, 17:19 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 713
Location: USA
I tested a few other BGA100 chips I had and none of them would ID. I have just reballed the first chip from the case and soldered it to the PC3000 Flash BGA100 module and it has ID'd and is now reading. Just unlucky to have a bad socket I guess. The service from VNR is normally pretty good, so I will send it back for testing. They may learn from what has gone wrong with this one. Thanks for the replies.

As I have to reball and mount each chip. Is there a way to correct ECC in PC3000 Flash chip by chip? I know it defaults to wanting the next chip read, but can this be stopped to complete ECC correction before reading the next chip?

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 27th, 2017, 17:28 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2965
Location: Adelaide, Australia
you can find the dumps in the PC3K folder hierarchy and import them to VNR
or just an idea, I don't have PC3K but may work.. pretend to PC3K that it is 4 separate cases to complete ECC in each chip before reading next one


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 27th, 2017, 17:34 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 713
Location: USA
HaQue wrote:
or just an idea, I don't have PC3K but may work.. pretend to PC3K that it is 4 separate cases to complete ECC in each chip before reading next one

Might just work you know :-)

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 28th, 2017, 6:57 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2354
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
ddrecovery wrote:
I tested a few other BGA100 chips I had and none of them would ID. I have just reballed the first chip from the case and soldered it to the PC3000 Flash BGA100 module and it has ID'd and is now reading. Just unlucky to have a bad socket I guess. The service from VNR is normally pretty good, so I will send it back for testing. They may learn from what has gone wrong with this one. Thanks for the replies.

As I have to reball and mount each chip. Is there a way to correct ECC in PC3000 Flash chip by chip? I know it defaults to wanting the next chip read, but can this be stopped to complete ECC correction before reading the next chip?


Well,
This Depends on The ZIFF Socket Used by developer .In some the ic has to have balls and then it will read and in some you have to make sure you Remove The Solder on The Pads ,I have a BGA 132 Case Going On Right Now And i Made 3 videos on it on my facebook .Do check em out - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com/2 ... media.html .I was playing around with a irda machine for BGA removal today And i have a case today with SM2236G With 4 BGA 132 Each With 32 GB And 4 Planes Damn :lol:

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon
CDRLabs Data Recovery - [ Chandigarh ,India ]
My Data Recovery Experiments - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 28th, 2017, 9:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2354
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Hi,
Here images for you for BGA 152 And BGA 132

1 : Image


2 : Image

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon
CDRLabs Data Recovery - [ Chandigarh ,India ]
My Data Recovery Experiments - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 28th, 2017, 9:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 29th, 2016, 18:13
Posts: 22
Location: Poland
@ddrecovery: you can freely read by PC3K or SC and then import to VNR (just open as Physical Image)

_________________
Best regards,
Boguslaw Rzepka,
Multi-COM Ltd., Poland


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 28th, 2017, 10:37 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2354
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Bolo wrote:
@ddrecovery: you can freely read by PC3K or SC and then import to VNR (just open as Physical Image)


Bolo,
You missed my question i had asked you when do we expect those monolith sd adapters ,micro sd are already there i know

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon
CDRLabs Data Recovery - [ Chandigarh ,India ]
My Data Recovery Experiments - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 28th, 2017, 11:40 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 713
Location: USA
Bolo wrote:
@ddrecovery: you can freely read by PC3K or SC and then import to VNR (just open as Physical Image)

Yep, I have done that before both to and from PC3K. But as I am reading the chips on PC3K I may as well carry on there :-)

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 28th, 2017, 16:46 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 29th, 2016, 18:13
Posts: 22
Location: Poland
@Amarbir: very...very soon ;)

_________________
Best regards,
Boguslaw Rzepka,
Multi-COM Ltd., Poland


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is This a BGA 152 Chip
PostPosted: October 30th, 2017, 2:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2354
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Bolo wrote:
@Amarbir: very...very soon ;)



Well,
i am super excited :D

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon
CDRLabs Data Recovery - [ Chandigarh ,India ]
My Data Recovery Experiments - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group