All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum rules

Please do not post questions about data recovery cases here (use this forum instead). This forum is for topics on finding new ways to recover data. Accessing firmware, writing programs, reading bits off the platter, recovering data from dust...

Post subject: Media Cleaning
PostPosted: October 1st, 2008, 13:41 

Has anyone done any experimenting with different cleaning solutions for the platters?

Post subject: Re: Media Cleaning
PostPosted: October 1st, 2008, 16:44 

what kind of contamination are you seeing? fingerprints and dust from working on the disk or "ground up head and platter"?

post a picture or two to make things fun and tempt useful replies..

PostPosted: October 2nd, 2008, 9:51 

Mostly fingerprints. Some dust. I'm studying the platter surface's lubricant. I have a pic of one of the platters in the study. I have tried 3M's PF-5060 as a lubricant. Unfortunately I don't know of a way to apply an equivalent layer of lubricant by hand that is equal to the way the manufacturer does. I have also run into a couple issues with using the lubricant under a cleanroom. The direct air causes it to react differently than when in a normal air environment. Has anyone seen or factually learned the application process of the lubricant layer on the media surfaces? I've read of laser application to form molecular bonds with the previous layer but I haven't found any real documentation.

Please keep all posts focused on the subject matter. This isn't in a data recovery stage. This is just the study of the different cleaning methods and the re-lubrication process. Basically, please don't waste time with "Send to a pro" responses.

All subject related responses are greatly appreciated.

Attachments:
P1020526.jpg
P1020526.jpg [ 659.54 KiB | Viewed 17640 times ]

PostPosted: October 2nd, 2008, 10:27 

wow, thats a messy platter swap attempt ;)