All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please do not post questions about data recovery cases here (use this forum instead). This forum is for topics on finding new ways to recover data. Accessing firmware, writing programs, reading bits off the platter, recovering data from dust...



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: force PIO at drive level?
PostPosted: October 25th, 2008, 20:15 
Offline

Joined: August 12th, 2008, 13:11
Posts: 3235
Location: USA
I'm working on a project that involves a CompactFlash card in an IDE adapter. For whatever reason, this particular card/adapter freezes up when the card is addressed in DMA mode (specifically multi-word mode 2) but works fine in PIO.

I know that the drive is responsible for advertising which transfer modes it is capable of. Is there any way to tell it that it should only try to operate in PIO mode, or to only advertise PIO as a possibility instead of DMA?

My feeling is that this would probably be on the firmware level and thus require some flash media equivalent of PC3K, but if anyone has any ideas on how to do it I'd love to hear it.

_________________
You don't have to backup all of your files, just the ones you want to keep.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: force PIO at drive level?
PostPosted: October 26th, 2008, 10:51 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2006, 3:05
Posts: 7474
Location: ITALY
In your case the Ide adapter section is the sole responsible, not the CF. If you can program it, it's ok. Otherwise you have to work at bios level or driver level. It's simple!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: force PIO at drive level?
PostPosted: October 26th, 2008, 17:20 
Offline

Joined: July 19th, 2008, 17:42
Posts: 64
You need to check the ATA/ATAPI spec for ECh (Identify device). The values you need are returned here, but you need to look at the spec to work out which bytes you need to look at to determine PIO modes accepted by the device.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: force PIO at drive level?
PostPosted: October 28th, 2008, 11:48 
Offline

Joined: August 12th, 2008, 13:11
Posts: 3235
Location: USA
BlackST wrote:
In your case the Ide adapter section is the sole responsible, not the CF. If you can program it, it's ok. Otherwise you have to work at bios level or driver level. It's simple!


The adapter is a straight passthrough, it doesnt have any logic on it at all.

_________________
You don't have to backup all of your files, just the ones you want to keep.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: force PIO at drive level?
PostPosted: October 28th, 2008, 11:50 
Offline

Joined: August 12th, 2008, 13:11
Posts: 3235
Location: USA
Daisy Woo wrote:
You need to check the ATA/ATAPI spec for ECh (Identify device). The values you need are returned here, but you need to look at the spec to work out which bytes you need to look at to determine PIO modes accepted by the device.


Right... Ultimately I would like to modify the values that are returned by ECh such that it does not include any DMA modes.

_________________
You don't have to backup all of your files, just the ones you want to keep.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group