All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SSD Intel NVME id's fine in DDI but wrong lba shown
PostPosted: August 15th, 2019, 12:09 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 19th, 2018, 4:52
Posts: 42
Location: United Kingdom
I got an intel here 360GB nvme SSD drive that id's in DDI4 only as a 2GB drive. Is there currently any solution for that problem.

link for pictures of the controller chip. https://photos.app.goo.gl/gHvRHSLwtyDbj99n8

It seems to image the small area just fine. Any input or idea what's going on here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD Intel NVME id's fine in DDI but wrong lba shown
PostPosted: August 15th, 2019, 13:19 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 2292
Location: Ontario, Canada
It doesn't ID fine.

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD Intel NVME id's fine in DDI but wrong lba shown
PostPosted: August 15th, 2019, 13:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 19th, 2018, 4:52
Posts: 42
Location: United Kingdom
Yeah, serial is off a bit too. Doesn't match either.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD Intel NVME id's fine in DDI but wrong lba shown
PostPosted: August 15th, 2019, 14:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 2292
Location: Ontario, Canada
If it doesn't read with DDI PCIe add-on, I believe you are out of options...which is very scary for the future of data recovery.

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD Intel NVME id's fine in DDI but wrong lba shown
PostPosted: August 16th, 2019, 6:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 19th, 2018, 4:52
Posts: 42
Location: United Kingdom
To the best of my knowledge nobody can deal with your NVMe drive. Usually they ID with small capacity when their translator is shot, and there are no tools to deal with that (and quite likely never will be). Was worth a try to post here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD Intel NVME id's fine in DDI but wrong lba shown
PostPosted: August 16th, 2019, 12:07 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2791
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
lcoughey wrote:
If it doesn't read with DDI PCIe add-on, I believe you are out of options...which is very scary for the future of data recovery.


Luke ,
Do Yo Have The Knowledge any developments in NVMe Across all tools spectrum

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SSD Intel NVME id's fine in DDI but wrong lba shown
PostPosted: August 16th, 2019, 14:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 2292
Location: Ontario, Canada
Amarbir[CDR-Labs] wrote:
Luke ,
Do Yo Have The Knowledge any developments in NVMe Across all tools spectrum

To this point, if anyone is developing anything more than what DDI can handle with their PCIe add-on, they are keeping it very quiet in my circles. Maybe your good friends at Stellar are working on something.

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group