All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to work
PostPosted: October 12th, 2018, 9:55 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 985
Location: South Africa
I've tried the customer data migration tool on 2 Touchbar MBPs now, and I can't get the storage to be detected on the Mac that I'm working from over USB-C.

This is what I'm using: https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-076-00236- ... 2230802697

It seems very straightforward to use: https://vimeo.com/281399973

Does the mainboard HAVE to be removed from the Mac for this to work?

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 12th, 2018, 10:07 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 985
Location: South Africa
Unless I'm doing something very stupid...


Attachments:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG [ 2.68 MiB | Viewed 1537 times ]

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 12th, 2018, 11:20 
Offline

Joined: December 12th, 2017, 4:27
Posts: 47
Location: Poland, Warsaw
You should disconect battery before do enything.

_________________
Backup is Your best friend. Still learning English. Sorry for language bugs. My websites: Centrum Odzyskiwania Danych


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 12th, 2018, 11:42 
Offline

Joined: September 3rd, 2015, 21:04
Posts: 21
Location: The Internet
Were the Macbooks able to turn on but not see any disk? Then it's probably because the SSD is dead so the tool won't help you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 15th, 2018, 3:28 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 985
Location: South Africa
Green Slime wrote:
Were the Macbooks able to turn on but not see any disk? Then it's probably because the SSD is dead so the tool won't help you.


Neither of the machines were powering on at all.

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 15th, 2018, 7:40 
Offline

Joined: September 3rd, 2015, 21:04
Posts: 21
Location: The Internet
You don't have to remove the mainboard to image the SSD. I believe your other Macbook needs to support Thunderbolt3 though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 15th, 2018, 7:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 985
Location: South Africa
Green Slime wrote:
You don't have to remove the mainboard to image the SSD. I believe your other Macbook needs to support Thunderbolt3 though.


The adapter/tool is USB-C, where does Thunderbolt come in? I think the older ones are Thunderbolt, but this one is not.

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 0:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10952
Location: Australia
ISTM that the onboard SSD should be electrically isolated from the mainboard when it is being accessed by the migration kit. I believe that's what the "plug" does. That is, when the plug is installed, the SSD is connected to the PCIe bus (?) and to the onboard power supplies via 23 shorting links within the plug. Removing the plug breaks all these connections.

https://media.idownloadblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/15-inch-MacBook-Pro-with-Touch-Bar-iFixit-teardown-002.jpg

I'm willing to bet that there will be continuity between each pair of pins on either side of the plug. Moreover, if the SSD's BGA balls are accessible, then it wouldn't be too difficult to trace the pinout back to the plug.

I wonder if the SSD chip is similar to this one:
https://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=37085

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 5:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10952
Location: Australia
This video has an inside view of the black box:

What's inside Apple's 076-00236 Data Migration Tool Kit for MacBook Pro 2016-2017:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ucZYTSRymYM

The heart of the device is Intel's JHL6540 Thunderbolt 3 Controller (Alpine Ridge family). According to Wikipedia, its features are:

"40 Gbit/s speed, PCIe 3.0, HDMI 2.0 LSPCon (DP Protocol Converter), DP 1.2, USB 3.1, 100 W power delivery (compatible with USB Power Delivery) @ 18V, 5.5A"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thunderbolt_(interface)

Other chips ...

TPS51980A, Texas Instruments, synchronous buck controller, QFN-32:
ftp://helpedia.com/pub/temp/uploads/alekk89/Schematics%20&%20Board%20View/Macbook%20and%20iMac/820-00165/schematic-macbook-j113-82000165-05100385.pdf

9FGV0441, IDT, 4-output very low power PCIe Gen 1–4 Clock Generator, QFN-32, marking GV0441AL:
https://www.idt.com/document/dst/9fgv0441-datasheet

CD3215B03, Texas Instruments


Edit: much better teardown photos:
https://imgur.com/a/affeMAA

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 11:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 985
Location: South Africa
Yup, that's it. I opened up the one I have to see what was inside too.

I've disconnected the battery connector from the Mac's mainboard now, and I've also replaced the cable on the migration tool, it comes with a spare as they only have a limited lifespan. Still nothing, this one two Macs. Either my device is faulty, I'm doing something wrong, or both SSDs are dead. I feel the last option to be the least likely.

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 13:05 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 985
Location: South Africa
I've now tried it on a third MacBookPro with touchbar, also nothing. Again, either this tool is faulty, or I'm missing something.

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 17:27 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: July 12th, 2010, 4:38
Posts: 1089
Location: Portugal
Is your other laptop compatible?
"The requirements are Both Machines plugged into the device need to have Thunderbolt 3."

_________________
http://www.facebook.com/PCLAB.Assistencia.Tecnica
ACELab partner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 17:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 1036
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
I purchased this tool some time ago (never used yet) and today I had a A1707 2017 MacBook Pro in for recovery. Looking at the above posts I am guessing I need a Thunderbolt 3 connection to the other Mac so I need to source that first. I do know someone who works with Macs all the time and hopefully I might have some answers for us all soon if he gives me some insights.

_________________
HDD, SSD, Flash and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 18:31 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10952
Location: Australia
If you need to troubleshoot the black box ...

Si4459ADY, Vishay Siliconix, P-Channel MOSFET, 30V, 29A, marking 4459A, SO-8:
https://www.vishay.com/doc?69979

Si7997DP, Vishay Siliconix, Dual P-Channel MOSFET, 30V, 60A, SO8, marking 7997:
http://www.vishay.com/docs/66719/si7997dp.pdf

CSD58873Q3D, Texas Instruments, dual N-ch MOSFET, VSON-8, marking 58873D:
https://forums.macrumors.com/attachments/820-3435-j41_mlb_051-9795_resolved-pdf.495942/

IRF9395MTRPbF, International Rectifier (Infineon Technologies), DirectFET dual P-Channel Power MOSFET, -30V, -14A, marking 9395, Medium Size Can package:
https://www.infineon.com/dgdl/irf9395mpbf.pdf?fileId=5546d462533600a40153561198461db7

W25Q80DVUXIE, Winbond, 8M-bit, 2.7V - 3.6V, serial flash memory, quad SPI, marking 8Nyww + 0Exxxx, USON-8:
https://www.winbond.com/resource-files/w25q80dv%20dl_revh_10022015.pdf

Intel's product page for JHL6540:
https://ark.intel.com/products/94031/Intel-JHL6540-Thunderbolt-3-Controller

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 18:41 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 1036
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
pclab wrote:
Is your other laptop compatible?
"The requirements are Both Machines plugged into the device need to have Thunderbolt 3."

I can confirm that is a requirement.

_________________
HDD, SSD, Flash and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 19:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10952
Location: Australia
FR014H5JZ, Fairchild, High-Side Reverse Bias / Reverse Polarity Protector with Integrated Over Voltage Transient Suppression, -30V, 14mohm, marking 14H, MLP-8:
https://datasheet.octopart.com/FR014H5JZ-Fairchild-Semiconductor-datasheet-83565471.pdf

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 19:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 1036
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
fzabkar wrote:
FR014H5JZ, Fairchild, High-Side Reverse Bias / Reverse Polarity Protector with Integrated Over Voltage Transient Suppression, -30V, 14mohm, marking 14H, MLP-8:
https://datasheet.octopart.com/FR014H5JZ-Fairchild-Semiconductor-datasheet-83565471.pdf

I didn't know you could speak French......

_________________
HDD, SSD, Flash and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 16th, 2018, 22:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10952
Location: Australia
More French ...

CSD58879Q3D, Texas Instruments, dual N-ch MOSFET, marking 58879D, VSON-8:
http://laptopblue.vn/download3.php?id=1794 (service manual)

Is it possible that the USB-C cable is non-compliant? AFAICT the tool requires an active, electronically marked cable.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 17th, 2018, 5:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 985
Location: South Africa
The tool has a USB-C connector on it, and it ships with a Belkin USB-C cable which I've tested and confirmed works. The tool connects USB-C on the tool to USB-C on a functioning Mac. The Mac I'm recovering from, and the one I'm recovering to, don't have Thunderbolt, only USB-C ports. They are A1706 Macbook Pros.

Where does Thunderbolt come into it?

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Apple Customer Data Migration Tool - can't get it to wor
PostPosted: October 17th, 2018, 6:27 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 985
Location: South Africa
Oh wait, I see Thunderbolt 3 and USB-C have the same cable. I'm not a 'Mac' person so didn't even think this was a thing. I'm used to Thunderbolt being that odd shaped square-ish connector.

I see the problem now, the Mac I'm using on this doesn't have Thunderbolt 3, despite the connector fitting:

" Although Thunderbolt 3 technology uses USB-C connectors, the MacBook's USB-C port does not support Thunderbolt.[14] Thunderbolt devices, such as storage media and the Apple Thunderbolt Display, are not compatible with the MacBook. Shortly after the MacBook’s introduction, various companies began announcing cables and adapters for the USB-C port.[15]"

Thanks guys, this must be the issue.

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group